[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: California

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 594 found.
Toggle Details

California Healthy Cities Project. n.d.. California smoke-free cities: A successful state level partnership for tobacco control. Sacramento, CA: California Healthy Cities Project, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the work of California's Healthy Cities Project, a local partnership designed to support cities in the development of regulations and programs which discourage tobacco use. It contains brief information on the project's background, the challenges met, and some practical considerations for replication elsewhere.

Contact: California Healthy Cities Project, P.O. Box 942732, MS 675, Sacramento, CA 94234-7320, Telephone: (916) 327-7017 Fax: (916) 324-7763 Price unknown.

Keywords: California, Coalitions, Health programs, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Oakland Healthy Start. n.d.. Male survey form. Oakland, CA: Oakland Healthy Start, 2 pp.

Annotation: This form records information about male sexual behavior. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038

Keywords: Adolescent males, California, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Men, Prevention programs, Sexual behavior

Toggle Details

National Health Law Program. 2014. Lessons from CA: Eligibility for former foster care children. Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 1 p.

Annotation: This document describes how California has implemented the Affordable Care Act (ACA) for the benefit of young adults (ages 18 and older) who were in foster care or who came to California from foster care in another state. Topics include efforts to enact legislation, develop a simplified application form, provide instructions to counties, and develop a desk aid for eligibility workers.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foster care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Act, State legislation, Young adults

Toggle Details

Schor E. 2014. Dental care access for children in California: Institutionalized inequality. Palo Alto, CA: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the scope of oral health problems among children in California; the system of care available to them; and policy approaches to improve access to and quality of pediatric oral health care. Topics include children's use of oral health care; public health approaches to improve children's oral health, such as fluoridated community water; and financing and work force.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: info@lpfch.org Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: State surveys, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, Financing, Health care utilization, Health status, Oral health, Policy development, Work force

Toggle Details

Brindis CD, Hadler MW, Jacobs K, Lucia L, Pourat N, Raymond-Flesch M, Siemons R, Talamantes E. 2014. Realizing the dream for Californians eligible for deferred action for childhood arrivals (DACA): Health needs and access to health care. Berkeley, CA: UC Berkeley Center for Labor Research and Education; Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research; San Francisco, CA: UCSF Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the health needs, common sources of care, and barriers to care foradolescents and young adults in California who are eligible for the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, which provides temporary work authorization and relief from deportation for qualified undocumented immigrants. The report examines health care use and identifies barriers to care experienced by this group. A companion report describes the health care coverage of DACA-eligible populations in Californians and presents potential policy solutions to expand their coverage options.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550 , Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: chpr@ucla.edu Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Barriers, California, Eligibility, Health care utilization, State programs, Undocumented immigrants, Young adults

Toggle Details

Brindis CD, Hadler MW, Jacobs K, Lucia L, Pourat N, Raymond-Flesch M, Siemons R, Talamantes E. 2014. Realizing the dream for Californians eligible for deferred action for childhood arrivals (DACA): Demographics and health coverage. Berkeley, CA: UC Berkeley Center for Labor Research and Education; Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research; San Francisco, CA: UCSF Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the health care coverage of adolescents and young adults in California who are eligible for the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, which provides temporary work authorization and relief from deportation for qualified undocumented immigrants. The report also presents potential policy solutions to expand their coverage options. A companion report discusses the health needs, common sources of care, and barriers to care for DACA-eligible Californians and presents potential solutions for health professionals, community-based organizations, and private and public funders to improve health and access to care.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550 , Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: chpr@ucla.edu Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Barriers, California, Health insurance, Immigrants, Policy development, Research, State programs, Young adults

Toggle Details

National Health Law Program. 2014. Lessons from California: Pediatric dental coverage in the exchange. Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 1 p.

Annotation: This document examines pediatric dental services as an essential health benefit, state options for implementing the requirement, and policy and information technology decisions in California. Topics include strategies and actions to prioritize inclusion of dental benefits and consumer protections in model health plan contracts.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Children, Dental care, Health care reform, Health insurance, State initiatives, State legislation

Toggle Details

Baker D, Davis-Aldritt L, Hebbeler K. 2014. The 'hidden health care system' in California schools and children with special health care needs. Palo Alto, CA: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 3 items. (School health and children with special health care needs)

Annotation: These fact sheets present policy recommendations to improve the health care system in schools in California. The content draws from 2011-2012 state education data, interviews with school education experts, and a survey of school nurses. Topics include issues in identifying children with special health care needs at school, who is caring for them at school, and accessing available funds for school-based health services.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: info@lpfch.org Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Children with special health care needs, Financing, Health care systems, Nursing, Policy development, Program improvement, School age children, School health

Toggle Details

Pourat N, Choi MK. 2014. Trends in the supply of dentists in California. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 4 pp. (Health policy brief)

Annotation: This policy brief provides an overview of changes in selected demographic and practice characteristics of California dentists from 2008 to 2012, as well as in the distribution of dentists in California regions. Topics include outward migration of dentists from California, a slowly aging workforce, and low dentist-to-population ratios in some regions of California.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550 , Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: chpr@ucla.edu Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Dentists, Oral health, Policy development, State surveys, Trends, Work force

Toggle Details

Silow-Carroll S, Ehrenpreis B, Rosenstein S. 2014. Care coordination for California's children and youth with special health care needs: Building blocks from other states. Palo Alto, CA: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 48 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief examines seven care coordination programs for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) in six states (Florida, Maryland, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Vermont) and presents decision points and considerations for building a care coordination program in California. Topics include eligibility, services and standards, payment and reimbursement, financing, and oversight and monitoring.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: info@lpfch.org Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Children, Health care systems, Patient care, Policy development, Program development, Service coordination, Special health care needs, State programs

   |   

 

Page 1 of 60

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search