[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Florida

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 177 found.
Toggle Details

National Head Injury Foundation, Florida Association. n.d.. Florida Head and Spinal Cord Injury Program. Pompano Beach, FL: National Head Injury Foundation, Florida Association, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides an overview of the Head and Spinal Cord Injury (HSCI) Program in Florida, which provides all eligible residents who sustain a head or spinal cord injury equal opportunity to obtain the services they need to return to an appropriate level of functioning in their community. It includes a description of the services provided by the program, eligibility requirements, information on how the program is administered and funded, and contact information.

Contact: Brain Injury Association of America, Florida Office, 1621 Metropolitan Boulevard, Suite B, Tallahassee, FL 32308, Telephone: (850) 410-0103 Fax: (850) 410-0105 E-mail: biaftalla@biaf.org Web Site: http://www.biaf.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Florida, Head injuries, Special health care needs, Spinal cord injuries

Toggle Details

Panhandle Healthy Start Initiative. n.d.. Partners for a Healthy Baby mentoring and supervision curriculum. Tallahassee, FL: Panhandle Healthy Start Initiative, 9 pp.

Annotation: This document is an outline of the content and methodology of the mentoring and supervision curriculum used to train leadership individuals in home visiting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Florida Panhandle Healthy Start, 1339 East Lafayette Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301, Telephone: (850) 922-1300 Fax: (850) 922-1352 E-mail: mgraham@mailer.fsu.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Curricula, Florida, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Infants, Mentors, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Supervision, Training materials

Toggle Details

Dimperio D. n.d.. Interconceptional Support of Women at High Risk for Low Birthweight [Final report]. Gainesville, FL: North Central Florida Maternal and Infant Care Project, 36 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to reduce the incidence of low birthweight by improving the preconceptional health of women who were at high risk for delivering a low birthweight infant. High-risk women were identified at delivery and were followed for 2 years. Client services were then provided by community health workers, who made home visits and developed a risk reduction plan for each client. Intervention protocols were developed for each risk factor and involved referral to the appropriate resource, followup to ensure client compliance, and reinforcement of professional counseling or supplemental teaching. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-196848.

Keywords: Community-Based Health Services, Florida, High risk groups, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Indigent Patients, Infant Mortality, Intervention, Low Birthweight, WIC Program

Toggle Details

Florida Public Health Institute. 2014-. Oral health emergency room spending in Florida. Lake Worth, FL: Florida Public Health Institute, multiple items.

Annotation: This fact sheet series provides state- and county-level data and policy indicators for hospital emergency department (ED) use for preventable oral conditions in Florida. Contents include data on visits and charges, visits by payors and by age, charges by payor and by age, visits for young children, and average visits by day and time.

Contact: Florida Public Health Institute, 1622 North Federal Highway, Suite B, Lake Worth, FL 33460, Telephone: (561) 533-7909 Fax: (561) 533-7966 E-mail: http://www.flphi.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.flphi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Data, Dental caries, Florida, Health care utilization, Hospital emergency services, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, State surveys, Young children

Toggle Details

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2014. Foster children: Additional federal guidance could help states better plan for oversight of psychotropic medications administered by managed care plans. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 48 pp.

Annotation: This report updates the December 2011 report published by the U.S. Government Accountability Office on foster children in selected states that were prescribed psychotropic medications at rates higher than nonfoster children in Medicaid in 2008. The current report examines instances of foster children being prescribed psychotropic medications in the following five states: Florida, Massachusetts, Michigan, Oregon, and Texas. The report assesses the extent that documentation supported the use of psychotropic medications, describes states' policies related to psychotropic medication, and assesses the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' actions since GAO's 2011 report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-362.

Keywords: Drugs, Federal initiatives, Florida, Foster children, Massachusetts, Medicaid managed care, Mental health services, Michigan, Oregon, Policy analysis, State programs, Texas, Utilization review

Toggle Details

Hillsborough County [Community] Violence Prevention Collaborative. 2014. 2014-2015 strategic plan. [Tampa, FL]: Hillsborough County, 68 pp.

