Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Prematurity

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 46 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published primarily in the last ten years.   Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 46 records.

American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Ophthalmology, American Academy of Ophthalmology, and American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus. 2006. Screening examination of premature infants for retinopathy of prematurity. [Rev. ed.]. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: American Academy of Pediatrics, 5 pp.

Annotation: This revised practice guideline outlines principles on which an effective screening program to detect retinopathy of prematurity might be based, including the timing of initial examination and subsequent reexamination intervals. It identifies the target population, interventions and practices considered, and recommendations. References are provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Eye diseases, Guidelines, Neonatal screening, Premature infant diseases, Preterm birth, Resources for professionals, Retinopathy of prematurity

more information

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 2009. Early preterm birth. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 2 pp. (ACOG patient education: Pregnancy)

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward pregnant women who are at risk for preterm delivery, provides information about preterm delivery and preterm infants. Topics include what women can expect, health problems in preterm infants, treatment during pregnancy, making decisions, and caring for a preterm infant. A glossary is included, as well as information on what to do if an infant does not survive. Also included is information on how birthweight and sex affect an infant's survival chances and risk for health problems, and when preterm birth is the best choice.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available in packets of 50; $20.79 for members, $23.10 for non-members, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISSN 1074-8601.

Keywords: Childbirth, High risk infants, High risk pregnancy, Infant death, Infant health, Low birthweight infants, Pregnant women, Premature infant diseases, Premature infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth

more information

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 2002. Preterm labor. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women describes the warning signs of preterm labor, how to detect it at an early stage, and methods used to help prevent it. Additional information is provided for women at risk, how to monitor for contractions, treatments available if preterm labor is detected early enough, and factors in deciding to deliver the baby early. A brief glossary is provided.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Single copies available at no charge. Document Number: ISSN 1074-8601.

Keywords: Brochures, High risk pregnancy, Patient education materials, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature labor, Preterm birth

more information

Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count. 2007. Too many babies born before their time: The growing problem of preterm births. [Baltimore, MD]: Kids Count, Annie E. Casey Foundation, 4 pp. (Data snapshot, number 5)

Annotation: This report focuses on infants born preterm and the problems associated with preterm births. the report presents data highllights on preterm births by city and state, background on preterm births, state rankings by percentages of infants born preterm in 2004, and policies and programs that counter the growing number of infants who are born prematurely. A list of sources is included.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/kidscount/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Infant health, Premature infants, Programs, Public policy

more information

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. [2004]. PREEMIE Act will save lives: AMCHP calls on Congress to pass this important legislation. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the association's position on the PREEMIE (Prematurity Research Expansion and Education for Mothers who deliver Infants Early) Act legislation, proposed to reduce the prematurity rate in the nation. Topics include an outline of the health consequences for the baby and family, how Title V programs can aid in research, and the benefits of lowering the rate of premature, low birthweight babies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Premature infants, Advocacy, Legislation, Low birthweight infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth

more information

AWHONN Later Preterm Infant Initiative. 2007. What parents of late preterm (near-term) infants need to know. Johnstown, PA: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward parents of infants born 3 to 6 weeks early, provides information about what parents need to know to keep their infant healthy. Topics covered include feeding, sleeping, breathing, temperature, and jaundice and infections. The back side of the fact sheet is a form listing questions that parents should ask before leaving the hospital, with spaces to write down the answers. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 E-mail: customerservice@awhonn.org Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Feeding, Infant health, Infections, Jaundice, Premature infants, Sleep, Sleep positions, Spanish language materials

more information

Behrman RE, Butler AS (Eds.) and Board on Health Sciences Policy, Committee on Understanding Premature Birth and Assuring Healthy Outcomes. 2007. Preterm birth: Causes, consequences, and prevention. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 772 pp.

Annotation: This books assesses the problem of preterm birth in the United States with respect to both its causes and outcomes. It addresses the need for research involving clinical, basic, behavioral, and social science disciplines. It is organized into sections including a summary of preterm birth in America, measurement of fetal and infant maturity, causes of preterm birth, diagnosis and treatment of preterm labor, consequences of preterm birth, and research and policy. Each section contains recommendations. References are provided and appendices include data sources and methods, several essays on prematurity and geographic variation, ethical issues, costs associated with preterm birth, and slected programs funding research. Biographies for the authoring committee and staff are provided along with an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Lockbox 285, Washington, DC 20055, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: bkline@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $69.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-10159-X; ISBN 13: 978-0-309-10159-2.

