[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Outcome evaluation

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 173 found.
Toggle Details

Kearney MS, Levine PB. 2014. Media influences on social outcomes: The impact of MTV's 16 and pregnant on teen childbearing. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 43 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 19795)

Annotation: This paper explores the impact of a reality television series, MTV's 16 and Pregnant, on adolescent attitudes and outcomes. Contents include background information on the show's content and previous research on the impact of media exposure; a description of the data including Nielson ratings, Google trends, and Twitter activity; a descriptive analysis of adolescents' exposure to the show; and analyses of high frequency data on searches and tweets and data on adolescent births. Topics include changes in searches and tweets, geographic variation in viewership, and changes in adolescent birth rates.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org $5.

Keywords: , Abortion, Adolescent attitudes, Attitude change, Behavior modification, Contraception, Economic factors, Health behavior, Interactive media, Media, Outcome evaluation, Sexual behavior

Toggle Details

Dougherty RH, Strod D. 2014. Building consensus on residential measures: Recommendations for outcome and performance measures. Lexington, MA: DMA Health Strategies, 18 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This paper reviews efforts to promote consensus on outcome and performance measures and youth/family outcomes for residential programs for youth and families. The paper summarizes various instruments that have been tested, identifies measurement strategies for child and family serving systems and residential programs to implement, presents a proposed core set of measures, and outlines steps to be taken in a consensus-building process for review of the measures.

Contact: DMA Health Strategies, 9 Meriam Street, Suite 4, Lexington, MA 02420, Telephone: (800) 814-7802 E-mail: mail@dmahealth.com Web Site: http://www.dmahealth.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care systems, Measures, Outcome evaluation, Residential care, Residential facilities, Residential programs, Service delivery systems

Toggle Details

National Institutes of Health. 2013. Patient Reported Measurement Information System (PROMIS). Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This system provides clinicians and researchers access to validated adult- and child-reported (self-reported) measures of health and well–being. Contents include tools to measure what clients are able to do and how they feel by asking questions. Information about the system methodology (publications and presentations, data, review, and testing); software; and related resources is also included.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: NIHInfo@OD.NIH.GOV Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinics, Forms, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Quality assurance, Questionnaires, Research, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Toggle Details

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. A comprehensive approach for community-based programs to address intimate partner violence and perinatal depression. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 143 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit highlights strategies and provides resources to help organizations address intimate partner violence and perinatal depression within their own communities. Topics include making the case, building and sustaining partnerships, raising awareness, developing cultural and linguistic competency, addressing policy, and implementing standards of care guidelines. Pre- and post-program assessment tools and links to national resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, Room 18-05, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-BABY (311-2229) Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Community programs, Depression, Domestic violence, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal health, Postpartum depression, Program evaluation

Toggle Details

Pew Center on the States, Home Visiting Campaign. 2013. Overcoming common evaluation challenges. [Philadelphia, PA]: Pew Center on the States, Home Visiting Campaign, 1 video (59 min., 32 sec.).

Annotation: This webinar presentation, broadcast April 9, 2013, describes how evaluations are critical in verifying that home visiting programs are delivering on the promises of improved outcomes for children and families and wise use of dollars. It highlights common challenges encountered in the evaluation process and provides examples of successful approaches to overcoming evaluation challenges. Examples are provided from the Michigan Maternal Infant Health Program evaluation strategy and considerations for effectiveness evaluation of MCH home visiting programs in the current landscape of expansion in the Nurse-Family Partnership Program in Pennsylvania.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: info@pewtrusts.org Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website, after registration.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Case studies, Child health, Evaluation methods, Family support services, Home visiting, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Outcome evaluation, Program evaluation

Toggle Details

Lawner EK, Terzian MA. 2013. What works for bullying programs: Lessons from experimental evaluations of programs and interventions. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report synthesizes findings from experimental evaluations of 17 bullying programs for children and adolescents. Topics include how frequently these programs work to improve the outcomes of physical and verbal bullying, social and relational bullying, bullying victimization, attitudes toward bullying, and being a bystander of bullying.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescents, Attitude change, Behavior modification, Bullying, Children, Community programs, Outcome evaluation, Program evaluation

Toggle Details

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 2013. 2012 impact report: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a retrospective look at the work of the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition (HMHB) in 2012. Contents include program spotlights, donor recognition, a financial summary, and information about HMHB leadership. Topics include partnerships, premature infant health, perinatal nutrition, using technology and new media for maternal and child health, and oral health education.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Coalitions, Fiscal management, Health education, Infants, Leadership, MCH programs, Mass media, Nutrition, Oral health, Outcome evaluation, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Prematurity, Technology, Women

Toggle Details

Los Angeles County Public Health Department . 2013. Hospital practices: Can they impact breastfeeding?. Los Angeles, CA: Los Angeles County Public Health Department , 8 pp. (LA health)

Annotation: This report presents findings from the 2011 Los Angeles County Health Survey (LACHS) of breastfeeding-related hospital practices and explains how hospital practices can influence breastfeeding outcomes and how breastfeeding benefits both mothers and babies. It also provides a 10-step breastfeeding initiative for hospitals; lists the Healthy People 2020 goals for breastfeeding; and presents statistics from the LACHS on hospital practices and breastfeeding initiation and duration based on the mothers' age, race and ethnicity, education, and poverty level.Included are recommended actions for mothers and families, cities and communities, the health care community, employers, and policy makers. A summary of what Los Angeles County has been doing to advance breastfeeding in hospitals is also provided.

Contact: Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, 313 North Figueroa Street, Room 127, Los Angeles, CA 90012, Telephone: (213) 240-7785 Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Hospital programs, Hospitals, Outcome evaluation, Statistics, Surveys

Toggle Details

Clemmons N, Friedrich S, Segar H, Sprangers K. 2013. Impact evaluation of the state implementation grants for integrated community systems for children with special health care needs: Classes of 2008, 2009, 2011. Boston, MA: John Snow, Inc., 24 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the first three cohorts of the Maternal Child Health Bureau’s State Implementation Grant Program grantees’ accomplishments and highlights strategies which catalyze changes that yield the greatest system improvements, based on an evaluation of the program in 28 states, the District of Columbia, and the Navajo Nation. Examples of promising or best practices are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: John Snow, Inc., 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1211, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: (617) 482-0617 E-mail: jsinfo@jsi.com Web Site: http://www.jsi.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health care systems, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Service delivery systems, Service integration, State MCH programs

Toggle Details

Dorn S. 2012. The future of Healthy Families: Transitioning to 2014 and beyond. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 13 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief summarizes research examining the potential impact of moving children currently receiving health coverage through California’s Healthy Families Program into Medi-Cal or the California Health Benefit Exchange. The research (commissioned by the 100% Campaign, a collaborative effort of Children Now, The Children’s Partnership, and Children’s Defense Fund-California) examines various scenarios for the future of Healthy Families and makes recommendations on which of the children in that program (based on income levels) should be moved into Medi-Cal. The brief includes a discussion of the advantages and disadvantages for low-income children in each of four scenarios, and suggests policy directions based on the findings.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Children, Low income groups, Outcome evaluation, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State programs

   |   

 

Page 1 of 18

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search