[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Physical activity

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 338 found.
Toggle Details

President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports. n.d.. Kids in action: Fitness for children 2-17. Washington, D. C.: President's Council on Physical Fitness and Health, 17 pp.

Annotation: This booklet, written for parents and older children, gives hints to parents on how to encourage their child to eat well and to enjoy exercising. It gives exercises for ages two to six and seven to seventeen to promote flexibility, strength, and endurance. It also tells how to prepare for the two President's Challenge tests, and lists the standards for the 50th and 85th percentile in curl-ups, shuttle run, one-mile run, pull-ups, flexed arm hang, and V-sit reach.

Contact: President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports, Department W, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 738-H, Washington, DC 20201-0004, Telephone: (202) 690-9000 Fax: (202) 690-5211 Web Site: http://www.fitness.gov

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Exercise, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Sports medicine

Toggle Details

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. n.d.. Mi futuro será brillante: Actividad física y alimentación saludable—para mujeres adultas. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00208.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health and Society for the Advancement of Women's Health Research. n.d.. Get real: Stratight talk on women's health [video kit]. Washington, DC: U. S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women's Health, 12 items.

Annotation: This kit, which is designed to help improve the health of young women, is meant to be used as a tool for raising awareness on campuses about a broad spectrum of women's health issues. The kit consists of a 27-minute videotape, a facilitator's guide, fact sheets, and promotional posters. Topic include alcohol abuse and dependence, cancer, depression, contraception and sexually transmitted diseases, eating disorders, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, nutrition and exercise, osteoporosis, panic disorder, sexual harassment and violence, smoking, and substance abuse and dependence.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: AIDS, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol dependence, Audiovisual materials, Cancer, Contraception, Depression, Eating disorders, HIV, Heart diseases, Nutrition, Osteoporosis, Panic disorder, Physical activity, Sexual harassment, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance dependence, Videotapes, Violence, Women's health, Young women

Toggle Details

James Madison University Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services. n.d.. Health Bites. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources are designed to help families learn about good nutrition, physical activity, and other lifestyle choices. Topics include breastfeeding; weaning; oral health care for infants, toddlers, and preschool-age children; feeding younger infants, older infants, toddlers, and preschool-age children; junk food, snacks, and eating out; and picky eaters. Additional topics include oral health and nutrition during pregnancy, portion sizes, cooking, shopping, gardening, family mealtime, healthy weight, and weight loss. Contents include videos and games, as well as information on nutrition education credit for Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) participants.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Body weight, Consumer education materials, Continuing education, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Feeding, Health behavior, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Pregnant women, Toddlers

Toggle Details

Action for Healthy Kids. 2013. The learning connection: What you need to know to ensure your kids are healthy and ready to learn. Chicago, IL: Action for Healthy Kids, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the root causes of childhood overweight, revealing a strong link between nutrition, physical activity, and academic success. The report brings attention to the costs of poor nutrition and physical inactivity to schools.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: info@actionforhealthykids.org Web Site: http://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child health, Costs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Schools

Toggle Details

Association of State Public Health Nutritionists. 2013. Blueprint for nutrition and physical activity: Cornerstones of a healthy lifestyle (2nd ed.). Johnstown, PA: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, 24 pp.

Annotation: This document synthesizes guidance and recommendations on developing nutrition and physical activity interventions. The document describes six cornerstones that impact community well-being including access; collaboration; science, research, and evaluation; workforce; communication; and policy and advocacy. Accompanying strategies, actions, and resources are also provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 1001, Johnstown, PA 15907-1001, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (814) 255-6514 Web Site: http://www.ASPHN.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Intervention, Nutrition, Physical activity, Program planning

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2013. Physical activity in kids and teens: Resources for families (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This breif is designed to help families find websites and learn more about physical activity and kids and teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Exercise, Families, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Recreation, Special health care needs

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Agriculture and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2013. Nutrition and wellness tips for young children: Provider handbook for the Child and Adult Care Food Program. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture,

Annotation: This handbook is designed to help Child and Adult Care Food Program providers create healthier environments for the children in their care. It provides tip sheets for addressing wellness recommendations from federal dietary guidelines and health and safety standards on nutrition, active play, and limiting screen time that describe what programs should do and gives suggested activities. Also included are best practices, promotional materials about the handbook, and additional resources. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care workers, Guidelines, Model programs, Nutrition, Physical activity, Technical assistance, Young children

Toggle Details

National Center on Health. 2013. Fostering a culture of health and wellness for Head Start children, families and staff. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: National Center on Health, 13 items.

Annotation: This kit includes fact sheets for Head Start families and health managers on a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, safety and injury prevention, and healthy active living.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Office of Head Start, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 Web Site: http://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc Available from the web site.

Keywords: Asthma, Child health, Child safety, Children, Consumer education materials, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking

Toggle Details

Babey SH, Wolstein J, Krumholz S, Robertson B, Diamant AL. 2013. Physical activity, park access and park use among California adolescents. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 7 pp. (Healthy policy brief)

Annotation: This policy brief examines park access and park use by adolescents in California as a way to meet the recommendation that young people engage in 60 minutes of physical activity at least five days a week. The brief provides statistics on the number of California teens who fail to meet the physical activity guidelines, highlighting differences in behavior based on income and proximity to park facilities. The authors provide policy recommendations to invest in amenities and recreational programming at existing parks; develop agreements that allow community use of school grounds during off-hours, especially in low income neighborhoods; and target efforts to improve access and safety in low-income neighborhoods where there are few if any parks.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550 , Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: chpr@ucla.edu Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the web site.

Keywords: Adolescent health, California, Guidelines, Physical activity, Policy development, Program improvement, Recreational facilities, Recreational services, State surveys

   |   

 

Page 1 of 34

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search