Keywords: Infant health, MCH research, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Premature infants, Premature labor, Prematurity, Prenatal diagnosis, Prenatal health, Preterm birth

more information

CityMatCH. 2008. The March of Dimes Prematurity Campaign & New Approaches to the Prevention of Preterm Birth. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: The goal of this webcast is to provide MCH leaders and practitioners with intervention strategies and resources for tackling the prevention of preterm birth in their communities and learning about the successes and challenges from three best practice examples. Learning Objectives: * Participants will learn about the medical perspectives of preterm birth, the complexity of the problem and a summary of Prematurity Awareness Activities. * Participants will come away knowing what the March of Dimes is continuing to do to address the growing crisis of preterm birth. * Participants will learn about new approaches to the prevention of preterm birth; as well as how March of Dimes chapters and these MCH experts are addressing the growing crisis in their states in and with "real" communities. * Participants will learn about new educational tools and resources for addressing preterm birth interventions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 561-7500 Fax: (402) 561-7525 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available at no charge from the Web site after registration.

more information

Croan T, Hatcher J, Jager J, Long M, O'Hare W, Wertheimer R. [2001]. The Right Start state trends: Conditions of babies and their families in America's largest cities (1990-1998). Baltimore, MD: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 136 pp.

Annotation: This report constitutes an expansion on The Right Start: Conditions of Babies and Their Families in America's Largest Cities, last published in 1999. This report includes updated data, annual data for each year back to 1990, and a one-page narrative description of how each state fared during the 1990-1998 period, and how it compared with national averages. Each state profile contains information on the following items: (1) adolescent births; (2) repeat adolescent births; (3) births to unmarried women; (4) low maternal education; (5) late or no prenatal care; (6) smoking during pregnancy; (7) low-birthweight births; and (8) preterm births. Numerous charts and tables present statistical information. References are provided. The appendices include state rankings on the narrative items; definitions, data sources, and reporting issues; and primary contacts for state Kids Count projects.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/kidscount/ Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Child advocacy, Low birthweight, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Single mothers, Smoking during pregnancy, State surveys, Statistical data

more information

Gross, R. T., Spiker, D., and Haynes C. W. (Eds.). 1997. Helping low birth weight, premature babies: The Infant Health and Development Program. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 635 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Infant Health and Development Program, a multi site, randomized controlled trial involving almost 1,000 low birthweight infants from eight cities in the US. It tested an interdisciplinary, comprehensive early intervention model, including home visiting and center-based child care through 36 months of age, conducted by eight universities and funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Pew Charitable Trusts, the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The book describes in detail the program, its research methodology (one of the first to use the multi center design of biomedical clinical trials in human development research), the progress of the program, and the results of the clinical trial at age 3. The cohort, 12 years of age in 1997, continues to be followed and studied through an MCHB research grant.

Contact: Cambridge University Press, 32 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10013-2473, Telephone: 212-924-3900 Secondary Telephone: (914) 937-9600 Fax: 212-691-3239 E-mail: information@cup.org Web Site: http://www.cambridge.org/us/ $75.00 plus $3.50 shipping and handling; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-8047-2612-4.

Keywords: Early intervention programs, High risk infants, Infant health, Low birthweight infants, Premature infants, Research methodology

more information

Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement. 2003. Preterm birth prevention. (Rev. ed.). Bloomington, IN: Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement, 28 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines for medical service providers discuss the identification, intervention, and education of patients at risk for premature labor or preterm birth. Sections include guideline objectives; interventions and practices considered; major outcomes considered; the methodology for guideline development; recommendations for screening, prevention, and management of risk factors for premature labor and preterm birth; an outline of patient education steps; and medical management of premature labor and delivery. Additional sections provide information on the type of evidence supporting the recommendations, benefits or harms of implementing the guideline recommendations, qualifying statement, implementation strategies, report category, and identifying information and availability.

Contact: National Guideline Clearinghouse, c/o Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 E-mail: info@guideline.gov Web Site: http://www.guideline.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Guidelines, Health care delivery, Medical education, Pregnancy outcome, Premature labor, Preterm birth, Prevention, Resources for professionals

more information

Jarrett, M. H., Blinkoff, R. I., Dokken, D. L., and Freund, M. B. 1994. Parent partners listener training, a parent-to-parent support program: Meeting the needs of families in the intensive care nursery. Washington, DC: Early Intervention Programs, George Washington University, 2 v.

