[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Racial factors

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 469 found.
Toggle Details

Damiano PC, Park KH, Robinson EL. 2014. Health disparities among children in Iowa: Results from the 2010 Iowa Child and Family Household Health Survey. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa Public Policy Center, 30 pp., plus tables

Annotation: This report presents findings from the 2010 Iowa Child and Family Household Health survey completed by parents of infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17. The report analyzes racial and ethnic health disparities and reports significant differences in the health status of Iowa's parents and children based on race and ethnicity. The report examines overall health status, oral health, and children with special health care needs (CSHCN). It also compares health insurance coverage; participation in a medical home; parental health and neighborhood characteristics; lifestyle and behavior (including screen time, nutrition, and physical activity); and issues such as access to care, preventive care, and behavioral and emotional health. Graphs provided throughout the report reflect disparities between Hispanic, White, African-American, and Asian and Pacific Island populations.

Contact: University of Iowa, Health Policy Research Program, Public Policy Center, 227 South Quadrangle, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: 319/335-6801 E-mail: peter-damiano@uiowa.edu Web Site: http://ppc.uiowa.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Data, Ethnic factors, Families, Health status disparities, Iowa, Racial factors, Reports, State initiatives, State surveys

Toggle Details

Brandeis University, Heller School for Social Policy and Management. 2014. diversitydatakids.org. Waltham, MA: Brandeis University, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, 1 v.

Annotation: This website provides information on the demographics of children and families in the United States, key factors that drive child outcomes, and issues of racial/ethnic socioeconomic equity in child health and wellbeing. Users can query, compare, and analyze data by race and ethnicity; compare data across states, metropolitan areas, counties, large cities, and large school districts; explore metropolitan area maps of the Child Opportunity Index; and obtain equity assessments of social policies affecting children. Fact sheets are also available.

Contact: Brandeis University, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, 415 South Street MS 035, Waltham, MA 02454-9110, Telephone: (781) 736-3820 Web Site: http://heller.brandeis.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Data, Neighborhoods, Racial factors, Social policy, Socioeconomic status, Statistics

Toggle Details

Leadership for Healthy Communities. 2014. Overweight and obesity among African American youths. Washington, DC: Leadership for Healthy Communities, 4 pp.

Contact: Leadership for Healthy Communities, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5112 E-mail: info@leadershipforhealthycommunities.org Web Site: http://www.leadershipforhealthycommunities.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Children, Ethnic factors, Obesity, Racial factors, Youth

Toggle Details

Leadership for Healthy Communities. 2014. Overweight and obesity among Latino youths. Washington, DC: Leadership for Healthy Communities, 5 pp.

Contact: Leadership for Healthy Communities, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5112 E-mail: info@leadershipforhealthycommunities.org Web Site: http://www.leadershipforhealthycommunities.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Obesity, Racial factors, Spanish language materials, Youth

Toggle Details

Highsmith K. [2013]. National Maternal Health Initiative: A comprehensive collaborative strategy. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 16 slides.

Annotation: This presentation provides information about a U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MHCB) national maternal health initiative. The presentation focuses on maternal morbidity in the United States. Topic include numbers of deaths, causes of death, risk factors; economic burden, MCHB's vision, the initiative's goals and priority areas, and guiding principles for a national health strategy.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, Room 18-05, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-BABY (311-2229) Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Costs, Maternal death, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, National initiatives, Prevention, Racial factors, Risk factors, Statistical data

Toggle Details

Addy S, Engelhardt W, Skinner C. 2013. Basic facts about low-income children. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty, various. (Fact sheets)

Annotation: This web site provides access to fact sheets with 2011 statistical data about children and adolescents who live in families with low incomes in the United States. Topics include parental employment, parental education, family structure and other variables that play an important role in predicting the likelihood that a child will endure economic hardship. The facts sheets are divided into five age groups of children: Under Age 3, Under Age 6, Ages 6 to 11, Ages 12 to 17, and Children Under 18. Additional information for previous years is provide on the web site along with additional information on parental nativity, food insecurity, English language proficiency, intergenerational mobility, and other topics.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: info@nccp.org Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Families, Geographic factors, Health insurance, Immigrants, Low income groups, Parents, Poverty, Racial factors, Statistical data, Trends

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2013. Health and health care for all: Resources for families (2nd. ed.). Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This brief presents resources for finding care, services and support and websites about health and health care for all families. Resources about the health of specific population groups are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Barriers, Bibliographies, Blacks, Cultural barriers, Electronic publications, Ethnic factors, Families, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Hispanic Americans, Hotlines, Minority groups, Racial factors, Women

Toggle Details

Isaacs J. 2013. Unemployment from a child's perspective. Washington, DC: First Focus and Urban Institute, 20 pp.

Annotation: This brief, which is part of a series of issue briefs examining he impact of the recession on children, examines unemployment from a child's perspective. It addresses the following questions: How many children are affected by parental unemployment? How does parental job loss affect children? Who are the children of the unemployed? Where do the children of the unemployed live? To what extent are families with children covered by unemployment insurance? The brief also reviews policies affecting the safety net for children of the unemployed.

Contact: First Focus, 1110 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 E-mail: http://www.firstfocus.net/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the web site.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent attitudes, Child attitudes, Child development, Child health, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Geographic factors, Health insurance, Low income groups, Parents, Poverty, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Statistical data, Unemployment

Toggle Details

Minnesota Department of Health. 2013. Infant mortality in Minnesota: A summary of statistics, activities, and past work group recommendations-Region V Infant Mortality Summit. [St. Paul, MN]: Minnesota Department of Health, 35 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a summit in March 2013 to address the infant mortality problem in Minnesota, particularly racial and ethnic disparities in infant mortality, and to lay a foundation for the development of a comprehensive plan by the Minnesota Department of Health and its partners to further reduce infant mortality. Section 1 provides an overview of infant mortality in Minnesota by putting into context the significant racial and ethnic infant mortality disparities that exist in the state. Sections 2 and 3 highlight infant mortality rates by selected infant and maternal characteristics. Section 4 addresses selected maternal behaviors linked to infant mortality such as smoking and alcohol consumption.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, Room 18-05, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-BABY (311-2229) Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Ethnic factors, Infant death, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Prenatal influences, Racial factors, Risk factors, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM). 2013. Report of the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM): Recommendations for Department of Health and Human Services action and framework for a national strategy. [Rockville, MD]: Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM), 74 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a plan to reduce infant mortality in the United States. The report includes an outline of strategic directions and recommendations, background on the problem of infant mortality in the United States, principles for a national strategy, and details related to six strategic directions for reducing infant mortality. Also discussed is information on services to improve women's health, birth outcomes, infant health, and infant survival; opportunities to decrease infant mortality through implementation of the Affordable Care Act; a crosswalk between an action plan to reduce racial and ethnic health disparities and recommendations to reduce infant mortality; and specific actions to increase breastfeeding.

Contact: Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/InfantMortality/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Infant health, Infant mortality, National programs, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Program development, Racial factors, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Women's health

   |   

 

Page 1 of 47

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search