[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Risk factors

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 460 found.
Toggle Details

Resource Center, Young Parents' Program; and Junior Service League of Grand Junction. n.d.. Pregnancy: It'll never happen to me. Grand Junction, CO: Resource Center, Young Parents' Program, 1 videotape (26 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch), 1 guide (75 pp.).

Annotation: This videotape and the corresponding teacher's guide are designed to be used with adolescents to encourage them to think about the impact that an adolescent pregnancy will have on their lives. The teacher's guide describes the course organization, includes lesson plans, and a glossary and list of resources. Topics covered include medical risks involved in pregnancy, pregnancy prevention, economic ramifications of adolescent pregnancy, the role of the adolescent father, adolescent development, and refusal skills.

Contact: Family First Child and Family Center, 2897 North Avenue , Grand Junction, CO 81501, Telephone: (970) 683-2634 E-mail: corpinfo@htop.org Web Site: http://www.htop.org/child/ff/ $43.95 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent pregnancy, Communication skills, Educational materials, Family economics, Intervention, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk factors

Toggle Details

Onwuachi-Saunders C. n.d.. Injury control: The epidemiology of violence. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control, 42 pp.

Annotation: This is a collection of 40 multi-colored graphics which may be reproduced as slides for use in professional and community training in the epidemiology of violence. The package consists of flow charts, pie charts, bar graphs and informative 'facts.' Topics represented include: 'Years lost before age 65 among children for injuries and diseases (bar graph); 'Total lifetime cost of injury for 1985' (pie chart) a and 'Unintentional and intentional injury' (flow chart).

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (770) 488-4694 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age, Blacks, Children, Firearms, Gender, Injuries, International data, Males, Mortality, Prevention, Race, Risk factors, Training materials, United States, Violence

Toggle Details

Bogenschneider K, Small S, Riley D. n.d.. An ecological, risk-focused approach for addressing youth-at-risk issues. Chevy Chase, MD: National 4-H Center, 24 pp.

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: info@fourhcouncil.edu Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors

Toggle Details

Rhode Island Department of Health. 2014. Access to dental care among Rhode Island children and adults, 2012. Providence, RI: Rhode Island Department of Health, 4 pp. (Rhode Island data brief)

Annotation: This brief presents bar graphs showing data from the 2012 Rhode Island Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System to provide a picture of access to oral health care and related risk factors among infants, children, adolescents, and adults in Rhode Island. Topics include dental visits, oral cancer examinations, dental coverage, and tooth loss owing to tooth decay or gum disease.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 E-mail: http://www.health.state.ri.us/contactus Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adult health, Child health, Data, Health insurance, Infant health, Oral health, Rhode Island, Risk factors, State programs, Surveys

Toggle Details

Highsmith K. [2013]. National Maternal Health Initiative: A comprehensive collaborative strategy. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 16 slides.

Annotation: This presentation provides information about a U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MHCB) national maternal health initiative. The presentation focuses on maternal morbidity in the United States. Topic include numbers of deaths, causes of death, risk factors; economic burden, MCHB's vision, the initiative's goals and priority areas, and guiding principles for a national health strategy.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, Room 18-05, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-BABY (311-2229) Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Costs, Maternal death, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, National initiatives, Prevention, Racial factors, Risk factors, Statistical data

Toggle Details

Safe Kids Upstate. (2013). The Upstate Cribs for Kids Program. Greenville, SC: Safe Kids Upstate,

Annotation: This website describes Upstate Cribs for Kids -- a regional program in South Carolina that aims to reduce the number of infant deaths due to unsafe sleeping environments. The site provides safe sleep education and materials to help families and caregivers avoid putting their children at risk due to unsafe sleep practices. Also included is a link to the online safe sleep video, Room to Breathe.

Contact: Safe Kids Upstate, 255 Enterprise Boulevard, Suite 110, Greenville, SC Telephone: (864) 454-1100 E-mail: cfryer@ghs.org Web Site: http://www.safekidsupstate.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, Regional programs, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, South Carolina, State programs

Toggle Details

Michigan Department of Community Health, Oral Health Program. 2013. Burden of oral disease in Michigan 2013. [Lansing, MI]: Michigan Department of Community Health, Oral Health Program, 58 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the status of oral health in Michigan and establishes a documented burden of disease, disparities in disease and access, and comparisons between Michigan and national data. Topics include national and state oral health objectives, the burden of oral diseases, risk and protective factors for oral diseases, oral health service provision, and programs and practices.

Contact: Michigan Department of Community Health, Oral Health Program, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 335-8879 Fax: (517) 335-8294 E-mail: oralhealth@michigan.gov Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-132-2942_4911_4912_6226---,00.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Comparative analysis, Health objectives, Health status, Michigan, Oral health, Population surveillance, Protective factors, Risk factors, Service delivery, State programs, Statistical data

Toggle Details

Levi J, Segal LM, St. Laurent R, Lang A. 2013. Investing in America's health: A state-by-state look at public health funding and key health facts. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 37 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report examines public health funding and key health facts for states around the country. In their analysis, the authors point out the wide variation from region to region in the United States, highlighting the differences in federal funding, state funding, disease rates, and health risk factors in each of the states. Charts and maps compare funding levels, rates of disease, and rates of smoking, infant mortality, and vaccination. The report also provides recommendations for policy makers.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Geographic factors, Government financing, Health statistics, Reports, Risk factors, States

Toggle Details

D'Angelo AV, Rich L, Kwiatt J. 2013. Integrating family support services into schools: Lessons from the Elev8 Initiative. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall, 8 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief uses data from Chapin Hall’s evaluation of the Elev8 Full-Service Schools Initiative as a case study to focus on the challenges and benefits of offering economic support services to low income families at schools. Based on their findings, the authors conclude that the Elev8 Initiative, which brings together schools, families, and the community in underserved neighborhoods, shows promise as a way to provide support services to families while improving the educational opportunities for their children. Using lessons learned from the Eval8 Initiativ, the authors present recommendations for future efforts to integrate economic support services into schools. Their suggested strategies include hiring long-term staff members to build trusting relationships with parents; offering economic support services in conjunction with a broader array of services; ensuring clear lines of communication between partner organizations; and taking steps to ensure parents’ privacy.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Community based services, Economic factors, Educational factors, Evaluation, High risk children, Initiatives, Low income groups, Models, Partnerships, School-linked programs

Toggle Details

Change for Our Children. 2013. Baby essentials online. Christchurch, New Zealand: Change for Our Children,

Annotation: This toolkit contains information for parents, healthcare providers, and communities to provide for well-being and safety of infants. It is an interactive slide presentation with audio offering a short quiz and information about Sudden Unexpected Infant Death and how to reduce the risk of accidental death during sleep.

Contact: Change for Our Children, P.O. Box 36406, Christchurch, NZ 8146, Telephone: (03) 379-6686 Fax: (03) 353-9269 E-mail: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz/contact/enquiry_form Web Site: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, Infant health, Injury prevention, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position

   |   

 

Page 1 of 46

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search