Annotation: This set of training materials can be used to train volunteer parents to provide support to families experiencing premature births, critically ill newborns, or the loss of a newborn. The Parent Training Manual contains materials that help participants learn to listen, and reviews steps that will help them support parents. It reviews the role of the listener in support groups, considers the impact of premature or sick infants upon the parents and family, considers complex family relations, and reviews discharge and program procedures. The Trainers Manual covers these subjects with additional emphasis on the training procedure. It includes information on training activities, listening exercises, handouts, resource lists, and samples of letters and forms necessary for the training program.

Contact: George Washington University, Department of Teacher Preparation and Special Education, 2134 G Street, N.W., Suite 524, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: 202.994.6160; Fax: 202.994.7207 E-mail: gsehdcom@gwu.edu Web Site: http://gsehd.gwu.edu/index.php?c=19&kat=Teacher+Prep+%26+Special+Ed $10.00 parent training manual; $25.00 trainers manual; prepayment required; make check payable to GWU DTPSE.

Keywords: Coping, Developmental disabilities, Infant mortality, Neonatal intensive care, Newborn infants, Parents, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Premature infants, Support groups, Training materials

more information

Linden DW, Paroli ET, Doron MW. 2000. Preemies: The essential guide for parents of premature babies. New York, NY: Pocket Books, 578 pp.

Annotation: This book is written for expecting or new parents of premature babies. It is divided into the following sections: before birth, in the hospital, a life together, and other considerations. Before birth outlines some known causes of premature labor and birth and how to prevent them. Topics discussed in the second part include the premature delivery, the neonatal intensive care unit at the hospital, testing and possible complications that occur in the first week, settling down in the hospital, and if baby needs surgery. Part three covers decisions and preparations for taking baby home, what to expect and watch for during early development and possible consequences of prematurity. Part four talks about losing a premature baby and ways of coping with grief and what special arrangements should be expected. Also discussed are examples of famous premature babies that thrived. The appendices include conversion charts, growth charts, a schedule for multiples, cardiopulmonary resuscitation - birth to one year, and resources. A glossary and an index conclude the text.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $16.95, plus $5.95 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-671-03491-X.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Low birthweight, Neonatal intensive care units, Neonatal screening, Parent education, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Premature infant diseases, Premature infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth

more information

Maloni JA. 2000. The prevention of preterm birth: Research based practice, nursing interventions, and practice scenarios. Washington, DC: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 61 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the current knowledge about prevention of preterm birth and factors associated with it so that nurses can provide evidence based, state-of-the-science, nursing care to childbearing women. It provides an overview of the incidence of preterm birth, what is known about its causes, and currently used interventions, and then describes the potential impact of evidence based practice in preventing preterm birth. Section topics include medical interventions to prevent preterm birth; models of prenatal care; and recommended components of prenatal care to prevent preterm birth, including risk assessment, health promotion, psychosocial interventions, stress and social support, and patient education. A summary and references are provided. The appendices include a sample pregnancy questionnaire from Michigan and the Hobel risk assessment tool. A continuing education posttest question set, a participant evaluation form, and a patient handout are provided at the end of the publication.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 E-mail: customerservice@awhonn.org Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org $30.00 to nonmembers, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Intervention, Patient education, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention, Questionnaires, Risk assessment

more information

March of Dimes. 2004. Are you at risk?. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the preterm labor and delivery risk factors such as age or racial background and how these factors are not fully understood. It also discusses other risk factors such as later or no prenatal care, smoking, the use of drugs or alcohol, high stress, long periods of standing, or low income. Additional medical factors are discussed as well as what pregnant women can do.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Age factors, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Patient education materials, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature labor, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Risk factors, Smoking during pregnancy

more information

March of Dimes. 2005. Born too soon: Prematurity in the U.S. Hispanic population. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 7 pp. (March of Dimes special report)

Annotation: This report focuses on the problem of prematurity in the growing U.S. Hispanic population. It provides baseline data to inform outreach efforts and educational programs to the Hispanic community, identified as Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Central and South American. Topics include the problem of preterm birth, population growth and births among Hispanics, disparities in preterm birth, and a future profile of preterm birth among Hispanics. Statistical data are available in graphs, tables, and charts throughout the report. References are provided

