[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Children

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 8290 found.
Toggle Details

Stein REK, Jessop DJ, Ireys HT (Eds.). rev. 1984. Conference report: Education of pediatricians for the ongoing care of children with special health care needs, July 26-28, 1983. New York, NY: Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, 45 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the organization, structure and objectives of the conference on educating pediatricians in the care of children with special health needs. The conference was organized into small group sessions dealing with the following topics: roles of the pediatrician in the care of children with special needs, skills needed for executing identified roles, how current medical education fosters and obstructs the development of needed skills, enhancing the preparation of pediatricians for the care of children with special health needs, and a discussion about what changes need to be made to educational programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, Montefiore Medical Center , Rosenthal 4, Room Red Zone SE Pavillion , 111 East 210th Street , Bronx, NY 10467, Telephone: (718) 741-2460 Fax: (718) 654-6692 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.einstein.yu.edu/departments/pediatrics/

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Educational programs, Medical education, Pediatricians, Professional training, Reports

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d. . Tips to promote social-emotional health among young children. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote the social and emotional health of young children. It includes separate tips for parents, pediatricians, and early education and child care providers. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction, Young children

Toggle Details

Family Day Care Health Project. n.d.. Family day care health and safety. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Family Day Care Health Project, 1 videotape (18:20 minutes, VHF, 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape is addressed to home child care providers. It shows home hazards and how to deal with them. It refers to a checklist and gives instructions on how to use the videotape and the checklist together. It covers storage, infant and toddler care, outdoor play, emergency planning, and healthy routines to reduce illness. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Family child care, Health and safety, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Child Care Law Center. n.d.. The Americans with Disabilities Act and child care: Information for parents. San Francisco, CA: Child Care Law Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure gives a brief overview of who is protected under the Americans with Disabilities Act, which child care programs must comply with the act, and what is expected of such child care providers.

Contact: Child Care Law Center, 221 Pine Street, Third Floor, San Francisco, CA 94104, Telephone: (415) 394-7144 Fax: (415) 394-7140 E-mail: info@childcarelaw.org Web Site: http://www.childcarelaw.org

Keywords: Child care, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Education, Federal legislation, Inclusive schools

Toggle Details

Greenstein RM, Hudd SS. n.d.. Home care of the pediatric patient. Farmington, CT: University of Connecticut School of Medicine, Pediatric Research and Training Center, 34 pp. (Monograph series; no. 2)

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics, Medical Home Program for Children with Special Needs. n.d.. The medical home and children with special needs. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Department of Community Pediatrics, 9 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet describes the American Academy of Pediatrics' Medical Home for Children program. The medical home for children is defined, and areas of program focus are outlined. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Contact Phone: (708) 228-5005 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Contact E-mail: kidsdocs@aap.org Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community health services, Medical home

Toggle Details

Parents Helping Parents (PHP) The Family Resource Center. n.d.. The modern art of caring for families. Santa Clara, CA: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) The Family Resource Center, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: These resource materials, which are usable for handouts or overhead transparencies, are based on a workshop for nurses who work with families of children with special health needs. Sections of the notebook include the following materials: class exercises; family perspectives focusing on feelings about having a child with disabilities; principles of family centered care; guidelines for referrals; descriptions of community resources; an overview of family centered care; journal articles; eligibility criteria and procedures for referrals; and an article by the cofounder of Parents Helping Parents (PHP) that summarizes all aspects of needed professional knowledge. A brochure in the notebook describes the PHP program and provides contact information. The workshop and materials are cosponsored with Kaiser Permanente. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Parents Helping Parents, Sobrato Center For Nonprofits-San Jose, 1400 Parkmoor Avenue Suite 100, San Jose, CA 95126, Telephone: (408) 727-5775 Fax: (408) 727-0182 Web Site: http://www.php.com Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Communication, Cultural competence, Family resource centers, Family support services, Health occupations, Parent support services, Professional training, Resource materials, Stress management

Toggle Details

Vanderbilt University, Institute for Public Policy Studies. n.d.. Read this first: Chronically ill children, an overview. Nashville, TN: Vanderbilt University, Institute for Public Policy Studies, 6 items.

Annotation: This information packet provides parents and professionals with a few basic reference points in their search for answers to questions about chronically ill children. The first pamphlet provides an overview of chronically ill children. Additional pamphlets discuss advocacy, how health and education services are delivered, paying for health and education services, descriptions of some special programs for chronically ill children, and where to learn more. The packet originally included brief descriptions of eleven childhood chronic diseases and the problems that attend them, but NCEMCH does not have copies of those descriptions.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs

Toggle Details

Children's Hospital of Alabama. n.d.. Pediatric diet manual. Birmingham, AL: Children's Hospital of Alabama, 192 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a guide for the Children's Hospital of Alabama. It contains instructions for modifying diets for a variety of special needs. Regular diet modifications, liquid diets, consistency modifications, sodium restricted diets, carbohydrate controlled diets, diets appropriate for children with gastrointestinal disorders, renal disorders, or protein metabolism disorders are covered.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Dietary guidelines, Nutrition

Toggle Details

Smith DR, Cohen J, Lautman B. n.d.. Child's play: A study of 266 unintentional handgun shootings of children. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 6 pp.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org

Keywords: Children, Data, Firearms, Handguns, Injury prevention, Mortality, Surveys, Unintentional injuries

   |   

 

Page 1 of 829

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search