[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Federal initiatives

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 268 found.
Toggle Details

Wayne State University, Merrill-Palmer Institute. n.d.. Project F.I.T.: Family-focused infant and toddler transagency training. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University, Merrill-Palmer Institute, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document for parents and professionals provides an overview of Project F.I.T., family-focused infant and toddler transagency training. This program was designed in response to P.L. 99-457, Part H, for the purpose of supporting professionals in their efforts to more fully understand and meet the needs of infants, toddlers, and their families. Service coordination and collaboration among professionals across agencies comprise a central emphasis in this training.

Contact: Merrill-Palmer Skillman Institute, Wayne State University, 71-A East Ferry , Detroit, MI 48202, Telephone: (313) 872-1790 Fax: (313) 875-0947 E-mail: mpsi@wayne.edu Web Site: http://mpsi.wayne.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Michigan, Part H, State initiatives, Training

Toggle Details

Child Welfare League of America. n.d.. The history of White House conferences on children and youth. Arlington, VA: Child Welfare League of America, 78 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on White House conferences on children and youth, beginning in 1909 and extending through 1970. A description of each conference is included.The report is primarily composed of multiple appendices that include supplementary documents pertaining to the conferences.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child advocacy, Children, Conferences, Federal initiatives, Government, History, Youth

Toggle Details

Consumer Product Safety Commission. n.d.. Crib Information Center. Bethesda, MD: Consumer Product Safety Commission, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for parents and other caregivers on creating a safe sleep environment for infants including bassinet, crib, and play yard safety. Resources include posters (Bare is Best and Keep Baby Safe in Play Yard Space), a safety guide (A Safer Generation of Cribs: New Federal Requirements), a 4-minute video (Learn How to Put Your Baby to Sleep Safely), and a 12-minute video (Safe Sleep for Babies). Links to guidance for businesses, news videos, recalls, a blog, and regulations are also provided.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: info@cpsc.gov Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Campaigns, Federal initiatives, Infant equipment, Multimedia, Safety, Sleep position

Toggle Details

Matthews H, Schmit S. 2014. What state leaders should know about Early Head Start. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This paper reviews key aspects of how the Early Head Start (EHS) program works. Each section includes topics for state leaders to consider, such as how other state systems relate to a particular aspect of EHS or what types of policy changes and partnership states could effect to ensure better coordination between EHS and other state programs.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Early Head Start, Federal programs, Infants, Leadership, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Systems development, Young children

Toggle Details

Gross BJ, Turner W, Machledt D. 2014. Advocate's guide to MAGI (upd.). Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 71 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Toggle Details

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2014. Medicaid: Demographics and service usage of certain high-expenditure beneficiaries. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 43 pp.

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO 14-176.

Keywords: Comparatives analysis, Economic factors, Factor analysis, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Population surveillance, Reports, States

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2014. Connecting the dots to improve birth outcomes: Key considerations and recommendations from a national meeting. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 32 pp.

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal initiatives, Health status disparities, Infant mortality, Interventions, Maternal mortality, Meetings, Prevention, State programs

Toggle Details

Santoro KL. 2014. Born too early: Improving maternal and child health by reducing early elective deliveries. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 10 pp. (NIHCM Foundation issue brief)

Annotation: This brief discusses the health risks and costs associated with early elective deliveries (EED),federal and national initiatives to support full-term pregnancies, and health plan and health plan foundation approaches to reducing EED. Topics include the potential negative health consequences of EED; average payments for maternal and newborn care and payment reform; and hospital, provider, patient, and member education initiatives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Costs, Federal initiatives, Foundations, Health education, Health plans, Induced labor, Intervention, National initiatives, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Reimbursement

Toggle Details

Birth to 5: Watch Me Thrive!. 2014. Birth to 5: Watch Me Thrive!. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families,

Annotation: This website describes a federal coordinated effort to encourage healthy child development,universal developmental and behavioral screening for children, and support for the families and providers who care for them. Contents include information about the importance of developmental and behavioral screening, the Compendium of Screening Measures for Young Children, and a list of accompanying guides tailored for use by early care and education providers, early intervention service and early childhood special education providers, families, primary care providers, communities, child welfare, home visitors, behavioral health providers, and housing and homeless shelter providers.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Early intervention services, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Infant development, Infants, Measures, Young children

Toggle Details

U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 2013-. Connecting kids to coverage national campaign: Outreach strategies and materials. [Baltimore, MD]: U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: http://cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

   |   

 

Page 1 of 27

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search