Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Women's Health: Consumer Education Materials

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 43 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes recent materials for the consumer on women's health, including handbooks, health diaries, and information for women at different ages in their lives. Items for professionals are contained in a separate bibliography. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 43 records.

Agosta C. 2000. The baby boomers' menopause handbook: Making your own choices through the other end of puberty. Gualala, CA: CA Publishing, Ink, 80 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this book is to present women with information on menopause and to provide resources for access further information on the subject. The book presents a definition of menopause, a chapter on other women's experiences with menopause, and a discussion of hormonal replacement and alternatives to hormonal replacement. A list of resources and an annotated bibliography are presented. A glossary of common terms used in the discussion of female anatomy is included in the book.

Contact: CA Publishing, Ink, C.A. Agosta, PO Box 955, Maumee, OH 43537, E-mail: sales@menopausebook.org Web Site: http://www.menopausebook.org/ $12.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-9702203-0-5.

Keywords: Holistic health, Menopause, Women's health

more information

American Academy of Periodontology. [2010]. Protecting oral health throughout your life. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Periodontology,

Annotation: This fact sheet describes oral health issues unique to women throughout their lifespans. The brochure discusses periodontal disease, gingivitis, and the effect of hormonal changes on oral health during puberty, menstruation, pregnancy, and menopause, and when using oral contraceptives.

Contact: American Academy of Periodontology, 737 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (312) 787-5518 Fax: (312) 787-3670 E-mail: aapsite@perio.org Web Site: http://www.perio.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Gingivitis, Menopause, Menstruation, Oral health, Periodontal disease, Pregnancy, Puberty, Women's health

more information

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 2000. Encyclopedia of women's health and wellness. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 568 pp.

Annotation: This encyclopedia is designed for women of all ages, types, and backgrounds and is divided into three sections; women's bodies, wellness, and health. Topics include how the body works at different life stages, the healthy lifestyle, routine exams and normal events in a woman's life, and a section on specific disorders, tests, and procedures. The resources section provides Internet and organizational contacts for health information, hotlines, a glossary and an index.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org $19.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-915473-60-7.

Keywords: Encyclopedias, Life cycle, Reproductive health, Women's health

more information

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2006. Preconception care fact sheet. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This preconception care fact sheet provides an explanation of what preconception care is and why it is necessary, gives examples of preconception interventions and opportunities for state health agencies, and provides a list of resources available on the Internet.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, Infant health, Intervention, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Screening, Women's health

more information

Bohme C, Wharton RB. 2000. Women's health under 40: What you should know. Cincinnati, OH: Betterway Books, 184 pp. (Your health: What you should know series)

Annotation: This illustrated book gives an explanation of some common health issues women age 40 and younger can experience. The information is presented in an easy to read format. Subjects covered include: anatomy; pap smears and cervical cancer; abnormal periods; painful periods; vaginal infections; sexually transmitted diseases; birth control; breast cancer; staying healthy; and exercise. There is place to record questions to take to a doctor. A bibliography is included.

Contact: Betterway Books, 1507 Dana Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45207-1005, $6.99. Document Number: ISBN 1-55870-554-6.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Health promotion, Menstruation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women's health

more information

Bohme CJ, Gosch-Weisbrodt JC, Wharton RB. 2000. Women's health over 40: What you should know. Cincinnati, OH: Betterway Books, 184 pp.

Annotation: This book focuses on explaining to the general public about risk factors, treatment, and prevention for breast cancer, osteoporosis, and heart disease. Topics covered in these chapters include cholesterol types and levels, diabetes, hypertension, stress, and obesity. A bibliography concludes the book.

Contact: Betterway Books, 1507 Dana Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45207-1005, $6.90. Document Number: ISBN 1-55870-555-4.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Heart diseases, Menopause, Middle age, Osteoporosis, Women's health

more information

Borysenko J. 1998. A woman's book of life: The biology, psychology, and spirituality of the feminine life cycle. New York, NY: Riverhead Books, 304 pp.

Annotation: This book traces a woman's life from infancy through middle age and beyond. The book is organized into 13 cycles of seven years each. The author uses both scientific data and anecdotal accounts in the examination of the life-cycle of a woman and the issues that pertain to each stage of life, emphasizing the bio-psycho-spiritual feedback loop that unfolds throughout a woman's life span. An appendix includes relaxation exercises, some guided meditations, a list of resources, and chapter notes.