Annotation: [in process] This document outlines a public health approach to preventing violence in Hillsborough County, FL. Topics include national best practices and lessons learned for preventing violence, efforts to identify and prioritize risk and protective factors for decreasing community violence and increasing a sense of safety among youth in Hillsborough County, and successful intervention and enforcement strategies.

Contact: Hillsborough County, Community Violence Prevention Collaborative, County Center, 26th Floor, 601 E. Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL Telephone: (813) 274-6789 E-mail: vpc@hillsboroughcounty.org Web Site: http://www.hillsboroughcounty.org/index.aspx?NID=3222 Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health, County programs, Florida, Injury prevention, Law enforcement, Local initiatives, Protective factors, Public private partnerships, Risk factors, Safety programs, Strategic plans, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida. (2013). Safe infant sleep: Sleep right, sleep tight. Tallahassee, FL: Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida,

Annotation: This website provides information and resources from a campaign to educate new and expectant parents and others in Florida about safe infant sleep. Contents include a video for Healthy Start and Healthy Families home visitors, hospitals, birthing centers, doctors’ offices, and others; a 30-second public service announcement (PSA) for television and radio broadcast; a print ad; and four handouts to address specific parent-identified barriers to practicing safe sleep. The PSA and handouts are available in English, Spanish, and Creole.

Contact: Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida, 111 North Gadsden Street, Suite 200, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1507, Telephone: (850) 921-4494 Fax: (850) 921-9070 Web Site: http://www.ounce.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Campaigns, Florida, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Primary prevention, Public service announcements, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Figlio DN, Guryan J, Karbownik K, Roth J. 2013. The effects of poor neonatal health on children's cognitive development. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 55 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 18846)

Annotation: This paper discusses the results of a study on children born in Florida from 1992 to 2002, and the effect of birth weight on cognitive development from kindergarten through middle school. Study methodology is reviewed and results are discussed in the following categories: heavier versus lighter twins; testing; results by grade; differences by genetics, gender, maternal race, ethnicity and immigrant status; and family socioeconomic status. Topics also include birth weight discordance, school quality and the effect of birth weight on test scores, and birth weight gaps at kindergarten entry. A bibliography and statistical data conclude the paper.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the web site at no charge after registration.

Keywords: Cognitive development, Early childhood, Florida, Learning, Low birthweight, Newborn infants, School readiness, State surveys, Statistical data

Toggle Details

CityMatCH, Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, National Healthy Start Association, EveryWoman Southeast. 2013. Putting the life course concept into practice: Lessons from the Northeast Florida Healthy Start Coalition. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 video (60 min., 29 sec.). (A lifecourse theory to practice webinar)

Annotation: This webinar, broadcast June 6, 2013, discusses the life course theory and the capacity of the approach to address health inequalities for African American women as experienced by the Northeast Florida Healthy Start Coalition, The Magnolia Project. It also discusses strategies for integrating the life course approach into a community-based program, and describes challenges and opportunities to integrating this approach into daily practice.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Case studies, Florida, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Healthy Start, Life cycle, Women's health

Toggle Details

National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation. 2013. Community partnerships to prevent childhood obesity in Florida. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 2 pp. (Promising practices: women, children and adolescents)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about community partnerships in Florida working to prevent childhood obesity. The fact sheet focuses on the Embrace a Healthy Florida initiative, which addresses the causes of childhood obesity by collaborating with communities to engage in meaningful childhood obesity-prevention activities and programs. The fact sheet presents categories in which the initiative awards grants (research, practice, and policy) with a focus on the policy category and specifically highlights the community-engagement and grant-making process. Topics include building community capacity, leaders in community change, measuring success, community change, and lessons learned.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Communities, Florida, Grants, Initiatives, Leadership, Obesity, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public policy, Research

   |   

 

Page 1 of 18

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search