[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Prevention

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 4581 found.
Toggle Details

Healthy Start for Essex County. n.d.. FRC's client satisfaction survey for maternity services. Trenton, NJ: Healthy Start for Essex County, 3 pp.

Annotation: This survey form provides an opportunity for clients to express their satisfaction level with services of the Healthy Start program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Consumer satisfaction, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, New Jersey, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Questionnaires

Toggle Details

Kendrick AS, Gravell J. n.d.. Family child care health and safety. St. Paul, MN: Toys 'n Things Press, 58 pp., 1 videotape (18:20 minutes, VHS).

Annotation: This booklet and videotape are designed to help parents make their homes safer for their children. It contains a checklist with a notes section that further describes the items on the checklist. It also has quick-reference resource pages to help parents with specific health and safety practices. It furthermore contains lists of health and safety resource agencies and of mail-order companies which sell safety devices.

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Audiovisual materials, Child care, Educational materials, Health and safety, Intervention, Prevention, Residential injuries, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Massachusetts Department of Public Health. n.d.. Violence prevention initiatives. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This directory lists violence prevention initiatives of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health. These include injury control, women's health, adolescent violence, school health, early intervention services, and statistical surveillance. Each of the 15 programs is described briefly and a contact person is listed, with telephone number.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph/

Keywords: Massachusetts, State programs, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Smith DR, Cohen J, Lautman B. n.d.. Child's play: A study of 266 unintentional handgun shootings of children. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 6 pp.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org

Keywords: Children, Data, Firearms, Handguns, Injury prevention, Mortality, Surveys, Unintentional injuries

Toggle Details

Dating Violence Intervention Project. n.d.. Teen dating violence. Cambridge, MA: Dating Violence Intervention Project, 32 pp.

Contact: Dating Violence Intervention Project, 649 Massachusetts Ave, Suite 6, Cambridge, MA 02139, Telephone: (617) 868-1650 Fax: (617) 868-1651 E-mail: dvip@transitionhouse.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Injury prevention, Intervention, Rape, Sexual assault

Toggle Details

Oregon State Health Division, Department of Human Resources, Immunization Unit. n.d.. Immunization: Protection for every child. Portland, OR: Oregon State Health Division, Immunization Unit, 5 pp.

Annotation: This kit, given at Oregon hospitals to all new parents at the time of birth of their baby, provides information about the importance of immunizations for children, the diseases that they are designed to prevent, and the recommended vaccination schedule. The kit includes a folder, a booklet, a card for recording the immunizations, and two forms for ordering birth certificates and other vital records.

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Immunization, Medical records, Young children

Toggle Details

Resource Center, Young Parents' Program; and Junior Service League of Grand Junction. n.d.. Pregnancy: It'll never happen to me. Grand Junction, CO: Resource Center, Young Parents' Program, 1 videotape (26 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch), 1 guide (75 pp.).

Annotation: This videotape and the corresponding teacher's guide are designed to be used with adolescents to encourage them to think about the impact that an adolescent pregnancy will have on their lives. The teacher's guide describes the course organization, includes lesson plans, and a glossary and list of resources. Topics covered include medical risks involved in pregnancy, pregnancy prevention, economic ramifications of adolescent pregnancy, the role of the adolescent father, adolescent development, and refusal skills.

Contact: Family First Child and Family Center, 2897 North Avenue , Grand Junction, CO 81501, Telephone: (970) 683-2634 E-mail: corpinfo@htop.org Web Site: http://www.htop.org/child/ff/ $43.95 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent pregnancy, Communication skills, Educational materials, Family economics, Intervention, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk factors

Toggle Details

National AIDS Exhibit Consortium. n.d.. National AIDS Exhibit Consortium: Working together to promote understanding. Chicago, IL: Museum of Science and Industry, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes the National AIDS Exhibit Consortium (NAEC), a partnership of eight public science museums working together with the American Medical Association and the Centers for Disease Control to research, develop, and display HIV/AIDS education exhibits in their own institutions and in science museums around the country. The participating museums are: Museum of Science, Boston, Massachusetts, California Museum of Science and Industry, Los Angeles, California; Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago, Illinois; Exploratorium, San Francisco, California; Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; National Museum of Health and Medicine, Washington, DC; and New York Hall of Science, New York, New York. Current activities of the NAEC include the development of a traveling exhibit which will contain three interactive computer programs, HIV testing demonstrations, educational materials for students and teachers, host museum staff training, and exhibit brochures. Future activities include the professional evaluation of the exhibits and the implementation of an outreach program to expand the audience for museum-based exhibits.

Contact: Museum of Science and Industry, Department of Science, 57th Street and Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 684-1414 E-mail: contact@msichicago.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Educational programs, HIV, Prevention, School age children

Toggle Details

Northern Kentucky District Health Department. n.d.. Lead handouts. Newport, KY: Northern Kentucky District Health Department, 5 pp.

Annotation: This series of fact sheets for consumers discusses various aspects of lead poisoning prevention and treatment in children. Lead Poisoning in Children: A Community Problem explains the symptoms of lead poisoning, sources of lead, and what to do about lead poisoning. Lead Poisoning Diet discusses the importance of eating a diet adequate in iron and calcium and low in fat. Pica discusses the importance of high-iron and high-calcium snacks for children who have elevated blood lead levels or who practice pica.

Contact: Northern Kentucky Independent District Health Department, 610 Medical Village Drive, Edgewood, KY 41017, Telephone: (859) 341-4264 Fax: (859) 341-4264 Web Site: http://www.nkyhealth.org/mx/hm.asp?id=home Available at no charge.

Keywords: Lead poisoning, Nutrition, Prevention, Treatment

Toggle Details

New York State Developmental Disabilities Planning Council. n.d.. Mary's choice. Albany, NY: New York State Developmental Disabilities Planning Council, 1 videotape (VHS, 1/2 inch), 1 brochures (7 pp.).

Annotation: This video is designed for adolescents of childbearing age to encourage them to have prenatal care and healthy lifestyles so they can prevent their children from having developmental disabilities. It is also designed to give young people the chance to discuss alternatives to risk taking behaviors. The video is accompanied by a brief teaching guide that provides some background information, synopsis of the video, key points and objectives to be learned, and some discussion questions and activities. The video and teaching guide are also available in Spanish language versions.

Contact: New York State Developmental Disabilities Planning Council, 155 Washington Avenue, Second Floor, Albany, NY 12210, Telephone: (800) 395-3372 Secondary Telephone: (518) 486-7505 Fax: (518) 402-3505 E-mail: ddpc@ddpc.state.ny.us Web Site: http://www.ddpc.state.ny.us/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol education, Audiovisual materials, Developmental disabilities, Prevention programs, Risk taking, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Training materials, Videotapes

   |   

 

Page 1 of 459

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search