Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Substance Use During Pregnancy

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 32 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years, including national and state surveys and reports which discuss the problem and make recommendations for prevention and treatment. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 32 records.

Aunt Martha's Youth Service Center. 2005. Aunt Martha's Healthy Start impact report. Chicago Heights, IL: Aunt Martha's Youth Service Center, 81 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Ford Heights and Chicago Heights, Illinois, from 2001-2004 to improve access to quality maternal and child health services in order to reduce the high rate of infant mortality and reduce health disparities in this medically underserved area. It discusses isk factors for poor perinatal outcomes including mothers who smoke, drank, or used street drugs during their pregnancy, as well as other behavioral risk factors and pregnancy during adolescence. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project; descriptions of project implementation, management and governance, and accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the community and the state, and the role of local government. A local evaluation report addressing issues of infant mortality, first trimester prenatal care, adequacy of prenatal care, well-child exams, and initial postpartum exams is included. Appendices include service tables and project data as well as samples of products produced during the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.info Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Barriers, Drug use during pregnancy, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, MCH services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Racial factors, Substance abuse

more information

Barbara Aved Associates. 2002. Working in partnership: Needs and opportunities for improving perinatal substance abuse services in California. [Fresno, CA]: Fresno Healthy Start, ca. 100 pp., exec. summ. (8 pp.).

Annotation: This report was prepared for the California Conference of Local Directors of Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health and summarizes findings from an effort by California programs in Fresno, San Bernardino and Alameda Counties, Los Angeles Shields for Families, and San Diego County. Topics include issues related to perinatal substance abuse and how it is being addressed in California by maternal, child, and adolescent programs; mental health and alcohol and drug jurisdictions; and child welfare, detention, court systems, and health care providers. Part one summarizes the needs assessment, findings from research, and experts' opinions. A separate executive summary is also available. References are provided as well as appendices including advisory committee members, a summary of the literature search, a county survey, a list of key informants interviewed, county groups by size of population, and participating county health departments and selected county characteristics. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Fresno County Department of Community Health, Maternal, Child & Adolescent Health, Fresno County's Babies First, 1221 Fulton Mall, PO Bo 11867, Fresno, CA 93775, Telephone: (559) 445-3307 Fax: (559) 445-3596 E-mail: sarakelian@co.fresno.ca.us Web Site: http://www.babiesfirstfresno.com/

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol use during pregnancy, California, Local initiatives, MCH research, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance abuse

more information

Barry KL, Caetano R, Chang G, DeJoseph MC, Miller LA, O'Connor MJ, Olson, HC, Floyd RL, Weber MK, DeStefano F, Dolina S, Leeks K. 2009. Reducing alcohol-exposed pregnancies: A Report of the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and Fetal Alcohol Effect. Atlanta, GA: National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and Fetal Alcohol Effect, 26 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies community-level fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) interventions and policies that can prevent fetal alcohol-exposed pregnancies (AEDs) and reduce the prevalence of physical, mental, behavioral, and learning disabilities due to prenatal alcohol exposure. Topics also include an epidemiological overview, screening for women at risk, current evidence, prevention interventions, and recommendations and future research directions.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-1515 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol, Early intervention, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Screening, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Burd L. (between 1997 and 2002?). Maternal risk assessment for fetal alcohol syndrome and alcohol related birth defects and neurodevelopmental disorders. Grand Forks, ND: North Dakota Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Center, 29 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a method for assessing pregnant women at increased risk of having a baby with fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS). Topics include risk and exposure assessments; risk stratification; clinical implications and services; and prevention strategies. The report also contains score sheets and questionnaires for the clinician to use in assessing risk before and during pregnancy. Charts and graphs illustrate the model and other statistical data relating to FAS. Also provided are pocket guides to aid in screening for alcohol abuse and potential fetal exposure.