Keywords: Holistic health, Life cycle, Spirituality, Women's health

more information

Boston Women's Health Book Collective. 2000. Nuestros cuerpos, nuestras vidas. New York, NY: Seven Stories Press, 604 pp.

Annotation: This is the Spanish version of Our Bodies, Ourselves for the New Century. The book contains five sections. The first discusses the importance of knowledge about women's health, including an international perspective, health care systems, how to organize for change, and Internet resources. The second section discusses caring for women's health. The following sections cover relationships and sexuality; reproductive health and reproductive rights; and pregnancy and the postpartum period. A list of resources and an index are included.

Contact: Boston Women's Health Book Collective, d/b/a Our Bodies Ourselves, 34 Plympton Street, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 451-3666 Fax: (617) 451-3664 E-mail: office@bwhbc.org Web Site: http://www.ourbodiesourselves.org $24.00. Document Number: ISBN 1-58322-024-0.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Women's health

more information

Bourland J. 2000. The go-girl guide: Surviving your 20s with savvy, soul, and style. Lincolnwood, IL: Contemporary Books, 340 pp.

Annotation: This book for consumers discusses young women's perspectives on entering adulthood. Topics include deciding on and starting a career; relationships and sexual behavior; changing body images and health, nutrition, and exercise; family issues and social groups; and personal financial planning. The writing style includes frequent use of humor.

Keywords: Life cycle, Sexual behavior, Women's health, Young adults

more information

Brody JE, Grady D. 2000. The New York Times book of women's health: The latest on feeling fit, eating right, and staying well. New York, NY: Lebhar-Friedman Books, 370 pp.

Annotation: This book is a compilation of articles from the New York Times that analyze the major health issues facing women. The book is divided into 13 sections that cover the following subjects: (1) nutrition; (2) exercise; (3) women and weight; (4) emotional health; (5) violence; (6) sexuality; (7) pregnancy, childbirth, and matters of the womb; (8) the teenage years: raising healthy daughters; (9) menopause and aging; (10) breast cancer; (11) heart disease; (12) image and self-image; and (13) herbs, supplements, and alternative medicine. Each article shows the name of the reporter wrote the article and the date it was published.

Contact: Lebhar-Friedman Books, 425 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Web Site: http://www.lfbooks.com/ $29.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-86730-806-0.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Breast cancer, Childbirth, Menopause, Nutrition, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Violence prevention, Women's health

more information

Burt VK. Hendrick VC. 2001. Concise guide to women's mental health. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Publishing, 195 pp. (Concise guides)

Annotation: This book for the general public addresses the biological, psychological, and sociocultural factors that influence the mental health of women, with emphasis on reproductive points in the female life cycle. Chapters include the topics of gender differences in psychiatric disorders and their assessment; premenstrual dysphoric disorder; hormonal contraception and effects on mood; psychiatric disorders during pregnancy, postpartum psychiatric disorders, induced abortion and pregnancy loss; the psychological implications of infertility diagnosis and treatment; perimenopause and menopause; gender issues in the treatment of mental illness; and female-specific cancers. Each chapter contains a list of references and many tables and figures are included. An appendix provides resources and support groups. An index concludes the book.

Contact: American Psychiatric Publishing, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 1825, Arlington, VA 22209, Telephone: 703-907-7322 Secondary Telephone: 800-368-5777 Fax: 703-907-1091 E-mail: appi@psych.org Web Site: http://www.appi.org $27.95. Document Number: ISBN 1-58562-030-0.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Eating disorders, Infertility, Menopause, Mental health, Oral contraceptives, Pregnancy, Premenstrual syndrome, Reproductive health, Sex characteristics, Sleep disorders, Substance abuse, Women's health

more information

Covington SS. 1999. A woman's journal: Helping Women Recover—A program for treating addiction. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 134 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a personal journal to be used by a participant in a program for treating addiction, Helping Women Recover. The journal is intended for use in a group meeting setting although it may be used one-on-one with a counselor. The program is organized into four modules: self, relationships, sexuality, and spirituality. For each module, the journal contains exercises to be used at the group meetings, summaries of information received at meetings, and questions and exercise for reflection between meetings. The appendix contains a list of other recovery resources.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: info@wiley.com Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com $20.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-4430-0.

