[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Domestic violence

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 180 found.
Toggle Details

Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Services, Philadelphia Injury Control Section. n.d.. Philadelphia injury prevention program. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the activities of the Philadelphia Injury Prevention Program (PIPP). This community-based program was developed by the Philadelphia Department of Public Health in cooperation with the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. Elements of the project which are described in the report include the Safe Block Project, Data Surveillance Methods, the Citizen's Advisory Board for Injury Prevention, Violence Postvention Program, Injuries Resulting from Falls, the Violence Prevention Curriculum Program, the Pedestrian Injury Project, and Information Sharing Programs.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child abuse, Community based programs, Domestic violence, Falls, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Pedestrians, Suicide, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Great Expectations/Healthy Start. n.d.. Prenatal education curriculum. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations/Healthy Start, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This study guide consists of a series of brief training sessions on various aspects of prenatal and infant care. Curricula topics include the following: 1) anatomy and physiology of pregnancy; 2) breastfeeding; 3) alcohol, smoking, and drug abuse; 4) personal hygiene; 5) sexually transmitted diseases; 6) contraception/family planning; and 7) domestic violence. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Contraception, Curricula, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Great Expectations/New Orleans Healthy Start, Infant care, Infant health, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Prenatal nutrition, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance dependence, Training materials

Toggle Details

Great Expectations Foundation. n.d.. Prenatal curriculum. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations/Healthy Start, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This manual contains lesson plans, resource materials, and handouts for a prenatal curriculum. Lesson topics include anatomy and physiology of pregnancy; labor and delivery; care of the infant; nutrition, self esteem and domestic violence; substance abuse effects during pregnancy; and family planning. Each lesson plan includes objectives, suggested teaching aids (lists kits, models, charts, videos, and handouts), evaluation tools (pre and post test), estimated length of time for the class, and resource material. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Curricula, Domestic violence, Family planning, Fathers, Healthy Start, Infant care, Infant mortality, Infants, Labor, Louisiana, Nutrition, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Prevention, Self esteem, Sexually transmitted disease, Substance abuse

Toggle Details

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. n.d.. Psychosocial services and resources referral guide. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 60 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist obstetricians-gynecologists (ob-gyns) in referring women, particularly pregnant women, to programs that address psychosocial problems. It includes national and state contact information to resources on issues such as domestic violence, mental health, tobacco use, and publicly funded services that target low-income women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Directories, Domestic violence, Maternal health, Mental health, National programs, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Psychosocial factors, Referrals, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, State programs, Substance abuse

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2013-. Intimate partner violence (IPV): Knowledge path. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about preventing, identifying, and responding to intimate partner violence (IPV) within the home and the community. It is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, researchers, employers, and advocates. A separate brief lists resources for victims of abuse and their families. This knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths

Toggle Details

Mouden LD. 2013. The dental team's role in identifying and preventing family violence. Cincinnati, OH: Procter and Gamble Company, 19 pp.

Annotation: This continuing-education course provides information on the dental team’s role in identifying and preventing family violence. Topics include definitions, the problem, demographics, protocols, and local and state initiatives.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, 1201 Elm Street, Fourth Floor, Dallas, TX 75270, Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Continuing education, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Dental assistants, Domestic violence, Oral health, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2013. Intimate partner violence: Resources for victims and families (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find hotlines and web sites about domestic violence, including rape, abuse, incest, teen dating, legal counsel, and services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Battered women, Bibliographies, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Emotional abuse, Family relations, Family violence, Hotlines, Parent child relations, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse

Toggle Details

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. A comprehensive approach for community-based programs to address intimate partner violence and perinatal depression. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 143 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit highlights strategies and provides resources to help organizations address intimate partner violence and perinatal depression within their own communities. Topics include making the case, building and sustaining partnerships, raising awareness, developing cultural and linguistic competency, addressing policy, and implementing standards of care guidelines. Pre- and post-program assessment tools and links to national resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, Room 18-05, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-BABY (311-2229) Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Community programs, Depression, Domestic violence, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal health, Postpartum depression, Program evaluation

Toggle Details

Futures Without Violence. 2013. Health cares about IPV: Intimate partner violence screening and counseling toolkit. San Francisco, CA: Futures Without Violence,

Annotation: This toolkit offers resources to help health care professionals and others identify and support clients facing intimate partner violence. Contents include strategies for preparing a health care practice to start screening; screening and intervention approaches and tools; resources tailored to pediatric, adolescent, or reproductive health care settings; strategies and resources for domestic and sexual violence advocates; and promising practices from the field.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: info@futureswithoutviolence.org Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Advocacy, Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Family violence, Intervention, Physical abuse, Resources for professionals, Screening, Sexual abuse

Toggle Details

de Boinville M. 2013. Screening for domestic violence in health care settings. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Office of Health Policy, 14 pp. (ASPE policy brief)

Annotation: This brief presents the state of practice and research surrounding domestic violence screening. It discusses reasons for screening in health care settings, the current prevalence of screening and reasons this prevalence is relatively low, existing evidence about screening, and next steps toward ensuring that screening becomes an effective preventive service.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Abuse, Domestic violence, Prevention services, Primary care, Screening

   |   

 

Page 1 of 18

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search