Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Massachusetts

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 206 found.
Toggle Details

Massachusetts Department of Public Health. n.d.. Violence prevention initiatives. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This directory lists violence prevention initiatives of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health. These include injury control, women's health, adolescent violence, school health, early intervention services, and statistical surveillance. Each of the 15 programs is described briefly and a contact person is listed, with telephone number.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph/

Keywords: Massachusetts, State programs, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Family Health Services. n.d.. SCIPP: Statewide comprehensive injury prevention program. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health,

Annotation: This former SPRANS grantee earmarked injury in Massachusetts and aimed to help state agencies to integrate injury prevention in ongoing state services. SCIPP developed an educational package containing five clusters for prevention activities; the entire package is entitled SAFESTATE. Cluster subjects are SAFEHOME, SAFECHILD, SAFE DAYCARE, SAFESCHOOL and SAFETEEN. Each kit contains administrative and programmatic materials, a leader's guide, suggested training, intervention ideas, and a variety of resource listings. Other products have included pamphlets, flyers on topics such as automobile child restraints and safety and residential tips.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5413 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 E-mail: cindy.rogers@state.ma.us Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+A+-+J&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_com_health_injury_g_ipcp_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Curricula, Data, Education, Evaluation, Injury prevention, Massachusetts, Population surveillance, Program development, Residential injuries, Resources for professionals, Schools, State programs

Toggle Details

Harty M, Horton K. 2013. Using Medicaid to advance community-based childhood asthma interventions: A review of innovative Medicaid programs in Massachusetts and opportunities for expansion under Medicaid nationwide. Washington, DC: George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, Department of Health Policy, Childhood Asthma Leadership Coalition, 13 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This report reviews community asthma interventions, describes new initiatives under way in Massachusetts to promote community-based asthma prevention for children, and discusses opportunities for state Medicaid programs to incorporate these interventions into Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program programs nationwide. The report also provides information about the prevalence and burden of childhood asthma and discusses existing Medicaid authority to increase community-based asthma intervention.

Contact: George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, Department of Health Policy, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Fax: (202) 296-0025 E-mail: sarar@gwu.edu Web Site: http://www.gwumc.edu/sphhs/departments/healthpolicy/index.cfm Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Intervention, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Community programs, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Prevention, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Bethel L. 2012. Targeted Oral Health Services Systems: Massachusetts' final project narrative. [Boston, MA]: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a project to increase access to oral health prevention and treatment services for children eligible for Medicaid and the State Children’s Health Insurance Program and other underserved children, including those with special health care needs. Topics include the development, implementation, and promotion of preventive oral health programs in school-based health centers; a restorative referral and case-management oral health program; and implementing the Massachusetts Oral Health Action Plan for children and adolescents with special health care needs. The report provides information on program accomplishments, program impact, and lessons learned. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Final reports, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, State initiatives, Young children

Toggle Details

Pond B, Lambert M, Viano M, Lambert L. 2012. Linking medical home and children's mental health: Listening to Massachusetts families. Boston, MA: Parent/Professional Advocacy League, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about linking the medical home and children's mental health services in Massachusetts. The report discusses the challenges that families with a child with mental health needs face, families' needs related to accessing and coordinating care, finding resources, and the role of schools.

Contact: Parent/Professional Advocacy League, 45 Bromfield Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (866) 815-8122 Fax: (617) 542-7832 E-mail: info@ppal.net Web Site: http://www.ppal.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, Massachusetts, Medical home, Mental health, School role, Service coordination, State programs

Toggle Details

Woods ER. [2011]. Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children: Community Asthma Initiative. (Boston, MA): Children's Hospital Boston, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Tomorrows Program in Boston, Massachusetts, to reduce the impact and burden of asthma on the lives of children and their families. Program elements include case management to ensure families have access to services they need; home visiting to asses environmental barriers and provide one-on-one education; and community education to increase the capacity of school personnel, health care, child care, and other providers of services to support families in asthma management. Report contents include a summary of project accomplishments, a description of barriers to progress and strategies to overcome them, progress on specific goals and objectives, project staffing, technical assistance needs, linkages established, future plans, and more. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Child health, Children, Families, Family support, Final reports, Healthy Tomorrows, Local MCH programs, Massachusetts

Toggle Details

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health. 2011. Dental sealants. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health,

Annotation: This resource provides information on dental sealant use, sealant programs, and related resources in Massachusetts. Contents include clinical recommendations; a description of the Massachusetts’ Department of Public Health’s school sealant program (MDPH-SEAL); fact sheets for health professionals, parents, and other caregivers in multiple languages; and radio public service announcements in English and Spanish. Additional documents and resources for use by public health dental hygienists are also available including a standing order template, a sample collaborative agreement, a consent form, and a supply list. Materials are available in English, Albanian, Chinese, Haitian Creole, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Children, Dental sealants, Forms, Massachusetts, Media campaigns, Non English language materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, School age children, School health programs, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services. 2011. Public health dental hygienist toolkit. [Boston, MA]: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health,

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources for dental hygienists in Massachusetts to expand opportunities for providing preventive oral health services in public health settings. Training resources include presentations on infection control, other documents and resources, evidence-based clinical recommendations for dental sealants and sealant programs and other sealant program resources, and an introduction to the state Medicaid program, MassHealth.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Public health dental hygienists, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Bauer AF. 2011. Disparities in food access and in opportunities for physical activity. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 2 pp. (Views from the field)

Annotation: This article discusses the causes for the rise in preventable chronic diseases, including obesity, type 2 diabetes, heart disease, stroke, and some cancers, in Massachusetts and across the country. The article also highlights some of the key factors that have produced this change and the parts of the population that are most affected. Topics include health access and outcomes in Massachusetts, Boston health data, access to and affordability of healthy food, opportunities for physical activity, and encouraging healthy behaviors.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 E-mail: http://www.gih.org/feedback2666/feedback.htm Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Diabetes mellitus, Food consumption, Health promotion, Income factors, Massachusetts, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Racial factors, Strokes

Toggle Details

Massachusetts Coalition for Oral Health. 2011. Reaching new heights in health with school-based oral health programs. [Boston, MA]: Massachusetts Coalition for Oral Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: This paper addresses the role of school-based oral health programs in improving the oral health of Massachusetts’ children by increasing access and removing barriers to care for all children. Topics include the prevalence of oral disease in children; preventing oral disease with community water fluoridation, topical fluoride, and dental sealants; the role of school health professionals; and types of school-based oral health programs. Additional topics include program types, billing for services, informed consent, client health records, referrals, infection control, and cessation of operation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Massachusetts Coalition for Oral Health, Telephone: (617) 735-1594 Contact Phone: (617) 735-1594 E-mail: becky.eden@mcphs.edu Contact E-mail: becky.eden@mcphs.edu Web Site: http://www.bu.edu/mcoh Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Disease prevention, Massachusetts, Oral health, Program descriptions, School age children, School based clinics, School health services, State initiatives

   |   

 

Page 1 of 21

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search