Contact: North Dakota Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Center, 501 North Columbia Road, Grand Forks, ND 58203, Telephone: (701) 777-3683 E-mail: LaBurd@medicine.nodak.edu Web Site: http://www.online-clinic.com Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Guidelines, Health screening, Maternal health, Questionnaires, Risk assessment

more information

Cawthon L. 2004. First Steps database: Safe babies, safe moms. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, Research and Data Analysis, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brief summarizes the Washington state program Safe Babies, Safe Moms (formerly the Comprehensive Program Evaluation Project, or CPEP) implemented to improve the health and welfare of substance abusing mothers and their young children and provides an update to the October 2003 evaluation report with additional outcome measures and longer periods of follow-up. Measures tracked include demonstrated behavior change in the use of more effective family planning methods, reduced levels of parenting stress, decreased arrest rates, a reduction in low birth weight infants for those pregnant women enrolled in the program before delivery, decreased accepted referrals for child abuse or neglect for mothers enrolled before delivery, and higher employment rates for non-substance abusing Medicaid women than substance abusers.

Contact: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, Research and Data Analysis Division, Fourteenth and Jefferson, P.O. Box 45204, Olympia, WA 98504-5204, Telephone: (360) 902-0707 Fax: (360) 902-0705 Web Site: http://www.dshs.wa.gov/rda Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Case management, Drug affected infants, High risk mothers, Housing programs, Program evaluation, State programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Surveys, Washington, Young children

more information

Cawthon L, Westra K. 2003. Safe babies, safe moms: Program evaluation. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, Research and Data Analysis, 72 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the evaluation of the Washington state program Safe Babies, Safe Moms (formerly the Comprehensive Program Evaluation Project, or CPEP) to: (1) develop and implement comprehensive programs for alcohol- and drug-abusing women and their young children, (2) increase the availability of chemical dependency treatment, (3) implement new services called Targeted Intensive Case Management, and (4) enhance housing support services. Report contents include a summary and introduction to the need for the program and its services, client needs and services provided, a program description, methods used for the evaluation, and findings. Survey results and findings are summarized in charts and tables throughout the report and a bibliography is included.

Contact: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, Research and Data Analysis Division, Fourteenth and Jefferson, P.O. Box 45204, Olympia, WA 98504-5204, Telephone: (360) 902-0707 Fax: (360) 902-0705 Web Site: http://www.dshs.wa.gov/rda Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Case management, Drug affected infants, High risk mothers, Housing programs, Program evaluation, State programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Surveys, Washington, Young children

more information

Chez RA, Andres RL, Chazotte C, Ling FW. [2002]. Illicit drug abuse and dependence in women. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 64 pp., 1 CD-ROM.

Annotation: This guidebook and CD-ROM contain a slide presentation on issues pertaining to women’s dependence on illicit drugs. Topics include addiction and treatment; prevalence and incidence; physician barriers in identifying addiction; patient barriers to obtaining treatment; diagnostic criteria; the role of the obstetrician/gynecologist in screening, identifying, and counseling; treatment and prevention; an overview of common illicit drugs and their effect on prenatal care and fetal development; and an outline of ethical issues on pregnancy. The final section describes organizational and Internet resources, along with a bibliography.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Barriers, CD-ROMs, Drug use during pregnancy, Illicit drugs, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Women's health

more information

CityMatCH. 2006. Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders: Prevention, Education, Intervention, and Advocacy. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 561-7500 Fax: (402) 561-7525 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

more information

Evans L, Jewett T, Powell C, Thompson Smith B. 2004. Fetal alcohol syndrome: A parents guide to caring for a child diagnosed with FAS. Winston-Salem, NC: Wake Forest University Health Sciences, 37 pp.

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward parents who have a child with fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS) or with brain damage due to alcohol exposure, provides information about FAS. The book provides an overview of FAS; describes how FAS may affect infants, children, and adolescents during different developmental periods; discusses how to care for and advocate for a child with FAS; discusses issues associated with school for children with FAS; and provides resources.