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Pregnant women, Premature infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Research, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

more information

March of Dimes. 2000. Prematurity: Born too soon, too small—Perinatal Epidemiology Research Initiative. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes the Perinatal Epidemiological Research Initiative, an effort to study the biology of labor and delivery, especially preterm labor. The initiative involves the collection and analysis of data on medical, psychological and social factors, in combination with data on maternal and fetal biochemical variables, in order to look for clues to the causes of preterm birth. Topics of the brief include the role of stress, low socioeconomic status, racism and violence, infection, and genetic predisposition as contributing factors in preterm labor or delivery.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Infections, Pregnant women, Premature infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth, Psychological factors, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Research, Socioeconomic factors, Stress, Violence

more information

March of Dimes. 2004. Preterm birth. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes preterm birth (delivery earlier than 37 completed weeks of pregnancy) and what health consequences are common for babies born too soon. Topics include possible causes of preterm birth, which women are at increased risk of preterm delivery, medical complications that are common in premature babies, the outlook for those born at less than 28 weeks, and a brief look at research. References are provided along with a resource list of additional materials. The fact sheet is also available in Spanish.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Patient education materials, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature labor, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

more information

March of Dimes. 2004. Signs and symptoms of preterm labor and what to do. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for pregnant women describes preterm or premature labor as labor beginning before 37 completed weeks of pregnancy. It discusses how preterm labor can be stopped, describes the warning signs, and offers advice on what to do.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Patient education materials, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature labor, Prematurity, Preterm birth

more information

March of Dimes. 2002. When baby comes early: A parent's guide to prematurity. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, DVD/VHS (31 min.).

Annotation: This video/DVD guides parents through the premature infant's hospitalization, including common procedures, tests, and medical concerns. It also discusses what to expect in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU), how parents can understand their feelings, coping with uncertainty, infant feeding, and helping the infant thrive.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $35.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, DVDs, Infant health, Neonatal health, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Parent support services, Premature infants, Prematurity, Spanish language materials, Videotapes

more information

March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center. 2009. March of Dimes 2009 premature birth report card. [White Plains, NY]: March of Dimes, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet compares state-by-state prematurity rates between 2008 and 2009 and assigns a grade (A-F) to each state. Information is provided on data sources with notes for further clarification along with grading methodology, selected contributing factors, and a status of contributing factors. The Web site provides a map showing the grade for each state, with individual reports for each state that show how the state is performing on three factors that influence prematurity rates (uninsured women, women smoking, and late preterm birth).

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Premature infants, Prematurity, Preterm birth, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

more information

March of Dimes, Office of the Medical Director. 2005. Maternal obesity and pregnancy: Weight matters—Medical perspectives on prematurity. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief outlines issues in adverse outcomes associated with overweight or obese pregnant women. Contents include a definition of obesity and its prevalence among women of childbearing age in the United States, recommendations for weight gain during pregnancy, a brief review of studies linking obesity to pregnancy-related complications, and weight issues for the health of mother and baby. References conclude the brief.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: High risk pregnancy, Maternal health, Obesity, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Prematurity

more information

March of Dimes, Office of the Medical Director. 2004. Periodontal disease and preterm birth. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 2 pp. (Medical perspectives on prematurity)

Annotation: This document describes research into the association between periodontal disease and preterm birth. Sections include a summary of the evidence and issues; brief descriptions of research studying the links between periodontal disease, preterm birth, and low birthweight; suggested potential mechanisms and pathways; and suggested preventive factors in treating periodontal disease to reduce the risk of preterm birth.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: MCH research, Medical research, Oral health, Periodontal disease, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature labor, Prematurity, Preterm birth

more information

March of Dimes, Office of the Medical Director. 2004. Risk factors for preterm labor and birth. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 2 pp. (Medical perspectives on prematurity)

Annotation: This brief gives an overview into the causes of or risk factors for preterm labor and delivery. These include a history of preterm birth, current multifetal pregnancy, and uterine and/or cervical abnormalities. Additional risk factors explored include medical risks, behavioral and environmental risks, and demographic risks. References conclude the brief.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: High risk pregnancy, MCH research, Medical research, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature labor, Prematurity, Preterm birth

more information

March of Dimes, Office of the Medical Director. 2003. Snapshots of prematurity research. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 6 pp. (Medical perspectives on prematurity)

