[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Research reviews

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 100 found.
Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health and Family and Youth Services Bureau. 2014-. Teen pregnancy prevention evidence review. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 1 v.

Annotation: [in process] This website provides information and resources from an ongoing independent systematic review of the adolescent pregnancy prevention research to identify programs with evidence of effectiveness in reducing adolescent pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections, and associated sexual risk behaviors. The website includes information on study quality and program models that have demonstrated positive impacts on sexual risk behavior and sexual health outcomes. Contents include a searchable database of studies included in the review, information about the review process and how the review is conducted, publications written by the review team, answers to frequently asked questions, and contact information for the study team.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Health behavior, Literature reviews, Prevention programs, Program models, Research methodology, Risk factors, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2014. Screening for gestational diabetes mellitus. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This web site provides the current recommendation, evidence reports, clinical summaries, consumer fact sheet, and comparative effectiveness review for screening asymptomatic pregnant women after 24 weeks for gestational diabetes mellitus.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 E-mail: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/contact-uspstf/ Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant women, Screening

Toggle Details

Haring RC, Skye W, Battleson BL, Brings-Him-Back-Janis M, Teufel-Shone N. 2014. Teeth and heavyset kids: Intervention similarities between childhood obesity and oral health interventions within Native American societies. Journal of Indigenous Research 3(1):5, 22 pp.

Annotation: This systematic review and analysis identifies key intervention components and similarities of two prominent health disparities evident among Native and First Nations youth: obesity and oral health. Contents include historical background and information about the research methodology, data collection, and results. Topics include best practice techniques among intervention studies related to both oral health improvements and obesity prevention and treatment including the incorporation of culturally tailored activities with a focus on physical activity, family involvement in intervention planning, drinking and eating in good ways, and intervention length planning.

Contact: Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, 3000 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322-3000, Telephone: (435) 797-0816 Web Site: http://digitalcommons.usu.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, American Indians, Children, Cultural sensitivity, Intervention, Literature reviews, Model programs, Obesity, Oral health, Program planning, Research

Toggle Details

McLanahan S, ed. 2014. Helping parents, helping children: Two-generation mechanisms. The Future of Children 24(1):1-170,

Contact: Future of Children, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, Robertson Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544-1013, Telephone: (609) 258-2493 E-mail: http://www.futureofchildren.org/feedback2822/feedback.htm Web Site: http://www.futureofchildren.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9857863-2-8.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Family health, Intergenerational programs, Parents, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Research reviews

Toggle Details

Duncan GJ, Kirkendall NJ, Citro CF, eds; National Research Council and Institute of Medicine. 2014. The National Children's Study 2014: An assessment. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 147 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a Congressionally-mandated review of the design of the National Children's Main Study. Topics include the national probability sample's overall sample size and design, the use of hospitals and birthing centers as the primary sampling unit, relative size of the prenatal and birth strata in the probability sample, the size of the supplemental convenience sample, optimal use of sibling births, use of health care providers to refer prospective participants, proposed study visit schedule with emphasis on more frequent data collection in pregnancy and early childhood, proposed approach to assess health and developmental phenotypes, and proposed approach to define and characterize health disparities. Conclusions and recommendations, including information on logistical and resource constraints, are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Longitudinal studies, MCH research, National initiatives, Research methodology, Research reviews

Toggle Details

Wirth B, Townley C, Takach M. 2014. A roadmap for state policymakers to use comparative effectiveness and patient-centered outcomes research to inform decision making . Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 49 pp.

