[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Model programs

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 576 found.
Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. n.d.. Prenatal care: A window of opportunity. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Child Development, 1 videotape (16 minutes, VHS).

Annotation: This educational videotape addresses the need for prenatal care among economically disadvantaged women. Model prenatal care programs across the country are highlighted.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC085.

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Audiovisual materials, Model programs, Poverty, Videotapes

Toggle Details

New York State Department of Health, Center for Community Health, Division of Epidemiology, Injury Control Program. n.d.. Violence prevention demonstration projects: Project summaries. Albany, NY: New York State Department of Health, Injury Control Program, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report summaries of five model programs in violence prevention supported by the New York State Department of Health. Several programs focus on training for youth and parents. Other topics addressed include mentoring, community service, mediation, conflict resolution, and rape crisis services.

Keywords: Model programs, New York, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Chicago Breast Feeding Task Force. n.d.. Loving our children, loving ourselves: Mothers teaching mothers in Chicago's Breastfeeding, Peer Counselor Program. Chicago, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, Illinois WIC Program, Chicago Breast Feeding Task Force, and Best Start, 1 videotape (36 minutes, VHS).

Annotation: The opening portion of this 36 minute video features a description of the Chicago Breast Feeding Task Force's Breastfeeding, Peer Counselor Program, based at Cook County Hospital. The Administrative Director, Rachel Abramson, provides program details and a discussion of the statistics which gave rise to the program, showing that economically disadvantaged mothers tend not to breastfeed. The second portion of the film features interviews with peer counselors in the program, and the third portion features comments by members of the administrative team commenting on the management of the program.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Community health services, Hospitals, Model programs, Outreach, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Programs, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Bogenschneider K, Small S, Riley D. n.d.. An ecological, risk-focused approach for addressing youth-at-risk issues. Chevy Chase, MD: National 4-H Center, 24 pp.

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: info@fourhcouncil.edu Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors

Toggle Details

Caring Program for Children. n.d.. Replication review. [Pittsburgh, PA]: Caring Program for Children, frequency unknown.

Annotation: This newsletter highlights efforts to replicate the Caring Program for Children in locations outside of western Pennsylvania were it originated; the program is a public-private partnership which provides primary health care to uninsured children who do not qualify for Medicaid coverage. The first issue of the newsletter contains articles on the 20th replication of the program in California, the role of improving children's access to health care and their health status as components of successful replications, and the expansion of the caring program to include oral health and to provide services for children with chronic illnesses. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Corporate programs, Insurance, Local MCH programs, Medical assistance, Models, Newsletters, Primary care, Public private partnerships

Toggle Details

Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health. n.d.. Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health. Minneapolis, MN: Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes plans for the Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health, a collaborative legislative initiative of the schools of medicine, public health, and nursing at the University of Minnesota. It describes current threats to adolescent health and efforts the institute will undertake to establish an education exchange between Minnesota youth-serving communities and the university and its students.

Contact: Konopka Institute for Best Practices in Adolescent Health, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Adolescent Health and Medicine, University of Minnesota, 717 Delaware Street SE, Third Floor West, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2959, Telephone: (612) 625-7137 Secondary Telephone: (800) 276-8642 Fax: (612) 626-2134 E-mail: konopka@umn.edu Web Site: http://www.konopka.umn.edu/

Keywords: Adolescent health, Information services, Model programs, Social services, Training

Toggle Details

Center for Mental Health in Schools. n.d.. Technical assistance sampler on: Using technology to address barriers to learning. Los Angeles, CA: Center for Mental Health in Schools, 75 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the use of technology to overcome barriers to learning. Topics include information systems management, multimedia aids to facilitate intervention, in situ and distance learning, and model programs and guides. A list of additional references is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: smhp@ucla.edu Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Barriers, Education, Information systems, Intervention, Learning, Mental health, Model programs, Technology

Toggle Details

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health. 2014. Best practices for comprehensive tobacco control programs. [Atlanta, GA]: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 141 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to help states plan and establish comprehensive tobacco control programs. It describes an integrated programmatic structure for implementing interventions proven to be effective and provides the recommended level of state investment to reach these goals and to reduce tobacco use in each state. On the basis of evidence of effectiveness documented in the scientific literature and the experiences of state and local programs, the guide identifies the most effective population-based approaches with the following overarching components: state and community interventions, mass-reach health communication interventions, cessation interventions, surveillance and evaluation, infrastructure administration and management.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-79, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Comprehensive programs, Intervention, Model programs, Population surveillance, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Program management, Public health infrastructure, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco

Toggle Details

Solomon-Fears C. 2014. Teenage pregnancy prevention: Statistics and programs. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report provides statistics on teen pregnancy and births in the United States from 1950-2012, together with information on federal strategies and programs to reduce teen pregnancies. It reviews trends at both the state and national levels; discusses the financial and social costs of teen births; and discusses reasons for the fluctuation in adolescent birth rates over time. The report also describes federal strategies to reduce teen pregnancy during FY1998-FY2014 and includes descriptions of current federal pregnancy prevention programs. In conclusion, the report discusses evidence-based models based on evaluations of teen pregnancy prevention programs

Contact: Federation of American Scientists, 1725 DeSales Street, NW, Suite 600, Washington , DC 20036-4413, Telephone: (202) 546-3300 E-mail: fas@fas.org Web Site: http://www.fas.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Birth rates, Federal programs, Model programs, Pregnancy prevention, Reports, Statistics, Trends

Toggle Details

California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative Preeclampsia Task Force. 2014. Preeclampsia toolkit: Improving health care response to preeclampsia–A California toolkit to transform maternity care. Stanford, CA: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to guide and support health professionals and others working in clinics, hospitals, and other health care settings develop methods within their facilities to recognize and respond to preeclampsia. Contents include care guidelines in checklist, flowchart, and table chart formats; a compendium of 18 best practice articles; a slide set for professional education; and educational material for pregnant women and their families.

Contact: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, Stanford University Medical School Office Building, 1265 Welch Road, MS 5415, Stanford, CA 94305, Telephone: (650) 725-6108 Fax: (650) 721-5751 E-mail: main@cmqcc.org Web Site: http://www.cmqcc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Guidelines, Model programs, Perinatal care, Preeclampsia, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals

   |   

 

Page 1 of 58

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search