Annotation: This document provides information on research funded by the March of Dimes on prematurity, causes of preterm birth, and effective interventions for prevention and treatment. Projects identified are domestic and international and include six Perinatal Epidemiological Research Initiative (PERI) and 33 other projects. Each snapshot lists the institution performing the research, the purpose, and the goal. Topics of research include chemical and biological triggers of preterm labor; societal factors including disparities; psychological factors; alternative therapies to reducing stress and depression in pregnant women at risk for preterm labor; and the life-threatening complications for babies born too soon.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: High risk pregnancy, MCH research, Medical research, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Premature infants, Premature labor, Prematurity, Preterm birth

more information

March of Dimes, Office of the Medical Director. 2004. Supplemental progesterone to prevent preterm birth. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 2 pp. (Medical perspectives on prematurity)

Annotation: This brief gives an overview of the research into the effectiveness of the use of progesterone to decrease preterm birth. Two randomized, placebo-controlled studies are summarized to highlight the similarities and differences and to provide an understanding of their implications. The summary discusses results, study limitations, and editorials. References conclude the brief.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: High risk pregnancy, MCH research, Medical research, Pharmaceuticals, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature labor, Prematurity, Preterm birth

more information

Martin JA, Kirmeyer S, Osterman M, Shepard RA. 2009. Born a bit too early: Recent trends in late preterm births. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 7 pp. (NCHS data brief, no. 24)

Annotation: This report compares the number of late preterm births (defined as births between 34-36 weeks of gestation) in the United States between 1990 and 2006. It discusses recent trends along with factors that may have contributed to the increases. Included are comparisons of early preterm births among age groups, race and Hispanic origin, and geographical location. A table provides late preterm singleton births rates for all 50 states plus the District of Columbia, comparing data from 1990-1991 and 2005-2006, including percent changes. Data sources and methods are provided.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, 3311 Toledo Road, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (301) 458-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Birth rates, Data, Preterm birth, Statistics, Trends, United States

more information

Mattison DR, Wilson S, Coussens C, Gilbert D (Eds.) and Board on Health Sciences Policy, Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine. 2003. The role of environmental hazards in premature birth: Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 127 pp.

Annotation: This book summarizes a workshop convened on October 2-3, 2001, to look at issues surrounding the impact of environmental exposure on the fetus in the uterus, risks of premature birth, as well as child health and well-being throughout life. In addition the role of social and behavioral factors such as stress, anxiety, depression, drug use, alcohol use, and tobacco smoking is discussed. Chapters include: (1) preterm birth and its consequences, (2) labor and delivery, (3) preterm birth and a brief summary of biological pathways, (4) preterm birth and gene-environment interactions, (5) the social implications of preterm birth, and (6) future directions for research. The book also contains abstracts of 18 relevant articles and references. Three appendices contain the workshop agenda, a list of speakers and panelists, and a list of workshop participants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Lockbox 285, Washington, DC 20055, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: bkline@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $35.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09065-2.

Keywords: Childbirth, Conferences, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Genes, Labor, Maternal fetal exchange, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Research, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

McCarton, C. 1996. Effects at age 5 of an intervention program for low birthweight premature infants. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 9 pp. (Research roundtable summary; no. 11)

Annotation: This report summarizes a Maternal and Child Health Bureau funded project presented at a seminar July 16, 1996. This project focuses on followup intervention programs with low birthweight premature infants, concentrating on early child development programs. The study is ongoing; findings at ages three and five were reported. The report ends with reaction to the project and a list of publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Child development, Evaluation methods, Followup studies, Intervention, Low birthweight infants, MCH research, Premature infants

more information

McCormick MC, Siegel JE. 1999. Prenatal care: Effectiveness and implementation. Port Chester, NY: Cambridge University Press, 363 pp.

Annotation: This book, written for maternal and child health professionals, policymakers, and health care managers, evaluates the effectiveness of prenatal care interventions and provides a framework for prenatal care that looks beyond the perspective of immediate neonatal outcomes to the broader public health issues. Topics covered in this book include prenatal care and complications of pregnancy, preventing prematurity, new findings and long-term evidence on intrauterine growth restriction, preventing and treating birth defects, and prenatal care as an integral component of women's health care. Also included is a summary of effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of prenatal care.