Keywords: Behavior modification, Personal narratives, Recovering addicts, Substance dependence, Therapeutic programs, Women's health

more information

Delgado J. 2002. Salud: A Latina's guide to total health. (Rev. ed.). Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 396 pp.

Annotation: This book, a health guide for Latinas, addresses issue such as tradition vs. convention, fertility, sexuality, pregnancy, alcoholism, cancer, depression, diabetes, healthy eating, and body image. It is divided into four sections focusing on (1) being a Latina; (2) being female; (3) diseases; and (4) living well. Each chapter concludes a summary and resources section of organizations and publications, Appendices include Latinas who influenced this book; samples of a health journal, visit summary, and chart of basal body temperature; resources on advocacy; and a listing of national health information clearinghouses. An index is provided. The book is published in English and Spanish.

Contact: HarperCollins, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com $19.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-06-051196-6.

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Cultural beliefs, Hispanic Americans, Mental health, Patient rights, Reproductive health, Self esteem, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Women's health promotion

more information

Gannon L. 1999. Women and aging: Transcending the myths. New York, NY: Routledge, 228 pp. (Women and psychology)

Annotation: This book for women focuses on the process of aging, from middle-age to elderly, with multidisciplinary and feminist perspectives. Chapters include psychosocial factors, psychological well-being, physical well-being, menopause, sexuality, cardiovascular disease, and osteoporosis. The last section of concluding remarks discusses the socioeconomic factors that affect women's health and well-being. References and indices conclude the book.

Contact: Routledge, 270 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 216-7800 Secondary Telephone: (800) 634-7064 Fax: (212) 563-2269 Web Site: http://www.routledge-ny.com/ $21.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-415-16910-0.

Keywords: Aging, Cardiovascular diseases, Feminism, Health attitudes, Menopause, Middle age, Osteoporosis, Psychology, Psychosocial factors, Sexuality, Socioeconomic factors, Women, Women's health

more information

Gay K. 2001. Encyclopedia of women's health issues. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 304 pp.

Annotation: This encyclopedia for consumers defines health terms and explains the health problems and issues surrounding them. Relevant laws and court cases important to women's health issues are described. Programs and events targeted specifically at women's health needs and programs for the specific health needs of ethnic and racial minority women are included. Profiles of notable women's activists in health issues are included. The book also includes relevant organizations, selected Web sites, and reference materials for further information. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: Oryx Press, 88 Post Road West, Westport, CT 06881, Telephone: 203) 226-3571 E-mail: sales@greenwood.com Web Site: http://www.greenwood.com/ $69.95. Document Number: ISBN 1-57356-303-X.

Keywords: Economic factors, Encyclopedias, Family planning, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Social factors, Women's health, Women's rights, Working women

more information

Gwinner V. [ca. 2000]. Women's health facts: 2000 weekly organizer. Fairfax, VA: National Women's Health Information Center, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This weekly organizer for the year 2000 includes health tips for women on each page.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: Calendars, Health promotion, Women's health

more information

Judelson DR, Dell DL (Eds.). 2000. The women's complete wellness book. New York, NY: St. Martin's Griffin, 596 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information relating to women's health issues and achieving optimal health and maintaining wellness. The book is divided into four parts. Part I presents an overview of women's health issues. Part II provides a detailed discussion about routine health care and the health concerns that arise in each stage of life as well as the importance of proactive routine care. Part III offers guidelines for making sensible lifestyle choices including the role of good nutrition, regular exercise, adequate rest, and relaxation. Part III also examines mental health concerns, injury and accident prevention, sexuality, relationships, communication, violence prevention, family planning, pregnancy, and menopause. Part IV discusses the complex systems of a woman's body, including the following topics: the cardiovascular system; reducing the risk of cancers; protecting the body from infection; lowering the risk of metabolic diseases; maintaining the mind; and strengthening the bones and muscles. The book is sponsored by the American Medical Women's Association and produced by the Philip Lief Group.

