[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Sexually transmitted diseases

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 287 found.
Toggle Details

Milner-Fenwick. n.d.. Teen contraception. Timonium, MD: Milner-Fenwick, 1 videotape (13:30 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch). (Video counseling library)

Annotation: This videotape dispels common myths about contraception and describes a range of contraceptive options available today, including Norplant, Depro-Provera, and abstinence. It discusses the importance of using condoms in conjunction with other contraceptives to prevent sexually transmitted diseases. The information is presented by adolescents in a non-judgmental fashion; it does contain some explicit scenes. The videotape is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Milner-Fenwick, 2125 Greenspring Drive, Timonium, MD 21093-3113, Telephone: (800) 432-8433 Secondary Telephone: (410) 252-1700 Fax: (410) 252-6316 E-mail: patiented@milner-fenwick.com Web Site: http://www.milner-fenwick.com/index.asp $250.00. Document Number: OB-130.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Condoms, Contraception, Educational materials, Sexually transmitted diseases, Spanish language materials, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Women's Health Division and the Massachusetts Coalition of Rape Crisis Services. n.d.. Sexual assault and sexually transmitted diseases including AIDS. [Boston, MA]: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Women's Health Division and the Massachusetts Coalition of Rape Crisis Services, 1 p.

Toggle Details

Great Expectations/Healthy Start. n.d.. Prenatal education curriculum. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations/Healthy Start, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This study guide consists of a series of brief training sessions on various aspects of prenatal and infant care. Curricula topics include the following: 1) anatomy and physiology of pregnancy; 2) breastfeeding; 3) alcohol, smoking, and drug abuse; 4) personal hygiene; 5) sexually transmitted diseases; 6) contraception/family planning; and 7) domestic violence. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Contraception, Curricula, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Great Expectations/New Orleans Healthy Start, Infant care, Infant health, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Prenatal nutrition, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance dependence, Training materials

Toggle Details

Keith J. n.d.. Family-Focused Strategy for Reducing Premature and Unprotected Sexual Activity Among Minority Youth in School-Based Health Clinics [Final report]. Dallas, TX: Dallas County Hospital District, 26 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to develop and demonstrate effective intervention strategies for the 10–15 year age group that can be carried out within a school-based comprehensive health care system to reduce the occurrence of premature and unprotected sexual intercourse in adolescents. More than 300 10-year-old children and their parents enrolled to receive annual health maintenance evaluations and a series of activities to enhance parent-child communication, parental knowledge of adolescent social and sexual development, and problem-solving and decision-making skills. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB99-133977.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Decision Making Skills, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Hispanics, Minority Groups, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Child Relationship, Preventive Health Care Education, School Dropouts, School Health Programs, School Health Services, Sexual Activity, Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Toggle Details

First String. n.d.. Healthy dating tips. Newark, OH: First String, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, which advocates delaying sex until marriage, provides tips for adolescents about healthy dating and how to avoid having sex before marriage. Suggestions include being a role model, making good decisions, making a contract with your parents, dating in groups, dressing appropriately, respecting your date, sexually transmitted diseases, and knowing how to say no.

Contact: First String, 336 East Main Street, Newark, OH 43055, Telephone: (740) 349-7558 E-mail: info@firststring.org Web Site: http://www.firststring.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Dating, Parents, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health and Society for the Advancement of Women's Health Research. n.d.. Get real: Stratight talk on women's health [video kit]. Washington, DC: U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 12 items.

Annotation: This kit, which is designed to help improve the health of young women, is meant to be used as a tool for raising awareness on campuses about a broad spectrum of women's health issues. The kit consists of a 27-minute videotape, a facilitator's guide, fact sheets, and promotional posters. Topic include alcohol abuse and dependence, cancer, depression, contraception and sexually transmitted diseases, eating disorders, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, nutrition and exercise, osteoporosis, panic disorder, sexual harassment and violence, smoking, and substance abuse and dependence.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: AIDS, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol dependence, Audiovisual materials, Cancer, Contraception, Depression, Eating disorders, HIV, Heart diseases, Nutrition, Osteoporosis, Panic disorder, Physical activity, Sexual harassment, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance dependence, Videotapes, Violence, Women's health, Young women

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health and Family and Youth Services Bureau. 2014-. Teen pregnancy prevention evidence review. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 1 v.

Annotation: [in process] This website provides information and resources from an ongoing independent systematic review of the adolescent pregnancy prevention research to identify programs with evidence of effectiveness in reducing adolescent pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections, and associated sexual risk behaviors. The website includes information on study quality and program models that have demonstrated positive impacts on sexual risk behavior and sexual health outcomes. Contents include a searchable database of studies included in the review, information about the review process and how the review is conducted, publications written by the review team, answers to frequently asked questions, and contact information for the study team.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Health behavior, Literature reviews, Prevention programs, Program models, Research methodology, Risk factors, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation. 2014. Missed opportunities to prevent cervical cancer: Strategies to increase HPV vaccination. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 3 pp.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cervical cancer, Health education, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Toggle Details

Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States. 2014. SIECUS state profiles: A portrait of sexuality education and abstinence-only-until-marriage programs in the states. New York, NY: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States,

Annotation: These resources for advocates, educators, policymakers, public health professionals, parents, youth, and community stakeholders comprise profiles of sexuality education and abstinence-only-until-marriage programs in the United States. Topics include federal funding by state, total federal spending on abstinence-only-until-marriage programs, sexuality and HIV/STD education policies by state, and descriptions of evidence-based and comprehensive approaches to pregnancy-, STD-, HIV/AIDS-prevention and sexuality education programs.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: siecus@siecus.org Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Federal MCH programs, Government financing, HIV, Model programs, Prevention programs, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State MCH programs

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2014. Preexposure prophylaxis for the prevention of HIV infection in the United States: 2014. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 67 pp. (A clinical practice guideline)

Annotation: This publication provides a comprehensive clinical practice guideline for the use of preexposure prophylaxis (PrEP) for the prevention of HIV infection in the United States. Contents include evidence of need for additional HIV prevention methods; evidence of safety and efficacy of antiretroviral prophylaxis; identifying indications for PrEP; providing PrEP; people with documented HIV infection; discontinuing PrEP; special clinical considerations including women who become pregnant or breastfeed while taking PrEP medication; improving medication adherence; reducing HIV risk behaviors; financial case-management issues for PrEP; decision support, training, and technical assistance; and related guidelines.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, HIV, Preventive medicine, Sexually transmitted diseases

   |   

 

Page 1 of 29

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search