Annotation: [in process] This guide is designed to help policymakers with varying levels of experience understand and use comparative effectiveness research (CER) and patient-centered outcomes research (PCOR). Contents include a legend to orient those new to CER and PCOR and steps for using this research in state policymaking. Topics include identifying when CER and PCOR can inform policymaking, finding research and other relevant resources, evaluating the evidence, using the evidence to design program or policy, communicating and disseminating the decision, and monitoring and evaluating new research as it becomes available. Case studies and sample applications for each step are included. The appendices contain additional sources of research, guides, and tools; a list of suggested reading on CER, PCOR, and evidence-based decision-making; and an overview on conducting a systematic review.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Decision making, Policy development, Program development, Public policy, Research methodology, Research reviews, Treatment outcomes

Toggle Details

Duke Evidence-based Practice Center, Effective Health Care Program. 2013. Efficacy and safety of screening for postpartum depression. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, ca. 215 pp. (Comparative effectiveness review; no. 106)

Annotation: This report describes the results of a 2004-2012 literature search that evaluated the performance of screening instruments for postpartum depression, potential benefits and harms of screening, and impact on appropriate postscreening actions. Report contents include an introduction to postpartum depression and its adverse outcomes, screening, clinical and socioeconomic factors affecting risk; chapters on the study methods and results; a discussion of the findings; and conclusions and references. Appendices provide further detail into how the study was performed.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (800) 358-9295 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the web site. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 13-EHC064-EF.

Keywords: Literature reviews, MCH research, Maternal mental health, Mother child relations, Postpartum depression, Research methodology, Screening

Toggle Details

Johns Hopkins University Evidence-Based Practice Center. 2013. Childhood obesity prevention programs: Comparative effectiveness review and meta-analysis. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, ca. 835 pp. (Comparative effectiveness review; no. 115)

Annotation: This report describes research conducted by the Johns Hopkins University Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) on the effectiveness of childhood obesity prevention programs by reviewing all interventional studies that aimed to improve diet, physical activity, or both and that were conducted in schools, homes, primary care clinics, childcare settings, the community, or combinations of these settings in high-income countries. Topics include optimal setting for childhood obesity prevention interventions, benefits and unwanted consequences of the study, and comparisons to what is already known. An executive summary, research protocol, slide presentation, continuing medical education activity, and summaries for clinicians and consumers (English and Spanish) are also available.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (800) 358-9295 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the web site. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No.13-EHC081-EF.

Keywords: , Child health, Children, Obesity, Research reviews, School based programs, Weight management

Toggle Details

National Rural Health Association. 2013. Rural America's oral health needs. Kansas City, MO: National Rural Health Association, 8 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief presents a review of the literature on the oral health status of rural America and provides recommendations for meeting rural America’s oral health care needs. Topics include increasing access to oral health care, service reimbursement, training programs and recruitment, and research.

Contact: National Rural Health Association, 521 East 63rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64110, Telephone: (816) 756-3140 Fax: (816) 756-3144 E-mail: mail@NRHArural.org Web Site: http://www.ruralhealthweb.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health status, Literature reviews, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy, Reimbursement, Research, Rural environment, Rural health, Training

Toggle Details

Preskill H, Jones N, Tengue A. 2013. Markers that matter: Success indicators in early learning and education. [Boston, MA]: Foundation Strategy Group, 44 pp.

Annotation: This report presents a set of 48 early childhood learning indicators and 10 emerging themes that reflect the healthy development of young children (ages 0 to 8). Based on interviews with childhood experts and a review of the literature in early children learning and related fields, the report describes a set of indicators and themes that reflect a distillation of many ongoing efforts. These reflect a broad understanding of a changing field, where the health of a whole system enables the healthy development of young children; where a common language translates into enhanced communication and coordination, and where indicators can be used to understand and address inequities across racial and cultural groups. Two examples from Bremerton, Washington and Boston, Massachusetts illustrate how childhood learning indicators can help to support collaboration on behalf of better outcomes. The report is intended to encourage thinking, conversation, and action about the potential role of indicators in supporting the healthy development of young children.

Contact: Foundation Strategy Group, 500 Boylston Street, Suite 600, Boston, MA 02116, Telephone: (617) 357-4000 Fax: (617) 357-4007 E-mail: info@fsg.org Web Site: http://www.fsg.org Available from the web site after registration.

Keywords: Child development, Early childhood education, Literature reviews, Local initiatives, Measures, Models, Reports, Research, Young children

   |   

 

Page 1 of 10

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search