Contact: Organization of Teratology Information Specialists, University of Arizona, Drachman Hall, P.O. Box 210202, 1295 N. Martin, Room B308, Tucson, AZ 85721-0202, Telephone: (866) 626-6847 Secondary Telephone: (520) 626-3547 E-mail: contactus@otispregnancy.org Web Site: http://otispregnancy.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Advocacy, Child development, Consumer education materials, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol sydrome, Infant development, School adjustment

more information

Farmer Y, Cawthon L, Lindsay J. 2001. Comprehensive program evaluation project: Program development and implementation. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, Research and Data Analysis Division, 73 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on process evaluation of a comprehensive program in Washington state that seeks to improve the health and welfare of substance-abusing mothers and their children by early identification of pregnant substance abusers, improved access to and coordination of health care services and chemical dependency treatment, and family-focused early intervention services for mothers and their children. The purpose of the report is to describe practices that are demonstrated to be effective and to identify challenges faced during program implementation. Client characteristics, service utilization, and outcome data are also included where available. The report, which includes an executive summary, is divided into the following sections: (1) methods, (2) pilot site descriptions, (3) findings, (4) discussion, (5) conclusion, (6) bibliography, and (7) appendices. Eleven appendices include pilot site description data sources, a pilot eligibility inquiry form, and other relevant information and forms.

Contact: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, Research and Data Analysis Division, Fourteenth and Jefferson, P.O. Box 45204, Olympia, WA 98504-5204, Telephone: (360) 902-0707 Fax: (360) 902-0705 Web Site: http://www.dshs.wa.gov/rda Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Early intervention, Families, Health care services, Maternal health, Pilot projects, Service coordination, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Treatment, Washington

more information

FASD Regional Training Centers, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. [2008]. Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders: Competency-based curriculum development guide for medical and allied health education and practice. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, ca. 280 pp., 1 CD-ROM.

Annotation: This purpose of this curriculum development guide is to enhance the knowledge and skills of health care providers to recognize and prevent fetal alcohol spectrum (FAS) disorders by aiding in the development of educational programs and materials. The guide is organized by three types of learning outcomes: competencies, learning goals, and learning objectives, allowing educators or trainers to select goals and objectives appropriate for participants' learning needs and skill levels, along with university or organization criteria. Chapter contents include seven competency topics: foundation; screening and brief interventions; models of addiction; biological effects of alcohol on the fetus; screening, diagnosis, and assessment of FAS; treatment across the lifespan for persons with FASDs; and ethical, legal, and policy issues.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, CD-ROMs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Prenatal addiction, Prenatal care, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Screening, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Fogerty S, Finkelstein N. 2006. Alcohol Screening Assessment in Pregnancy (ASAP2) Project: Final report. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 334 pp, plus appendices.

Annotation: This report focuses on the Alcohol Screening Assessment in Pregnancy (ASAP2) project during the period October 1,2002, through September 30, 2005.The purpose of this project was to build on the success of the original Massachusetts ASAP Project (ASAP1) by addressing lessons learned and expanding the project to include two additional screening times during pregnancy, futher development of brief intervention protocols and tools, and patient follow-up procedures. The report , which includes an abstract, is divided into the following sections: (1) purpose of the project, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate. References are included. The report includes seven appendices, which encompass a pregnancy questionnaire written in several languages, screening questions, flow charts, a screening tool, marketing materials, a list of ASAP2 providers, and evaluation materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.info

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Assessment, Final reports, Intervention, Massachusetts, Pregnant women, Screening, Substance abuse

more information

Forsyth-Stokes Mental Health Center. n.d.. Substance abuse screening tool. [No place]: Forsyth-Stokes Mental Health Center, 1 p.

Annotation: This screening tool lists questions for a pregnant woman about use of alcohol and drugs.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Guttmacher Institute. 2010. Substance abuse during pregnancy. New York, NY: Guttmacher Institute, 2 pp. (State policies in brief)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on substance abuse during pregnancy The fact sheet offers background on the topic and also includes highlights of how state policies related to substance abuse during pregnancy differ.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: guttmacher@guttmacher.org Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Financing, Public policy, State legislation, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Hennepin County Community Health Department. 2002. Healthy babies: The provider's role in fetal alcohol syndrome prevention. Minneapolis, MN: Hennepin County Community Health Department, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes and analyzes information from a study conducted to determine whether health professionals in Hennepin County, Minnesota, discuss alcohol use with women of childbearing age. The report includes the following sections: (1) a model for clinical prevention and intervention, (2) phase one: provider prenatal alcohol screening survey, (3) phase two: provider focus group research, (3) summary, and (4) a call to action. A reference list is also included. Four appendices include the prenatal alcohol screening survey, selected survey results, coding schemes for variables in multiple regression analyses, and a prenatal care provider focus group discussion guide.