Contact: St. Martin's Press, 175 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (646) 307-5151 Fax: (212) 674-6132 Web Site: http://us.macmillan.com/SMP.aspx $19.96. Document Number: ISBN 0-312-25472-5.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Women's health

more information

Kallins GJ, Keeling G. 2000. 5 steps to a PMS-free life: The groundbreaking new program that stops the monthly roller coaster and puts you in control. Laguna Niguel, CA: Village Healer Press, 167 pp.

Annotation: This book presents a five-step program designed to treat premenstrual syndrome (PMS) using nutrition, stress reduction, exercise, mind-body exercise, and medication tailored to the individual woman. A list of references is provided.

Keywords: Holistic health, Nutrition, PMS, Physical activity, Prevention, Women's health

more information

Kenley J, Arpels J. 1999. Whose body is it anyway? Smart alternative and traditional health choices for your total well-being. New York, NY: Newmarket Press, 335 pp.

Annotation: This book contains information on traditional and alternative treatment options for women' s health issues over the age of 35. Topics include menopause, hormone replacement therapies, hot flashes, incontinence, sexual activity, heart disease and breast cancer, osteoporosis, and healthy lifestyle practices in nutrition, exercise, healthy habits, and other topics. The second part contains checklists and questionnaires for self evaluation, resource listings, a glossary, references, and an index.

Contact: Newmarket Press, 18 East 48th Street, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 832-3575 Fax: (212) 832-3629 E-mail: mailox@newmarketpress.com Web Site: http://www.newmarketpress.com/ $24.95. Document Number: ISBN 1-55704-354-X.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Hormone replacement therapy, Life cycle, Menopause, Middle age, Nutrition, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Weight management, Women's health

more information

Legato M, Colman C. 2000. What women need to know: From headaches to heart disease and everything in between. Chicago, IL: Olmstead Press, 239 pp.

Annotation: This book presents answers from an internist specializing in women's health to a variety of questions women have about their health, including everyday health questions, symptoms, prevention, and treatments. The information is presented as a means to close the communication gap between women and their physicians. The information is organized alphabetically by subject. A list of resources for further information is included.

Keywords: Prevention, Therapeutics, Women's health

more information

Maraldo P and People's Medical Society. 1999. Women's health for dummies. Foster City, CA: IDG Books Worldwide, 404 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information for women on nutrition, exercise and weight control; addiction and violence; general health issues such as cancer and cardiovascular disease; and digestive, sleep, mental, and chronic disorders. In addition, reproductive health and pregnancy chapters discuss contraception and postconception alternatives, sexuality and sexual dysfunction, sexually transmitted diseases, and labor and childbirth. The final chapter includes sample questions to ask a prospective doctor, making a gynecological exam more comfortable, and ten suggested Web sites to visit. The authors' writing style contains frequent use of humor.

Contact: IDG Books Worldwide, 919 East Hillsdale Boulevard, Suite 400, Foster City, CA 94404, Telephone: (800) 762-2974 Fax: (415) 655-3295 E-mail: sitemail@idgbooks.com $15.99. Document Number: ISBN 0-7645-5119-1.

Keywords: Breast care, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Mental health, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Substance abuse, Women's health

more information

McCloud MT. 1999. The health diary for women of color: Your personal log. Roswell, GA: New Life Publishing, ca. 60 pp.

Annotation: This diary is designed to assist women of color with participating in their health care and improving health outcomes for people of color. The diary provides space for personal data; family medical history; data about lifestyle, weight, diet, exercise, heart, breasts, reproductive organs, sexually transmitted diseases, and pregnancy; personal checklists; health care logs; and recommended health maintenance schedules. Health tips giving information related to the health of Blacks, Whites, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, and Native Americans are also included.

Contact: New Life Publishing, P.O. Box 344, Roswell, GA 30077-0344, E-mail: newlfpubl@aol.com Web Site: http://www.drmccloud.com/second.php4?id=contact $9.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-9643554-1-8.

Keywords: American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Consumer education materials, Hispanic Americans, Medical records, Minority groups, Recordkeeping, Whites, Women's health

more information

McIlhaney, JS Jr, Nethery S. 1998. 1,001 health-care questions women ask. (3rd ed.). Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 575 pp.

