[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Monitoring

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 134 found.
Toggle Details

University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, North Carolina Migrant Project. n.d.. Growth chart for ... . Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, North Carolina Migrant Project, 2 pp.

Annotation: These two pamphlets present growth data for boys and girls from birth to age 5. Addressed to mothers, they include a table to record height and weight at each doctor's visit, and a graph on which the child's growth can be plotted. The graph also shows the 10th to 90th NCHS growth percentiles as a shaded region. The text is in both English and Spanish. The child's name can be filled in to complete the title. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child development, Growth charts, Growth monitoring, Infant development, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Clark D. n.d.. Dietary score: Assessment tools and instructions. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health , 20 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/contact_us.asp Web Site: http://www.idph.state.ia.us Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Toggle Details

Jee J, Nagarajan J. 2014. Identification and assessment of children and youth with special health care needs in Medicaid managed care: Approaches from three states. Portland, OR: National Academy for State Health Policy, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report describes approaches in three states (California, Michigan, and Minnesota) to identify and assess children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) in Medicaid managed care. Topics include identification and assessment of contract requirements; monitoring and quality improvement; and collaboration between Medicaid, health plans, Title V, and families. The report concludes with a discussion and promising practices for implementing Medicaid managed care for CYSHCN that emerged from the states studied.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Contract services, Families, Medicaid managed care, Monitoring, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Title V programs

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2012. Autism A.L.A.R.M.. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provided health professionals with basic information about the prevalence of It provides the surveillance and screening algorithm.

Contact: National Center for Medical Home Implementation, American Academy of Pediatrics Division of Children with Special Needs, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, P.O. Box 747, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Fax: (847) 228-7035 Web Site: http://www.medicalhomeinfo.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Developmental screening, Diagnosis, Monitoring, Referrals, Screening, Treatment

Toggle Details

Kim H, Yang M. 2012. Rhode Island Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System data book. Providence, RI: Rhode Island Department of Health, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), 78 pp.

Annotation: This data book provides information on thirteen health topics regarding material behaviors and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy, using information from the Rhode Island Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The topics include unintended pregnancy, pre-pregnancy, obesity, prepregnancy multivitamin use, intimate partner violence, tobacco use, prenatal care, flu vaccination, human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) testing, perinatal depression, low birth weight, preterm birth, breastfeeding, and infant sleep position. The data book focuses on monitoring the prevalence of health problems over time and identifying groups at high risk for the problems. Figures throughout the book present statistics based on PRAMS survey data for 2004-2009.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 E-mail: http://www.health.state.ri.us/contactus Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Maternal health, Monitoring, Pregnancy, Rhode Island, Risk assessment, State initiatives, Statistics, Women

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities. 2012. Community report from the Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) Network: Prevalence of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) among multiple areas of the United States in 2008. Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, 44 pp.

Annotation: This report addresses the rise in the number of children diagnosed with autism and autism spectrum disorders (ASDs), how children are identified and served in local communities, and the need for accelerated research. Contents include defining ASDs, how many people have ASDs, what is the Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) network, results of monitoring and the prevalence of ASDs in national and state-by-state demographics, and how the data can be used. Additional information is provided on related topics and resources.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-87, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

Keywords: Surveillance, Autism, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Monitoring, National surveys, State surveys

Toggle Details

Adkins M, Frank S, Hawkins H, O'Neil ME, Stampfel C, Willilams L. 2012. Data-driven decisions: Using surveillance data to inform infant safe sleep programs. [Lansing, MI]: Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs, 4 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief describes how surveillance data, such as that collected through the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), can guide decision marking for programs, especially those related to infant sleep. The brief includes state-specific examples and use of PRAMS in informing programmatic change in safe sleep programs. The brief indicates which states participate in PRAMS and highlights data-supported infant safe sleep efforts in states such as Alaska, Michigan, and Florida. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs, , 1148 Hillside, Suite 10, Wichita, KS 67211, Telephone: (800) 930-7437 E-mail: aharvieux@aim.org Web Site: http://www.asip1.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Data collection, Injury prevention, Monitoring, Program development, SIDS, Sleep position, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Horchler JN, Rice R. 2011. SIDS and infant death survival guide: Information and comfort for grieving family and friends and professionals who seek to help them. (4th ed., rev. and upd.). Hyattsville, MD: SIDS Educational Services, 324 pp. (Continues: The SIDS Survival Guide)

Annotation: This book provides information for parents and other caregivers who have lost a child to sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Topics include a definition of SIDS, perspectives from experts, a brief review of research into a diagnostic test, a history of SIDS, and accounts by parents of their experiences. Additional topics include dealing with guilt and anger; grieving and bereavement; the grief of fathers, other siblings, and grandparents; the loss of an infant at the childcare provider's; advice for friends of parents who have lost an infant; planning a funeral and the role of the clergy; advice on grieving and moving forward; dealing with anniversaries and holidays; advice on peer contact and professional help; emergency medical responders and the authorities; and a subsequent baby and the question of home monitoring. Additional information is provided on guilt and risk reduction; dreams and premonitions; and more stories and poems from the experience of losing an infant. The appendices include national and international organizations that provide information, counseling, research data, and grants on SIDS and related topics as well as a bibliography and a suggested reading list. The 3rd edition is available in Spanish.

Contact: SIDS Educational Services, P.O. Box 2426, Hyattsville, MD 20784-0426, Telephone: (301) 322-2620 Fax: (301) 322-9822 E-mail: sidses@aol.com Web Site: http://www.sidssurvivalguide.org $16.05, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9641218-0-5.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child care, Clergy, Consumer education materials, Family support, Grandparents, Grief, Home monitoring, Infant death, Parent support services, Parents, Risk assessment, SIDS, Siblings, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 2011. Fetal heart rate monitoring during labor. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 8 pp.

Annotation: This patient education brochure discusses the use of fetal heart rate monitoring during labor and delivery. It explains why fetal rate monitoring is done, what different fetal rate patterns mean, and what types of fetal heart rate monitoring are used. Included are illustrations showing how the two different types of monitors (internal and external) work and a glossary of terminology.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Price per pack of 50 brochures: Member, $22.75; Non-members 25.50..

Keywords: Fetal monitoring, Patient education materials, Pregnancy, Risk management

Toggle Details

Duckworth K, Gruttadaro D, Markey D. 2010. What families should know about adolescent depression. (2nd. ed.). Arlington, VA: National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, 36 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about adolescent depression and treatment options. It introduces adolescent depression and its causes and symptoms and getting an accurate diagnosis. It then discusses treatment, including talk therapy and medications; risks and benefits of antidepressants, as well as family history and treatment. Risk of suicide is also presented, creating good monitoring systems and safety plans, treatment research, and how to be an effective advocate for an adolescent with depression. The guide concludes with resources.

Contact: National Alliance on Mental Illness, 3803 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 100, Arlington, VA 22203, Telephone: (703) 524-7600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 950-6264 Fax: (703) 524-9094 E-mail: info@nami.org Web Site: http://www.nami.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Antidepressant drugs, Cognitive therapy, Consumer education materials, Depression, Families, Monitoring, Parents, Safety, Treatment

   |   

 

Page 1 of 14

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search