Contact: Hennepin County Human Services and Public Health Department, 525 Portland Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55415, Telephone: (612) 348-4111 E-mail: HSPH.FrontDoor.Screening@co.hennepin.mn.us Web Site: http://wwwa.co.hennepin.mn.us/portal/site/HCInternet/menuitem.14c0cacfe630405b258caf10b1466498/?vgnextoid=afcabe2f09b7c010VgnVCM1000000f094689RCRD Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Focus groups, Health personnel, Intervention, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Questionnaires, Research, Substance abusing pregnant women, Surveys

more information

Kim J, Krall J. 2006. Literature review: Effects of prenatal substance exposure on infant and early childhood outcomes. Berkeley, CA: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This paper highlights recent findings from academic literature concerning the debate about the consequences of prenatal substance exposure for infants and young children. The paper discusses the prevalence of substance abuse during pregnancy; research limitations; and child growth and development in the following areas: motor development, cognitive development, language skills, behavior, attachment, school performance, and physical growth. Intervention strategies, including overarching programmatic recommendations and successful service interventions for health family development, are also discussed. A conclusion and references are included.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy, University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, #7402, Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: aia@berkeley.edu Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Attachment behavior, Child development, Child health, Chld behavior, Cognitive development, Families: Intervention, Infant development, Infant health, Language development, Motor development, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Mattison DR, Wilson S, Coussens C, Gilbert D (Eds.) and Board on Health Sciences Policy, Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine. 2003. The role of environmental hazards in premature birth: Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 127 pp.

Annotation: This book summarizes a workshop convened on October 2-3, 2001, to look at issues surrounding the impact of environmental exposure on the fetus in the uterus, risks of premature birth, as well as child health and well-being throughout life. In addition the role of social and behavioral factors such as stress, anxiety, depression, drug use, alcohol use, and tobacco smoking is discussed. Chapters include: (1) preterm birth and its consequences, (2) labor and delivery, (3) preterm birth and a brief summary of biological pathways, (4) preterm birth and gene-environment interactions, (5) the social implications of preterm birth, and (6) future directions for research. The book also contains abstracts of 18 relevant articles and references. Three appendices contain the workshop agenda, a list of speakers and panelists, and a list of workshop participants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Lockbox 285, Washington, DC 20055, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: bkline@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $35.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09065-2.

Keywords: Childbirth, Conferences, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Genes, Labor, Maternal fetal exchange, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Research, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Minnesota Department of Health. 2005. About alcohol and pregnancy. (Rev. ed.). Minneapolis, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 2 pp. (Public information sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the consequences of consuming alcohol during pregnancy. Topics covered include risks for having an infant born with fetal alcohol syndrome or fetal alcohol spectrum disorder, how to prevent having an infant with alcohol-related birth defects, what women need to know about consuming alcohol during pregnancy, how consuming alcohol is harmful for pregnant women and their infants, and whether it is ever safe for pregnant women to consume alcohol.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P. O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregancy, Consumer education materials, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Infant health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Women's health

more information

Minnesota Department of Health, Family Health Division, MCH-FAS Prevention. 2004. Women and substance abuse in the childbearing years: A prevention primer. Mounds View, MN: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 155 pp.