Annotation: This book presents information on women's health in a question and answer format. The information provided is focused on reproductive health. The book is divided into three parts: (1) the female body in change, presenting anatomy and the stages of a woman's life from birth to the postmenopausal years; (2) bearing a child, covering conception and pregnancy; and (3) special concerns, including disorders of the reproductive organs, infertility, birth control, sexually transmitted diseases, and marital and sexual relationships. The book includes Biblical references, other inspirational quotations, and references to God. A glossary is included.

Contact: Baker Books, P.O. Box 6287, Grand Rapids, MI 49516-6287, Telephone: (800) 877-2665 Fax: 1-800-398-3111 E-mail: webmaster@bakerpublishinggroup.com Web Site: http://www.bakerbooks.com/ME2/Audiences/Default.asp Document Number: ISBN 0-8010-5810-4.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Gynecology, Reproductive health, Women's health

more information

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2003. Do I have premature ovarian failure?. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 22 pp.

Annotation: This brochure focuses on premature ovarian failure (POF), a condition in which normal functioning of the ovaries stops before a woman reaches menopause. The brochure provides fast facts, offers an overview of POF and its causes, discusses the normal menstrual cycle and what happens differently in POF, explains the symptoms and treatment options, discusses how POF affects overall health, explains how POF affects fertility, and touches on current research. Information about additional resources is also included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Building 31, 2A32, MSC 2425, 31 Center Drive, Bethesda, MD 20892-2425, Telephone: (301) 496-5133 Fax: (301) 402-1104 E-mail: NICHDInformationResourceCenter@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 03-5159.

Keywords: Fertility, Menopause, Menstruation, Ovarian diseases, Pregnancy, Treatment, Women's health

more information

Northrup C. 1999. Women's bodies, women's health: The mind body connection with Christiane Northrup, M.D.. Chicago, IL: Heitz/Wilson, 365 pp.

Annotation: This book presents a quote for each day of the year regarding women's health and the mind-body connection. The author addresses a wide range of women's health concerns including personal habits, physical activity, emotional and mental health, medical care, etc.

Contact: Heitz/Wilson, 921 West Van Buren Street, Suite 220, Chicago, IL 60607, Telephone: (312) 829-5100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 551-2013 Fax: (312) 829-9074 Web Site: http://www.jwavideo.com $11.75. Document Number: ISBN 0-945923-48-1.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Holistic health, Women's health

more information

Northrup C. 1998. Women's bodies, women's wisdom: Creating physical and emotional health and healing. (Rev. ed.). New York, NY: Bantam Books, 906 pp.

Annotation: This book presents information on women's health from an holistic approach and using case studies. The book is divided into three parts. Part One: From External Control to Inner Guidance examines the cultural influence on women's health care, the mind-body connection, feminine intelligence and the female energy system. Part Two: The Anatomy of Women's Wisdom discusses reproduction, sexuality, fertility, childbearing, motherhood, and menopause. Part Three: Choices for Healing: Creating Your Personal Plan looks at steps for healing, medical care, nutrition, physical activity, and overall personal well being. An appendix provides choices in hormone replacement. References, resources and chapter notes are included.

Contact: Random House, Bantam Books, 1540 Broadway, New York, NY 10036, E-mail: library@randomhouse.com Web Site: http://www.randomhouse.com $17.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-553-37953-4.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Holistic health, Women's health

more information

Olsen-Spina T. 2001. The personal health diary (adult version). Albany, NY: Delmar Publishers, ca. 70 pp.

Annotation: This is a 3-ring binder that contains forms for an adult to use when organizing medical documents and information pertinent to medical appointments. There is space for family and personal health histories. The user can track questions, concerns, symptoms, insurance information and health provider recommendations. There are logs for medical tests and medications, a patient's bill of rights, and a form for the location of important documents. A section for recording information to be used in an emergency is also provided.

Contact: Delmar Cengage Learning, 5 Maxwell Drive, Clifton Park, NY 12065-2919, Telephone: (518) 348-2300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 648-7450 E-mail: help@delmar.com Web Site: http://www.delmarlearning.com $21.95 plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-7668-3072-1.

Keywords: Adult health, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Medical records, Record keeping

more information

Reichman J. 2001. Relax, this won't hurt: Painless answers to women's most pressing health questions. New York, NY: Quill, 368 pp.

