[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: State initiatives

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 773 found.
Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families. n.d.. Bringing it together: Head Start-state collaboration projects. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, 67 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Toggle Details

Wayne State University, Merrill-Palmer Institute. n.d.. Project F.I.T.: Family-focused infant and toddler transagency training. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University, Merrill-Palmer Institute, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document for parents and professionals provides an overview of Project F.I.T., family-focused infant and toddler transagency training. This program was designed in response to P.L. 99-457, Part H, for the purpose of supporting professionals in their efforts to more fully understand and meet the needs of infants, toddlers, and their families. Service coordination and collaboration among professionals across agencies comprise a central emphasis in this training.

Contact: Merrill-Palmer Skillman Institute, Wayne State University, 71-A East Ferry , Detroit, MI 48202, Telephone: (313) 872-1790 Fax: (313) 875-0947 E-mail: mpsi@wayne.edu Web Site: http://mpsi.wayne.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Michigan, Part H, State initiatives, Training

Toggle Details

Arkansas Oral Health Coalition. n.d.. Bylaws of the Arkansas Oral Health Coalition: Smiles–AR, U.S.. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document presents the bylaws of the Arkansas Oral Health Coalition, a nonprofit, voluntary organization representing oral health interests throughout Arkansas. The purpose of the coalition is to provide leadership to formulate and promote oral health policy, increase awareness of oral health issues, and assist in initiatives to prevent and control oral diseases. Broad topics include membership, officers, executive committee, meetings, finances, amendments, and dissolution.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2595 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programsServices/oralhealth/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Arkansas, Coalitions, Interagency cooperation, Oral health, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Family Health. n.d.. Receipt of preventive dental care by Medicaid recipients during pregnancy: Iowa 2005-2009. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Family Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This document presents data and trends on receipt of preventive oral health care during pregnancy among Medicaid beneficiaries in Iowa as well as strategies for improvement. Topics include prenatal care coordination and collaboration with pediatric oral health professionals. Data and trends are presented by race and ethnicity, age, and education.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Family Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50309, Telephone: (800) 383-3826 Web Site: http://www.idph.state.ia.us/hpcdp/family_health.asp Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental care, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Service coordination, State initiatives, Statistical data

Toggle Details

Matthews H, Schmit S. 2014. What state leaders should know about Early Head Start. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This paper reviews key aspects of how the Early Head Start (EHS) program works. Each section includes topics for state leaders to consider, such as how other state systems relate to a particular aspect of EHS or what types of policy changes and partnership states could effect to ensure better coordination between EHS and other state programs.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Early Head Start, Federal programs, Infants, Leadership, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Systems development, Young children

Toggle Details

Gross BJ, Turner W, Machledt D. 2014. Advocate's guide to MAGI (upd.). Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 71 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Toggle Details

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. The Healthy Babies Initiative resources and case studies. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources describe state initiatives focused on improving birth outcomes. Contents include fact sheets, issue briefs, and case studies of prevention initiatives and programs that have had a positive economic impact. Topics include smoking cessation for women, maternal and infant disparities, infant mortality, prematurity and low birth weight, early elective deliveries, preconception and interconception care, nutrition and gestational diabetes, training, home visiting, newborn screening, medical home, family planning, breastfeeding, safe sleep, and life course.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Economic factors, Infants, MCH programs, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Damiano PC, Park KH, Robinson EL. 2014. Health disparities among children in Iowa: Results from the 2010 Iowa Child and Family Household Health Survey. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa Public Policy Center, 30 pp., plus tables

Annotation: This report presents findings from the 2010 Iowa Child and Family Household Health survey completed by parents of infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17. The report analyzes racial and ethnic health disparities and reports significant differences in the health status of Iowa's parents and children based on race and ethnicity. The report examines overall health status, oral health, and children with special health care needs (CSHCN). It also compares health insurance coverage; participation in a medical home; parental health and neighborhood characteristics; lifestyle and behavior (including screen time, nutrition, and physical activity); and issues such as access to care, preventive care, and behavioral and emotional health. Graphs provided throughout the report reflect disparities between Hispanic, White, African-American, and Asian and Pacific Island populations.

Contact: University of Iowa, Health Policy Research Program, Public Policy Center, 227 South Quadrangle, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: 319/335-6801 E-mail: peter-damiano@uiowa.edu Web Site: http://ppc.uiowa.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Data, Ethnic factors, Families, Health status disparities, Iowa, Racial factors, Reports, State initiatives, State surveys

Toggle Details

McCoy C. 2014. State Title V program approaches to improving birth outcomes. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 24 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on efforts to reduce non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks gestation and methods that state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs are using to improve birth outcomes. Topics include national and state initiatives to make lowering the number of non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks a priority; the role of state Title V MCH programs in implementing quality improvement programs and payment reforms; and examples from California, North Carolina, and Texas. The appendix contains a matrix of national and regional initiatives to improve birth outcomes including a description, geographic scope, funding, and partners for each initiative.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, National initiatives, Prematurity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Regional programs, Reimbursement, State MCH programs, Treatment outcomes

Toggle Details

Mississippi First, Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, Women's Foundation of Mississippi. 2014. Sexuality education in Mississippi: Progress in the magnolia state. New York, NY: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 38 pp.

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: siecus@siecus.org Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Birth rates, Curriculum, Mississippi, Sexuality education, State initiatives, Statistics

   |   

 

Page 1 of 78

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search