Annotation: This primer promotes public education to all Minnesotans who need to know that: (1) there is no known safe time to use any type or amount of alcohol during pregnancy, and (2) alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs have immediate and long-term effects on women’s and children’s health. The primer provides information, educational resources, and tools in various formats about women’s substance abuse, addiction, and its consequences; risk factors associated with women’s substance use including sexual and domestic abuse, depression, and other mental health issues; and how to engage a wide range of community members to take action in helping women who abuse substances, particularly during pregnancy. Resources include books, brochures, pamphlets, and other print media; counseling and information phone lines; curricula; Internet resources; prevention planning and resource guides; reports; resource centers; services for children and families, as well as women; and videos for purchase or loan. Resources are identified throughout the primer for African American, Asian American, Latino, and Native American cultures and for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons, in addition to general audiences. Appendices include information on selecting and pre-testing educational materials; selecting health information on the Web; community prevention strategies; effective strategies to reduce drinking during pregnancy; facts about women who drink during pregnancy; substance use and the harm to women and children; recognizing and treating alcohol abuse and alcoholism; and a calendar of community events and national health observances. References conclude the primer.

Contact: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 2720 Highway 10, N.E., Mounds View, MN 55112-4092, Telephone: (763) 427-5310 Secondary Telephone: (800) 782-1878 Fax: (763) 427-7841 E-mail: mprc@miph.org Web Site: http://www.emprc.org/ $10.00 in-state; $12.00 out of state.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal tobacco syndrome, Minnesota, Perinatal health, Prenatal health, Resource materials, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abusing pregnant women, Women's health

more information

Minnesota Department of Health, Family Health Division, MCH-FAS Prevention. 2004. Women and substance use in the childbearing years: A prevention primer. [Mounds View, MN]: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 155 pp.

Annotation: This primer discusses the problem of substance use, including alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs, in women and girls in Minnesota, especially during pregnancy; and describes how community education can address this problem, with information about specific groups including African Americans, American Indians, Latinos, and college students. The majority of the primer lists and describes resources in a wide variety of formats tohelp understand and educate others about these problems. Formats include printed materials, videos, Internet resources, resource centers, and services. Addresses of vendors are included. The primer includes eight appendices covering topics such as selecting information, community prevention strategies, recognizing and treating alcohol abuse and addiction, and a calendar of health observances.

Contact: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 2720 Highway 10, N.E., Mounds View, MN 55112-4092, Telephone: (763) 427-5310 Secondary Telephone: (800) 782-1878 Fax: (763) 427-7841 E-mail: mprc@miph.org Web Site: http://www.emprc.org/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Addiction, Adolescent females, Alcohol consumption behaviors, Bibliographies, Cigarette smoking, Communities, Depression, Directories, Domestic violence, Mental health, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse, Women's health

more information

Morse BA, Barnwell C (Eds.). 2000. Charting the future: Resource directory for the diagnosis prevention and treatment of fetal alcohol syndrome. Concord, MA: Boston University School of Medicine, Fetal Alcohol Education Program, 89 pp.

Annotation: This directory lists resources for the diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS). It is divided into three main parts. The first section is a brief overview of fetal alcohol syndrome, including diagnosis, manifestation, treatment, and prevention. The second section lists national resources for FAS, most of which provide printed or video resources, referrals, or links to other organizations. The third and largest section is a listing for each state and trust territory of identified sources for diagnosis, support for families, treatment of FAS, community activities, and where to inquire about treatment for pregnant women with alcohol problems. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHM053.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Community programs, Directories, Family support, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Resource materials

more information

National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center. 2006. Substance exposed infants: Noteworthy policies and practices. Berkeley, CA: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, 12 pp. (Issue brief 3)

Annotation: This issue brief outlines policy issues and challenges facing states that are relevant to reducing the incidence of substance-exposed infants and providing treatment to those who need it. The brief presents differing perspectives in terms of both policy and practice that affect pregnant women who are substance abusers as well as their infants. The brief also highlights a few approaches taken by states to address these issues. Finally, the brief poses some parting thoughts and recommendations for future exploration and research.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy, University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, #7402, Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: aia@berkeley.edu Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: High risk groups, High risk infants, Infant health, Public policy, State programs, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Northwest Indiana Healthy Start. n.d.. Street drug use during pregnancy: Fact sheet. [Hammond, IN: Northwest Indiana Healthy Start], 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet is designed to discourage the pregnant woman from using recreational drugs. The information focuses on the effects of substance abuse during pregnancy for the mother and the child. Patients are referred for information and treatment options to Healthy Start and the Prenatal Substance Use Prevention Program (PSUPP). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: NorthWest Indiana Healthy Start, 7854 Interstate Plaza Drive, Hammond, IN 46324, Telephone: (219) 989-3939 Secondary Telephone: (800) 445-2229 E-mail: lhatch@nwihs.com Web Site: http://nwihs.com/index.html Available at no charge.