Annotation: This book presents information designed to answer questions women have about health issues. The book is divided into chapters based on decades of a woman's life, beginning with the adolescent years and ending with the seventies and beyond. In each chapter questions pertaining to the bodily changes, health risks, diseases, and other issues for that stage of life are answered. At the end of each chapter there are tips for maintaining good health for the decade. There is a chapter devoted to genetic history and genetics concerns. A list of resources for further information and assistance is provided.

Contact: HarperCollins, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com $13.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-06-095932-0.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Life cycle, Women's health

more information

Scialli AR, ed. 1999. The National Women's Health Resource Center book of women's health: Your comprehensive guide to health and well-being. New York, NY: William Morrow and Company, 680 pp.

Annotation: Written for the woman consumer, this book discusses health and well-being throughout her lifespan. Part one gives advice on healthy sexual practices, nutrition, physical activity, menopause, and how best to use her health-care practitioner. Part two considers special issues in reproductive health, cosmetic surgery, mental health, abuse, and occupational and environmental issues. The third part focuses on pregnancy and childbirth in all its stages, both physical and emotional. Part four talks about medical disorders and diseases of women in topics such as breast disorders, menstrual problems, sexually transmitted diseases, urinary tract infections, reproductive system problems, cardiovascular problems, oral health, musculoskeletal disorders, and skin problems. The book closes with sections on common medical tests and procedures, a glossary, and an index.

Contact: William Morrow and Company, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com/imprints/index.aspx?imprintid=518003 $35.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-688-12434-8.

Keywords: Breast care, Cardiovascular diseases, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Endocrine diseases, Environmental health, Exercise, Family planning, Life cycle, Menopause, Mental health, Musculoskeletal diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Plastic surgery, Pregnancy, Puerperium, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Skin diseases, Substance abuse, Violence, Women's health, Workplace

more information

Taylor AL, Branford T (Eds.). 2004. The African American woman's guide to a healthy heart. Roscoe, IL: Hilton Publishing, 144 pp.

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward African-American women, focuses on why these women are at a higher risk for heart disease and stroke than any other group of women in the United States, get these diseases at younger ages, and are more likely to die from them. The book is divided into three sections. Part 1 explains how the blood vessels and heart work and what happens when a heart attack, stroke, or heart failure occur. Part 2 explains what increases the risk for heart attack or stroke and how to decrease risk. Part 3 focuses of dealing with the health care system and understanding insurance. Three appendices provide a yearly heart-health checklist, a list of questions to ask the doctor, and a list of resources. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: Hilton Publishing, 1630 45th Street, Suite 103, Munster, IN 46321, Telephone: 219-922-4868 Secondary Telephone: 866-455-1070 Fax: 219-922-6407 E-mail: info@hiltonpub.com Web Site: http://www.hiltonpub.com $16.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-9716067-6-5.

Keywords: African Americans, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer education materials, Families, Health care system, Heart disease, High risk groups, Insurance, Lifestyle, Morbidity, Mortality, Racial factors, Risk factors, Risk management, Stroke, Women's health

more information

Turkington CA, Probst SJ. 2000. The unofficial guide to women's health. Foster City, CA: IDG Books Worldwide, 706 pp.

Annotation: This book, intended as a consumer guide, presents a full range of information pertaining to women's health. The information included is reviewed by a panel of health professionals in the women's health field. The book is divided into five general sections that cover the following: living a longer and healthier life; reproductive health; mental health issues; symptoms; diagnoses, and treatments; and women and aging. Topics in each section include choosing health care providers, the health care system, health expectations at each stage of life, medications, nutrition, etc. Sidebars give time and money saving advice, warnings, tips on better ways to do things, quotes that are intended to be assistive, and items labeled "unofficially" that are insider facts or anecdotes. The appendices include a list of resources and recommendations for further reading.

Contact: IDG Books Worldwide, 919 East Hillsdale Boulevard, Suite 400, Foster City, CA 94404, Telephone: (800) 762-2974 Fax: (415) 655-3295 E-mail: sitemail@idgbooks.com $15.95. Document Number: ISBN 0-02-863666-X.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Women's health

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2005. A lifetime of good health: Your guide to staying healthy. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 42 pp.

