[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Legislation

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 1182 found.
Toggle Details

Child Care Law Center. n.d.. The Americans with Disabilities Act and child care: Information for parents. San Francisco, CA: Child Care Law Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure gives a brief overview of who is protected under the Americans with Disabilities Act, which child care programs must comply with the act, and what is expected of such child care providers.

Contact: Child Care Law Center, 221 Pine Street, Third Floor, San Francisco, CA 94104, Telephone: (415) 394-7144 Fax: (415) 394-7140 E-mail: info@childcarelaw.org Web Site: http://www.childcarelaw.org

Keywords: Child care, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Education, Federal legislation, Inclusive schools

Toggle Details

Bartel NR, Peckham VG, Radcliffe J. n.d.. Educational handbook for parents of preschool children with brain tumors. Philadelphia, PA: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 57 pp.

Annotation: This handbook is designed to help parents and caregivers of children with brain tumors and other neurological impairments act as facilitators in their child's development. Areas covered include attention and memory, communication skills, social-emotional considerations, and taking care of the caregivers. Appendices list movement activities, computer software for children, parent resources, and background information on the Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986 (P.L. 99-457).

Contact: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19104-4399, Telephone: (215) 590-1000 Web Site: http://www.chop.edu/consumer/index.jsp Price unknown.

Keywords: Brain tumors, Cancer, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986, Federal legislation, Learning activities, Preschool children

Toggle Details

East River Child Development Center. n.d.. Incorporating cultural diversity into policy development for P.L. 99-457 mandates. New York, NY: East River Child Development Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This assessment tool provides a mechanism for evaluating the degree to which culturally competent policies are incorporated into state Interagency Coordinating Council policies with reference to the Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986 (P.L. 99-457). For information concerning the use of the assessment tool, contact: Justine Strickland, East River Child Development Center, 577 Grand Street, New York, NY 10002. Telephone (212) 254-7300.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE023.

Keywords: Assessment, Children with special health care needs, Culturally competent services, Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986, Federal legislation, Policy development

Toggle Details

Handgun Control Inc., and Center to Prevent Handgun Violence. n.d.. We have a comprehensive program to combat gun violence. Washington, DC: Handgun Control, Inc., and Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 1 p.

Annotation: This poster provides an overview of the programs sponsored by the two organizations aimed at achieving their goal of reducing the number of gun-related injuries and deaths. The poster lists efforts in eleven different areas including state and federal legislation, law enforcement, media relations, public health outreach, and youth education, among others.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Policy development, Posters, State legislation

Toggle Details

Wayne State University, Merrill-Palmer Institute. n.d.. Project F.I.T.: Family-focused infant and toddler transagency training. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University, Merrill-Palmer Institute, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document for parents and professionals provides an overview of Project F.I.T., family-focused infant and toddler transagency training. This program was designed in response to P.L. 99-457, Part H, for the purpose of supporting professionals in their efforts to more fully understand and meet the needs of infants, toddlers, and their families. Service coordination and collaboration among professionals across agencies comprise a central emphasis in this training.

Contact: Merrill-Palmer Skillman Institute, Wayne State University, 71-A East Ferry , Detroit, MI 48202, Telephone: (313) 872-1790 Fax: (313) 875-0947 E-mail: mpsi@wayne.edu Web Site: http://mpsi.wayne.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Michigan, Part H, State initiatives, Training

Toggle Details

National Safety Council. n.d.. Safety belts save lives: Why every state needs an effective mandatory safety belt use law. Itasca, IL: National Safety Council, 2 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet promotes mandatory seat belt laws for all states. Arguments are presented in point form and cover three perspectives: 1) safety belts save lives and reduce injuries; 2) they reduce costs; and 3) safety belt laws are effective. It also provides features of an effective state seat belt law. Statistics obtained from federal sources provide information on seat belt use, motor vehicle crashes, and injuries.

Contact: National Safety Council, 1121 Spring Lake Drive, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 285-1121 Secondary Telephone: (800) 621-7619 Contact Phone: (202) 293-2270 Fax: (630) 285-1315 E-mail: info@nsc.org Web Site: http://www.nsc.org

Keywords: Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Seat belts, State legislation

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. n.d.. Child passenger protection laws. Washington, DC: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1 p.

Annotation: This single-sided fact sheet provides seat belt law information and penalties for each state. Ages of children for restraints and safety seats laws are given as are the penalties applied to drivers for infractions of restraint laws.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Contact Phone: (202) 366-2672 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov

Keywords: Car seats, Child safety, Seat belts, State legislation

Toggle Details

San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project. n.d.. Including all of us: Caring for children with special needs—A course for child care providers. San Diego, CA: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This manual was developed to accompany an introductory level course offered for 1/2 unit credit or no credit by Community College Child Development Programs in San Diego [California] County. The mainstreaming project was a three-year project funded by the Department of Health and Human Services, Maternal and Child Health Program. It addresses the questions of mainstreaming children with handicaps and who are children with special needs. The benefits of mainstreaming for parents, for children with special needs, for typically developing children, and for childcare providers are covered. Laws to protect children with special health needs are addressed, including special education laws and the Americans with Disabilities Act. Typical and atypical child development is explained. The ways in which children learn are also discussed. Suggestions for working with parents are included. A course evaluation/content evaluation is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 6505 Alvarado Road, Suite 108, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-4373 Available at no charge.

Keywords: Americans With Disabilities Act, Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Learning, Legislation, Mainstreaming, Parents, Special education

Toggle Details

San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project. n.d.. Including all of us: Caring for children with special needs in early childhood settings—Manual for child care providers. San Diego, CA: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 218 pp.

Annotation: This manual was developed to accompany an 8-hour class. It introduces the concept of mainstreaming and relates it to the principles of early childhood education and best practice guidelines for caring for children with special needs. Module one includes sections on the importance of working with families, ethical issues, laws protecting children with special needs, typical vs. atypical development, how children learn, suggestions for working with parents are included, and diversity resources. Module two deals with motor development and concludes with a bibliography and references. Module three covers social-emotional development and behavioral issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 6505 Alvarado Road, Suite 108, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-4373 Price unknown.

Keywords: Americans With Disabilities Act, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Families, Learning, Legislation, Mainstreaming, Motor development, Parents, Psychosocial development, Special education

Toggle Details

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Center for Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Maryland fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD). [Baltimore, MD]: Maryland Family Health Administration, Center for Maternal and Child Health, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information about fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD). It explains what FAS and FASD are and discusses prevention; children with FASD; probllems, concerns, and recommendations for individuals of all ages with FASD; treatment; and coping with FASD. A Maryland legislative update that establishes a statewide multimedia campaign to educate the public about FASD is also mentioned.

Contact: Maryland Family Health Administration, Center for Maternal and Child Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6713 Secondary Telephone: (800) 456-8900 Fax: (410) 333-5233 Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Child development disorders, Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coping, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Infant development, Infant health, Intellectual development, Legislation, Maryland, Physical development, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns

   |   

 

Page 1 of 119

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search