Keywords: Drug affected children, Drug affected infants, Drug use during pregnancy, Indiana, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse treatment, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Olson HC, Ohlemiller MM, O'Connor MJ, Brown CW, Morris CA, Damus K. 2009. A call to action: Advancing essential services and research on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders—A report of the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and Fetal Alcohol Effect. Atlanta, GA: National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and Fetal Alcohol Effect, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights ten recommendations to improve and expand efforts regarding early identification, diagnostic services, and quality research on interventions for individuals with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASDs) and their families. Also included are action steps, accomplishments of the Task Force, an overview of the strategic plan, an overview of the Center for Excellence, and information about the Interagency Coordinating Committee on fetal alcohol syndrome.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-1515 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Early intervention, Federal initiatives, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, MCH research, Prevention, Strategic plans, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

SAMHSA Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence. 2005. Hope for women in recovery: Understanding and addressing the impact of prenatal alcohol exposure. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report presents information from the summit, Hope for Women in Recovery: Understanding and Addressing the Impact of Prenatal Alcohol Exposure, held on July 21-22, 2005, in Raleigh, North Carolina. The summit was designed to educate women of childbearing age in recovery and substance abuse treatment center staff about fetal alcohol spectrum disorders. The report includes information from presentations held at the summit, including personal stories of women in recovery and presentations by health professionals.

Contact: SAMHSA Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence, 2101 Gaither Road, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (866) 786-7327 E-mail: patricia.getty@samhsa.hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.fasdcenter.samhsa.gov/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol consumption during pregnancy, Education, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal health, Personal narratives, Prenatal additon, Recovering addicts, Recovering alcoholics, Substance abuse treatement, Substance abusing pregnant women, Women's health

more information

Shaw E, Goode S (Comps.). 2008. Fact sheet: Vulnerable young children. Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, 7 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides data on infants and young children who are experiencing high stress as a result of a number of risk factors specifically identified in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004, including substantial abuse or neglect, foster care placement, homelessness, exposure to family violence, and prenatal exposure to drugs or alcohol. The fact sheet also discusses factors and policies found to promote positive outcomes for young children at risk.

Contact: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, Campus Box 8040, UNC-CH, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8040, Telephone: (919) 962-2001 Secondary Telephone: (919) 843-3269 Fax: (919) 966-7463 E-mail: nectac@unc.edu Web Site: http://www.nectac.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Child abuse, Child neglect, Drug use during pregnancy, Family violence, Foster care, Foster children, High risk groups, Homelessness, Infants, Mental health, Public policy, Stress, Young children

more information

Steinberg D, Gehshan S. 2000. State responses to maternal drug and alcohol use: An update. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights some ongoing problems states experience as they attempt to cope with perinatal drug use, discusses some options states have in addressing the problem, and provides an overview of some recent statutory and judicial developments. The appendix contains a compendium of state laws on the topic, and provides full citations and a brief summary for each.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Secondary Telephone: (303) 364-7812 Fax: (303) 364-7800 E-mail: ncslnet-admin@ncsl.org Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org $15.00. Document Number: ISBN 1-58024-075-5.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Barriers, Drug use during pregnancy, Outcome evaluation, State MCH programs, Treatment outcome

more information

Taylor P, Zaichin J, Bailey D (Eds.). 2002. Substance abuse during pregnancy: Guidelines for screening. (Rev. ed.). Olympia, WA: Maternal and Child Health, Washington State Department of Health, 53 pp.