Annotation: This guide promotes healthy behaviors to prevent and manage many health conditions that affect women. Topics covered include preventive screenings, Medicare preventive services, healthy heart and stroke prevention, the warning signs of stroke and heart attack, healthy bones, breast cancer early detection, healthy pregnancy, breastfeeding, stress, menopause, reproductive health, cervical health, healthy eyes and ears, colorectal health, healthy lungs, healthy smile, healthy skin, urinary tract health, violence, healthy weight, diabetes, and communicating with health professionals. A list of questions to ask a health professional and information about the National Centers for Excellence in Women's Health are also included. The guide is also available in Spanish and Chinese.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Colon disorders, Communication, Diabetes, Ear diseases, Eye care, Health behavior, Heart diseases, Lung diseases, Medicare, Menopause, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Screening, Skin diseases, Spanish language materials, Stress, Strokes, Urinary tract infections, Violence, Weight, Women's health

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2007. Bright Futures: A community organization's guide to promoting emotional wellness. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 35 pp. (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward community organizations that provide services to women, provides information on emotional wellness and tips and suggestions that organizations can use to promote wellness. The guide includes the following sections: (1) about women and emotional wellness, (2) tips to promote emotional wellness, (3) program ideas to promote emotional wellness, (4) when to host a wellness program or activity, (5) how to organize and evaluate a program or activity, and (6) resources.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7650 Fax: 202-401-4005 Web Site: http://www.4woman.gov/owh Up to five copies available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00245.

Keywords: Communication, Community based services, Community health services, Community programs, Depression, Education, Evaluation, Health promotion, Mental health, Relationships, Research, Self concept, Self esteem, Women's health

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2007. Bright Futures: A health care provider's guide to promoting women's emotional wellness. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 11 pp. (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward health professionals, is designed to help readers address the link between physical health and emotional health in their female patients. The guide provides an overview of current research on mental health and emotional wellness, information on how to talk to patients about emotional wellness, conversation starters to use with patients, information about patient-education tools, and additional resources.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7650 Fax: 202-401-4005 Web Site: http://www.4woman.gov/owh Up to five copies available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00240.

Keywords: Communication, Depression, Education, Mental health, Relationships, Research, Self concept, Self esteem, Women's health

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2007. Bright Futures: A woman's guide to emotional wellness. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 37 pp. (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward women, provides tips on how to improve emotional health and live better, become more balanced, and feel better about life. The guide is divided into three sections: (1) appreciating yourself, (2) finding balance and purpose, and (3) connecting with others. Each section offers ideas, provides vignettes, and includes activities for the reader.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7650 Fax: 202-401-4005 Web Site: http://www.4woman.gov/owh Up to five copies available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Mental health, Relationships, Self concept, Self esteem, Women's health

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2007. Bright Futures: A young woman's guide to emotional wellness. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 41 pp. (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward young women, provides tips on how to improve emotional health. The guide is divided into three sections: (1) appreciating yourself, (2) finding balance and purpose, and (3) connecting with others. Each section offers ideas to help young women feel better, provides vignettes, and includes activities for the reader.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7650 Fax: 202-401-4005 Web Site: http://www.4woman.gov/owh Up to five copies available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00244.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education materials, Mental health, Relationships, Self concept, Self esteem, Women's health, Young women

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. [2009]. Women's mental health: What it means to you. Washington, DC: Office on Women's Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 16 pp.

Annotation: This booklet discusses the unique mental health needs of women and girls and provides tips on recognizing signs of mental problems and where to seek help. Topics include the continuing stigma related to mental illness or disorders, adolescent suicide prevention, eating disorders, pregnancy and postpartum depression, menopause, trauma, violence, and abuse. A resource guide lists agencies and organizations as well as helplines.

Contact: National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, Telephone: (800) 729-6686 Secondary Telephone: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Abuse, Adolescent mental health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Eating disorders, Hotlines, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Postpartum depression, Suicide prevention, Trauma, Violence, Women's health

more information

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2008. La depresión durante y despues del ambarazo: Un informe para mujeres, sus familias, y amigas. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 21 pp.