Contact: Cambridge University Press, 32 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10013-2473, Telephone: 212-924-3900 Secondary Telephone: (914) 937-9600 Fax: 212-691-3239 E-mail: information@cup.org Web Site: http://www.cambridge.org/us/ $67.95 plus $5.00 shipping. Document Number: ISBN 0-521-66196-X.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Cost effectiveness, Outcome evaluation, Pregnancy complications, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Treatment outcome

more information

McGuire B. [2004]. Pregnancy and periodontal disease. [Carson City, NV: Nevada State Health Division],

Annotation: This resource contains a series of fact sheets on periodontal disease, including information on research on oral infections and health. Facts and information on periodontal disease, in general, along with information on women and periodontal disease, oral infections and pregnancy, and prematurity and low birth-weight are included.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental education, Low birthweight infants, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Preterm birth

more information

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 2005. Baby your oral health: What you need to know about oral health and pregnancy. [Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition], 6 pp. (Fast facts for families)

Annotation: This brochure discusses the importance of good oral health during pregnancy. Topics include the effects of poor oral health and periodontal disease on the risk for premature birth or low birthweight infants, visiting the dentist while pregnant, risks associated with having dental work performed during pregnancy, and oral health tips. Internet resources are provided along with brief facts about periodontal disease during pregnancy and risks to the fetus.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor, Alexandria, VA 22311-1748, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 684-5968 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, Low birthweight, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature infants, Risk factors

more information

National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality. (2007). Summary of key change concepts for NICHQ Neonatal Improvement Project. [Cambridge, MA]: National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report proposes changes in interventions designed to improve pregnancy outcome, focusing on pregnant women and on premature and low birthweight infants. Topics include maternal risk reduction, antenatal practices, immediate postnatal practices, and neonatal intensive care unite practices.

Contact: National Initiative for Children's Health Care Quality, 20 University Road, Seventh Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 301-4900 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 301-4899 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Perinatal care, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Premature infants

more information

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. [2004]. Research on preterm labor and premature birth. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes research on premature labor and preterm birth that is being supported by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) and clinical trials being conducted by NICHD and other institutes of the National Institutes of Health. Topics of trials include low birth weight and very low birth weight and respiratory distress syndrome.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Building 31, 2A32, MSC 2425, 31 Center Drive, Bethesda, MD 20892-2425, Telephone: (301) 496-5133 Fax: (301) 402-1104 E-mail: NICHDInformationResourceCenter@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Premature labor, Preterm birth, Research

more information

Printz, T. J. 1996. The effects of alternate health service delivery systems' prenatal care provision on birth outcomes to African American Medicaid recipients in the District of Columbia. Washington, DC: Graduate Public Policy Program, Georgetown University, 77 pp.

Annotation: This study evaluates whether the likelihood of low birthweight and preterm birth varies by the type of prenatal care service delivery model (Medicaid health maintenance organizations versus Medicaid fee for service plans) among low-income mothers in the District of Columbia, without finding any significant differences. The report describes the research, approaches to minimizing low birthweight, and characteristics of Washington, D.C., and presents statistical analyses of the data studied.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Blacks, District of Columbia, Low birthweight infants, Medicaid, Prenatal care, Preterm birth

more information

Sanders MR, Lee MA. 2003. Promoting healthy children and families in Connecticut: Part 1—Health problems of infancy and early childhood. Farmington, CT: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 12 pp. (IMPACT: Ideas and information to promote the health of Connecticut's children; issue no. 3)

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of relatively common significant health problems in infancy and early childhood, including preterm birth and low birthweight, death, poor nutrition, social and emotional health problems, injuries, and hazards in the environment. Topics also include ensuring good health in pregnancy, a nutritious diet in infancy and early childhood, and access to comprehensive primary and preventive health care. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: info@chdi.org Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Child mortality, Child nutrition, Connecticut, Early childhood development, Emotional instability, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Infant mortality, Infant nutrition, Injuries, Low birthweight, Preterm birth, Social problems, State initiatives

more information

Singer L. 1998. Psychological Sequelae of Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia and Very Low Birthweight: [Final report]. Cleveland, OH: Case Western Reserve University, 32 pp.

Annotation: This study was a longitudinal, prospective investigation of the medical, social, and developmental correlates of chronic lung disease during the first 2 years of life. Data was evaluated descriptively as well as through a series of multivariate analyses of variance with repeated measures to describe the functioning of infants with bronchopulmonary dysplasia (BPD) and to understand the developmental interferences imposed by BPD early in life. The research provided practical information about family and developmental stresses related to lung disease that might be amenable to intervention early in life and also contribute to our theoretical understanding of the role of chronic illness in child development. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, VA 22161, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB99-109373.

Keywords: Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Early Childhood Development, Infant Morbidity, Low Birthweight, MCH Research, Pulmonary Disease, Research

more information

Singer L. 2003. Psychosocial sequelae of bronchopulmonary dysplasia and very low birthweight: Phase 2—Final report. Cleveland, OH: Case Western Reserve University, Department of Pediatrics and Psychiatry, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes a study focusing on the long-term developmental and family sequelae outcomes of very low birth weight children with bronchopulmonary dysplasia (BPD). It addresses whether infants with BPD would exhibit more developmental problems, using standard measures of growth, intellect, motor, and language development; whether parents would show higher degrees of depressive symptoms and stress; and whether infants would show more deviant and maladaptive feeding behavior. Report sections include the nature, purpose, scope, and methods of the research problem; a review of the literature; an outline of the study design and methods; a presentation of findings; and a discussion of findings and recommendations for policy implications and further research. Also provided are a list of products developed and references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.info Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Bronchopulmonary dysplasia, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Family relations, Feeding disorders, Final reports, Low birthweight infants, MCH research, Prematurity

more information

Singer, L. 1995. Psychosocial sequelae of bronchopulmonary dysplasia and very low birthweight. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 6 pp. (Research roundtable summary; no. 9)

Annotation: This report summarizes a Maternal and Child Health Bureau funded project presented at a seminar June 27, 1995. The study focuses on the developmental and family sequelae of bronchopulmonary dysplasia (BPD) and the medical and social complications of prematurity and very low birthweight. It addresses whether infants with BPD would exhibit more developmental problems, using standard measures of growth, intellect, motor, and language development; whether parents would show higher degrees of depressive symptoms and stress; and whether infants would show more deviant and maladaptive feeding behavior. The report ends with reaction to the project and a list of publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Bronchopulmonary dysplasia, Developmental disabilities, Families, Feeding disorders, Low birthweight infants, MCH research, Prematurity

more information

Tennessee Early Intervention System. 2001. Premature infants: Guidelines for early intervention services. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Early Intervention System, Division of Special Education, Tennessee Department of Education, 52 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines discuss early intervention services for infants in Tennessee's early intervention system (TEIS). Topics covered include the referral process, eligibility, prematurity, premature infant criteria, assessment, re-evaluations, collaboration, and family-centered services.Seven appendices include Tennessee's definition of developmental delay, documentation of eligibility, description of assessment tools, neonatal intensive care units (NICUs), report on responses to NICE parent questionnaire, IDEA, and TEIS organizational flowchart. Definitions and a bibliography are also included.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Education, Division of Special Education, Andrew Johnson Tower, Seventh Floor, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243-0380, Telephone: (615) 741-2851 Secondary Telephone: (888) 212-3162 Fax: (615) 532-9412 Web Site: http://www.state.tn.us/education/speced/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention, Early intervention, Eligibility, Family centered care, Guidelines, Neontal intensive care units, Prematurity, Referral, State programs, Tennessee

more information

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2002. Criteria for determining disability in infants and children: Low birth weight. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2 v.; summ. (7 pp.). (Evidence report/technology assessment; no. 70)

Annotation: This two-volume set examines evidence to determine if very-low-birthweight in infants, with or without other conditions, is associated with long-term disabling outcomes. Volume one reviews six primary outcomes of interest included in this report: (1) cerebral palsy and neurologic disability, (2) abnormal cognitive development and mental retardation, (3) hearing/speech/language impairments, (4) visual disability, (5) adverse pulmonary function, and (6) impaired growth. Report sections include a topic overview, reporting the evidence, study methods, an outline of the findings, and future research. Two additional sections review conclusions and future research. References and a bibliography are provided along with appendices including search strategies, a data abstraction form, acronyms and abbreviations, and acknowledgments. Statistics are included throughout the report. Volume two contains the evidence tables evaluating associations between low-birth-weight and 13 outcomes or disorders.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Office of Communications and Knowledge Transfer, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Secondary Telephone: (800) 358-9295 E-mail: http://info.ahrq.gov Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: Cerebral palsy, Congenital abnormalities, Growth disorders, Infants with developmental disabilities, Low birthweight infants, Physical disabilities, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Premature infants, Preterm birth, Research, Sensory impairments, Statistical data

more information

U.S. Congress, Senate. 2003. S.1726: Prematurity Research Expansion and Education for Mothers who deliver Infants Early (PREEMIE) Act:—A bill. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 13 pp.

Annotation: This document is the original language of S.1726, as introduced by Senator L. Alexander on October 14, 2003, to reduce preterm labor and delivery and the risk of pregnancy-related deaths and complications due to pregnancy, and to reduce infant mortality caused by prematurity. Topics in the findings and purpose section include statistics on the prevalence, cost, ethnic disparities in premature birth, suggested expansions in research, perform a review of the pregnancy risk assessment monitoring survey, increase public and health care provider education and support services, and establish an Interagency Coordination Council on Prematurity and Low Birthweight.

Contact: U.S. Government Printing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Federal legislation, High risk pregnancy, Infant mortality, Low birth weight, MCH research, Premature birth, Premature infants

more information

University of Wisconsin Medical School, Department of Pediatrics. [ca. 2004]. For parents of preemies: Understanding and parenting your preemie. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Medical School, Department of Pediatrics, 9 pp.

Annotation: This document for parents of premature infants discusses the development of the premature baby, what the baby can do, how to help preemies develop well, giving developmental care, the physical environment (including sound, light, positioning, handling, and touch), and the social environment. For each topic it discusses concerns, what is important to know about the issue, and what can be done to help the infant deal with each issue.

Contact: University of Wisconsin Medical School, Department of Pediatrics, University of Washington Hospital, 600 Highland Avenue, Suite H4/455 CSC, Madison, WI 53792-4108, Telephone: (608) 263-8558 Fax: (608) 263-0722 E-mail: ssburke@wisc.edu Web Site: http://www.pediatrics.wisc.edu Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant development, Parenting, Premature infants, Preterm birth

more information

Watterberg K. 1995. Early Cortisol Deficiency and Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia [Final report]. Hershey, PA: Pennsylvania State University, 39 pp.

Annotation: The objectives of this project were to measure cortisol concentrations, both basal and stimulated, in very low birthweight infants in the first week of life, and to test the hypothesis that inappropriately low basal values and blunted responses to adrenocorticotropic hormone stimulation during that period are associated with increased lung inflammation and development of bronchopulmonary dysplasia. The study design addressed the question of whether a subgroup of very low birthweight babies had a stress nonresponsive period and therefore developed bronchopulmonary dysplasia, or whether all very low birthweight infants had a stress nonresponsive period, and bronchopulmonary dysplasia occurs in a subgroup of this population with a more intense inflammatory stimulus and/or response. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, VA 22161, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB96-187299.

Keywords: Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia, Low Birthweight, MCH Research, Neonates, Research

more information

Watterberg KL. 2000. Early cortisol replacement to prevent bronchopulmonary dysplasia: Pilot study. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 4 pp. (Research roundtable summary; no. 31)

Annotation: This document announces the Research Roundtable describing research in a pilot study on early cortisol replacement to prevent bronchopulmonary dysplasia in premature infants. The findings will be presented at a Research Roundtable sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Web site offers print materials including an overview of the study, presenter contact information, an HTML version of the Reactor's remarks and a list of resources and references. The audiovisual portion of the program includes slideshows, Powerpoint presentations, a quicktime version of the reactor's presentation, and an audio recording of the session. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN010.

Keywords: Bronchopulmonary dysplasia, Infants, Low birthweight infants, MCH research, Premature infant diseases, Premature infants

more information

Watterberg, K. L. 1995. Early cortisol deficiency and bronchopulmonary dysplasia. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 8 pp. (Research roundtable summary; no. 10)

Annotation: This report summarizes a Maternal and Child Health Bureau funded project presented at a seminar October 18, 1995. This project focuses on cortisol production in low birthweight premature infants and the relationship of cortisol concentrations and bronchopulmonary dysplasia. The report ends with reaction to the project and a list of publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge: also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Bronchopulmonary dysplasia, Evaluation methods, Low birthweight infants, MCH research, Premature infants

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |