[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Community programs

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 1245 found.
Toggle Details

Pennsylvania Department of Health. n.d.. Local governance leads to strong families and strong communities. Harrisburg, PA: Pennsylvania Department of Health, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/department_of_health_home/17457 Price unknown.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Toggle Details

Illinois Department of Public Health. n.d.. Families with a Future: The infant mortality reduction initiative. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This memorandum and its accompanying brochure briefly describe a statewide initiative, the Families with a Future (FWF) program. Six state agencies, who are coordinating new and expanded programs which include both medical and nonmedical approaches to the problem of high infant mortality, are involved. This statewide program, initiated in 1985, includes marketing efforts to reach the high-risk target population, medical services for all pregnant women, adolescent health promotion programs in the school, and other such services. In addition, there is a targeted network approach which involves 16 community service networks in 31 target areas. These networks offer comprehensive care to infants, high-risk pregnant women, and those at risk for becoming pregnant.

Keywords: Community health services, Infant mortality, Infants, Medicaid, Morbidity, Perinatal care, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Public health programs, State MCH programs

Toggle Details

Illinois Department of Public Health. n.d.. Families with a Future program. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, and its accompanying memorandum, describes a statewide initiative that offers comprehensive care to infants, high-risk pregnant women, and those at risk for becoming pregnant.

Keywords: Community health services, Infant mortality, Infants, Medicaid, Morbidity, Perinatal care, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Public health programs, State MCH programs

Toggle Details

Boston Department of Health and Hospitals, Health Promotion Program for Urban Youth, Violence Prevention Project. n.d.. Violence prevention project. Boston, MA: Boston Department of Health and Hospitals, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes the Violence Prevention Project of the Health Promotion Program for Urban Youth, an outreach and education effort directed toward primary and secondary prevention of interpersonal violence among adolescents. The project's community-based intervention consists of four major activities—community education and technical assistance, clinical treatment services, networking of secondary prevention service providers, and a mass media campaign. Materials developed through the project include a program description, a list of promotional materials, one brochure describing the Violence Prevention Project, another brochure entitled "Friends for Life: Don't Let Friends Fight," tee shirts, posters, and 30-second public service announcements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Department of Health and Hospitals, Violence Prevention Project, Adolescent Wellness Program, 1010 Massachusetts Avenue, Second Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 534-5395 Secondary Telephone: (617) 534-9799 Fax: (617) 534-9799 Web Site: http://www.bphc.org/ Out of print.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Community based programs, Conflict resolution, Health education, Injuries, Injury prevention, Media campaigns, Peer groups, Public health, Public service announcements, Treatment, Urban population, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Services, Philadelphia Injury Control Section. n.d.. Philadelphia injury prevention program. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the activities of the Philadelphia Injury Prevention Program (PIPP). This community-based program was developed by the Philadelphia Department of Public Health in cooperation with the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. Elements of the project which are described in the report include the Safe Block Project, Data Surveillance Methods, the Citizen's Advisory Board for Injury Prevention, Violence Postvention Program, Injuries Resulting from Falls, the Violence Prevention Curriculum Program, the Pedestrian Injury Project, and Information Sharing Programs.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child abuse, Community based programs, Domestic violence, Falls, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Pedestrians, Suicide, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Ad Hoc Group Against Crime. n.d.. Ad Hoc Group Against Crime: A community's movement against crime, violence and drugs. Kansas City, MO: Ad Hoc Group Against Crime, 12 pp.

Annotation: This paper describes a Kansas City community group which formed to address the crime problem in their community. Projects include a reward fund for those who provide information about crime, conflict resolution training, and hotlines (witness hotline, drug abuse hotline, etc.).

Keywords: Blacks, Coalitions, Community programs, Conflict resolution, Crime, Drug use, Homicide, Kansas, Socioeconomic status, Urban population, Violence

Toggle Details

Chicago Breast Feeding Task Force. n.d.. Loving our children, loving ourselves: Mothers teaching mothers in Chicago's Breastfeeding, Peer Counselor Program. Chicago, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, Illinois WIC Program, Chicago Breast Feeding Task Force, and Best Start, 1 videotape (36 minutes, VHS).

Annotation: The opening portion of this 36 minute video features a description of the Chicago Breast Feeding Task Force's Breastfeeding, Peer Counselor Program, based at Cook County Hospital. The Administrative Director, Rachel Abramson, provides program details and a discussion of the statistics which gave rise to the program, showing that economically disadvantaged mothers tend not to breastfeed. The second portion of the film features interviews with peer counselors in the program, and the third portion features comments by members of the administrative team commenting on the management of the program.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Community health services, Hospitals, Model programs, Outreach, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Programs, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Project Enlightenment. n.d.. Project Enlightenment. Raleigh, NC: Wake County Public School System, Project Enlightenment, 32 pp., 8 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet describes Project Enlightenment, run by the Wake County, North Carolina Public School System. The project's services and facilities include consultation and training services, supplementary support services, a parent-teacher resource center, a demonstration preschool, and TALKline, a telephone service for parents, teachers, and child care workers. A separate brochure provides an overview of the main features of the project.

Contact: Wake County Public School System, Project Enlightenment, 501 South Boylan Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27603, Telephone: (919) 856-7774 Secondary Telephone: (919) 856-7800 Contact Phone: (919) 755-6935 Fax: (919) 508-0810 Web Site: http://projectenlightenment.wcpss.net/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Community programs, Early childhood education, Families, Parent education, Parent support services, Preschool children, Resource centers, Teachers, Volunteers

Toggle Details

Institute of Action Research for Community Health. n.d.. The citynet manual: Order form. Indianapolis, IN: Institute of Action Research for Community Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed for use by community people to improve the community's health. It provides guidance in implementing the CityNet-Healthy Cities process, which was developed in 1988 from the World Health Organization model. It covers how to get started, the healthy city committee, what you need to know, taking action, promoting healthy public policies, evaluation, keeping it going, and networking. Materials include questionnaires, slide shows, videotapes, samples of materials, and a bibliography.

Contact: Institute of Action Research for Community Health, 1111 Middle Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46202, Telephone: (317) 274-3470 Fax: (317) 274-4265 E-mail: nhoerger@iupui.edu Web Site: http://www.nursing.iupui.edu/international/iarch.shtml $1000 for communities, $2000 for corporations, $500 in conjunction with consultation/technical assistance.

Keywords: Community development, Community programs, Health promotion, Manuals, Public health

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. n.d.. TeamSpirit: A community-based youth leadership program to prevent the abuse of alcohol and other drugs. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 13 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet introduces community leaders to the TeamSpirit program, a substance abuse prevention program for high school youth. It describes what type of program TeamSpirit is, why communities need it, how it works, who are the participants, and how it can be started locally.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Contact Phone: (202) 366-2588 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Community programs, Program descriptions, Substance abuse prevention programs

   |   

 

Page 1 of 125

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search