Annotation: This brochure in Spanish describes perinatal depression, who is at risk, its symptoms, clinical and home treatments, and advice for family and friends of the woman suffering from perinatal depression.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00274.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Maternal mental health, Perinatal health, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. n. d.. Mi futuro será brillante: Actividad física y alimentación saludable—para mujeres adultas. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00208.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women's health

more information

VanTine J, Suszynski ME, and Health Prevention Books for Women (ed.). 2001. Energy for everything: Rejuvenation for the mind, body, and soul. Emmaus, PA: Rodale Press, 194 pp. (Women's edge health enhancement guide)

Annotation: This self-help book offers suggestions for increasing energy, getting proper sleep and nutrition, and reducing stress for women who feel continually tired. Topics include coping with stress in the work and home environment; caregiving for children and older adults; relationships; when to seek assistance from a health care professional; vitamins and other supplements; the benefits of regular exercise; alternative health therapies such as yoga, massage, or homeopathy; and relaxation techniques. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: Rodale Press, 33 East Minor Street, Emmaus, PA 18098, Telephone: (610) 967-5171 Fax: (610) 967-8963 E-mail: customer_service@rodale.com Web Site: http://www.rodale.com/ $17.95 plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-57954-349-9.

Keywords: Chronic fatigue syndrome, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Mental health, Nutrition, Sleep, Stress management, Vitamin supplements, Women's health, Working women

more information

Wallace S. 2000. A woman's health diary. Buffalo, NY: Firefly Books, 143 pp.

Annotation: This diary is designed to assist women in keeping an accurate record of their health. The diary has sections for a personal health record, recording major family illnesses, medical appointments, annual health summaries, and pregnancy and childbirth. The appendix allows for the recording of details that are necessary to understand how the body is reacting to exercise, medicine and normal changes. It includes a prescribed medication tracker, a 31 day tracker, a menstrual calendar, and a place to record telephone numbers and addresses.

Contact: Firefly Books, 66 Leek Crescent, Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada L4B 1H1, Telephone: (800) 387-5085 Fax: (800) 565-6034 E-mail: service@fireflybooks.com Web Site: http://www.fireflybooks.com $14.95. Document Number: ISBN 1-55209-547-9.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Medical records, Record keeping, Women's health

more information

Wallis LS, Betancourt M. 1999. The whole woman: Take charge of your health in every phase of your life. New York, NY: Avon Books, 528 pp.

Annotation: This book presents information to women to assist them in taking an active role in their health care. The introduction discusses the basics of good health, how to develop a good working relationship with physicians and how the health care system works. The book addresses four phases of a woman's life: phase I, ages 12–20, adolescent health; phase II, ages 20–45, the adult woman; phase III, ages 45–65, the perimenopausal years; and phase IV, ages 65 and up, the postmenopausal years. Some history, some anatomy, and guides to diagnoses and treatment are presented for each phase. Appendices include: (1) health resources for women including electronic databases; (2) a woman's health record that includes a questionnaire about health and sample forms to record health records; and (3) a bibliography on women's health.

Contact: Harper Collins, Avon Books, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com/imprints/index.aspx?imprintid=517994 $17.50. Document Number: ISBN 0-380-78081-X.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Life cycle, Women's health

more information

Wood MS, Coggan JM. 2000. Women's health on the Internet. New York, NY: Haworth Press, 153 pp.

Annotation: This book shows searchers how the Internet can be used to locate information about the diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis of women's health problems. Topics included are Web resources and how to evaluate and search Web sites, a case study of NOAH (New York Online Access to Health), a women's health site, and women as health care consumers. Additionally provided are sections on specific women's health issues such as physical fitness, pregnancy, childbirth and early pregnancy resources, caregiving, menopause, and diabetes. Each section begins with an abstract and keywords, and an index concludes the book.

Contact: Haworth Press, 10 Alice Street, Binghamton, NY 13904-1580, Telephone: (800) 429-6487 Secondary Telephone: (607) 722-5857 Fax: (607) 722-1424 E-mail: getinfo@haworthpress.com Web Site: http://www.haworthpress.com/ $34.95 cloth, $24.95 paper, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-7890-1301-0.

Keywords: Caregivers, Childbirth, Consumer education, Diabetes, Internet, Menopause, Parenting, Physical fitness, Pregnancy, Women's health

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |