[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Mental health

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 1298 found.
Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d. . Tips to promote social-emotional health among young children. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote the social and emotional health of young children. It includes separate tips for parents, pediatricians, and early education and child care providers. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Child mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction, Young children

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d. . Tips to promote social-emotional health among teens. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides advice to help promote social and emotional health among adolescents. It includes separate tips for teenagers, parents, schools, and pediatricians. Links to additional resources produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent mental health, Emotional development, Health supervision, Social interaction

Toggle Details

Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies: The Montana Coalition. n.d.. Montana adolescent health status. Helena, MT: Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies: The Montana Coalition, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes information from 7th, 9th, and 12th grade students in randomly selected high schools in Montana who participated in an adolescent health survey during the 1988–89 school year. The report includes data on: demographics; educational plans; self-esteem/depression; eating disorders; seat belt/helmet use; AIDS knowledge; substance use; sexual activity; contraception; and sex education. A copy of the questionnaire is also included. The survey was co-sponsored by the Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies—Montana Coalition; the Montana Department of Health and Environmental Sciences; Montana Office of Public Instruction; the University of Washington; and the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.

Contact: Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies, Montana Coalition, 1235 Birch Avenue, Helena, MT 59601, Telephone: (406) 449-8611 Fax: (406) 449-3703 Web Site: http://hmhb-mt.org/index.php $10.00, check made payable to Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent medicine, Contraception, Eating disorders, Education, Epidemiology, Health screening, Health surveys, Mental health, Safety, Sexual behavior, Substance use

Toggle Details

Illinois Department of Public Health. n.d.. Parents too soon school-based clinic projects FY89. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report describes three school-based clinic projects funded by Parents Too Soon. The purpose of the clinics is to improve the overall physical and emotional health of students by promoting health life styles and providing available and accessible health care when it is needed. The projects are located in East St. Louis, Kankakee, and Chicago.

Contact: Parents Too Soon, 535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 782-0554 Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Mental health, School based clinics

Toggle Details

Arkansas Department of Health. n.d.. School health survey. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Department of Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: The Arkansas Department of Health developed this survey as a tool for evaluating health services for students and for determining the health needs of each school. This 30-minute survey appraises access to and the use of services in the following areas: substance use and mental, reproductive, and physical health. Students either checked, circled, or briefly answered questions.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Arkansas, Mental health, School health services, Sexual health, State surveys, Substance abuse

Toggle Details

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. n.d.. Helping children now: A generation at risk, mental illness and strategies for intervention. Washington, DC: American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 8 sheets.

Annotation: This folder contains eight sheets. The first explains how children are diagnosed and receive treatment for mental disorders. Topics covered on subsequent sheets are substance abuse, adolescent pregnancy, school failure, juvenile delinquency, AIDS, and inadequate child care.

Contact: American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 3615 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20016-3007, Telephone: (202) 966-7300 Fax: (202) 966-2891 E-mail: communications@aacap.org Web Site: http://www.aacap.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Children, Mental health

Toggle Details

Manisses Communications Group. n.d.. Psychoeducation handouts: Children and their parents. Providence, RI: Manisses Communications Group, 16 pp.

Annotation: This set of 12 reprint articles from "The Brown University Child and Adolescent Behavior Letter" address a variety of issues in building child and adolescent self-esteem. Topics covered include helping children adjust to a new school, identifying drug use, and evaluating television programs. The set includes bibliographies of books on handling anger and understanding death. Purchasers are granted permission to photocopy the reprints.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Mental health, Parenting skills, Self esteem

Toggle Details

Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development. n.d.. Waisman Center training tape. Madison, WI: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, 1 videotape (90 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape for training health care professionals examines topics important to treating children with special health needs. It contains five parts, entitled Leadership, Care Coordination, Interdisciplinary Teaming, University Affiliated Programs, and Overview of Mental Retardation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1500 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI 53705-2280, Telephone: (608) 263-5776 Secondary Telephone: (608) 263-1656 Fax: (608) 263-0529 Web Site: http://www.waisman.wisc.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children with special health care needs, Health professionals, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership training, Mental retardation, Professional education, University affiliated programs, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Lee AR, Ross CP. n.d.. Suicide in youth and what you can do about it: A guide for students. Burlingame, CA: Suicide Prevention and Crisis Center of San Mateo County, 5 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet was developed for students to increase their awareness and knowledge about adolescent suicide prevention. It contains information on suicide warning signs and suggestions for getting help for adolescents thinking about suicide or showing signs of being suicidal.

Contact: American Association of Suicidology, , 5221 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Second Floor, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (202) 237-2280 Contact Phone: (303) 692-0985 Fax: (202) 237-2282 E-mail: info@suicidology.org Web Site: http://www.suicidology.org $7.50 for package of 25 plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Make check payable to AAS or pay by credit card.

Keywords: Adolescents, Mental health, Students, Suicide, Youth

Toggle Details

University of Guam, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. n.d.. Project Micro-cope: Self esteem, decision making, values identification, assertiveness. Mangilao, GU: University of Guam, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help teach students in kindergarten through sixth grade various life skills such as self-esteem, good values, dealing with feelings, assertiveness, and decision making. Most sections lists some objectives, purposes, or procedure for the teacher and several different exercises for students.

Contact: University of Guam, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, UOG Station, Mangilao, GU 96923, Telephone: (671) 735-2000 Fax: 671-734-6842 Web Site: http://www.uog.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent mental health, Assertiveness, Child development, Child mental health, Curricula, Decision making, Decision making skills, Life skills, Self esteem

   |   

 

Page 1 of 130

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search