Annotation: This booklet about substance abuse during pregnancy (1) seeks to improve health professionals' ability to effectively screen and identify pregnant women with substance abuse issues, (2) provides guidelines for screening and follow-up, (3) provides sample screening tools, (4) provides recommendations related to drug testing of pregnant women and newborns, and (5) provides referral resources. The booklet includes five appendices: (1) screening tools for drugs and alcohol, (2) treatment access matrix, (3) resources, (4) definition of treatment services, and (5) the newborn. A bibliography is included, as well.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, PO Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3502 Fax: (360) 236-2323 E-mail: mch.support@doh.wa.gov Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov/cfh/mch Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Newborn infants, Reproductive health, Screening, Screening tests, Substance abuse, Substance abuse during pregnancy, Treatment

more information

U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention. 2006. Partnership to Prevent Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders: Public education program manual. Rockville, MD: U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, 118 pp., plus 2 CD-ROMs.

Annotation: The print and CD editions of this program manual contain pretested research-based plans, strategies, and communications tools to develop public awareness about the dangers of alcohol consumption to the developing fetus. Chapter contents include partnership mobilization and program planning, provider involvement, materials dissemination, program evaluation, and pilot program descriptions. Appendices include materials and images, a glossary of terms, contact information, and references. The CD edition also provides four case studies that describe how the program was implemented and adapted by four pilot communities; links directly to Web-based resources; and provides PDF files of the communications tools. The CD supplement provides production source sfiles for the communications tools to allow graphic designers and commercial printers to create additional materials.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road Room 8, 1036, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-2000 Secondary Telephone: (240) 276-2130 Fax: (240) 276-2010 Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: HHS Pub. No. SMA-4013.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, CD-ROMs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Pregnant women, Program development, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Training materials

more information

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2005. Substance use during pregnancy: 2002 and 2003 update. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 3 pp. (NSDUH report)

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses results from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health on illicit drug use among pregnant and nonpregnant women ages 15 to 44. The fact sheet, which includes results in brief, also discusses illicit drug use, alcohol use, cigarette use, and substance use during the year after giving birth. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet. Endnotes are included.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 7-1044, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1212 Web Site: http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Illicit drugs, MCH research, Postpartum women, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use behavior, Surveys, Women's health

more information

Wenzel S, Kosofsky BE, Harvey JA, Iguchi MY, Steinberg P, Watkins KE, Shaikh R. 2001. Prenatal cocaine exposure: Scientific considerations and policy implications. Santa Monica, CA: Rand, 39 pp.

Annotation: This report presents an overview of the current state of knowledge regarding the effects of cocaine on the developing brain of the fetus and offers policy considerations for addressing the issues that arise from cocaine use by pregnant women. Three preventive strategies are outlined; primary (before and during pregnancy), secondary (to identify pregnant women who use drug and minimizing their drug use), and tertiary (to reduce the adverse consequences of substance exposure to children exposed in utero). The report also includes additional sources, and references.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: correspondence@rand.org Web Site: http://www.rand.org $10.00, plus shipping and handling; also available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: ISBN 0-8330-3001-9.

Keywords: Cocaine, Drug affected infants, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal development, Neonatal addiction, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abusing pregnant women

more information

Wolfe EL, Davis T, Guydish J. 2003. Trends in perinatal drug and alcohol use in California, 1991-1998—Final research report. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, Institute for Health Policy Studies, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study undertaken to describe the prevalence of perinatal drug and alcohol use in California from 1991 through 1998 and to determine if data collected by the California Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development could be used to provide ongoing information to policy and program planners about perinatal substance use. The report, which includes an executive summary, describes the study's purpose and design, the results, and the implications. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes one appendix: a table of California health service areas. The report also includes a list of references.

Contact: California Policy Research Center, 1950 Addison Street #203, Berkeley, CA 94720-7410, Telephone: (510) 642-5514 Fax: (510) 642-8793 E-mail: cprc@ucop.edu Web Site: http://www.ucop.edu/cprc/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregnancy, California, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal health, Public policy, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use behavior

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |