[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Stress

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 129 found.
Toggle Details

Parents Helping Parents (PHP) The Family Resource Center. n.d.. The modern art of caring for families. Santa Clara, CA: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) The Family Resource Center, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: These resource materials, which are usable for handouts or overhead transparencies, are based on a workshop for nurses who work with families of children with special health needs. Sections of the notebook include the following materials: class exercises; family perspectives focusing on feelings about having a child with disabilities; principles of family centered care; guidelines for referrals; descriptions of community resources; an overview of family centered care; journal articles; eligibility criteria and procedures for referrals; and an article by the cofounder of Parents Helping Parents (PHP) that summarizes all aspects of needed professional knowledge. A brochure in the notebook describes the PHP program and provides contact information. The workshop and materials are cosponsored with Kaiser Permanente. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Parents Helping Parents, Sobrato Center For Nonprofits-San Jose, 1400 Parkmoor Avenue Suite 100, San Jose, CA 95126, Telephone: (408) 727-5775 Fax: (408) 727-0182 Web Site: http://www.php.com Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Communication, Cultural competence, Family resource centers, Family support services, Health occupations, Parent support services, Professional training, Resource materials, Stress management

Toggle Details

Wells J. n.d.. Promotion of Healthy Behaviors [Final report]. South Bend, IN: Saint Joseph's Medical Center, 20 pp.

Annotation: The objective of this study was to determine whether parents who participated in and completed the parent education program exhibited a decrease in stress, an increase in problem solving and had a stronger parent-child relationship. The project was aimed at parents or caregivers of children under 3 years of age who are of low-income and of varying cultural backgrounds. Three primary methods were used to meet the outcome objectives: group sessions (Approaches to Parenting), newsletter (approaches Bulletin) and seminars. Three measures given at pre-test, short-term post-test, and long-term post-test were used for evaluation. In summary, mothers who participated in the intervention were significantly less stressful, had higher self-esteem, and were less overprotective and rejecting of their children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-196855.

Keywords: Caregivers, Health Promotion, Low income groups, Minorities, Parent Education, Parent-Child Interaction, Parents, Stress

Toggle Details

Keller A. n.d.. Services for Adults with Cystic Fibrosis [Final report]. Harrisburg, PA: Pennsylvania Department of Health, 37 pp.

Annotation: This project addressed the issue of transitioning of late adolescents and young adults with cystic fibrosis from pediatric care to the adult health care system. The project was developed in order to study the issue of transitioning in terms of the health care delivery system. The goal of the project was to develop an appropriate adult health care delivery model and to study this process and the process of transitioning patients from a pediatric hospital to an adult hospital in separate locations. The objectives of the project were to examine four issues: (1) The effect of the transition on patients and families; (2) determining what services are needed in the adult care setting to provide appropriate care; (3) determining whether interinstitutional issues can be overcome to successfully develop such a program; and (4) studying the financial impact on patients and institutions of this transition. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-198372.

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronically Ill, Cystic Fibrosis, Data Collection, Stress, Youth in Transition

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2014-. Early Brain and Child Development (EBCD) education and training modules. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, multiple items.

Annotation: These five modules and accompanying guides for primary care health professionals provide information and resources on early brain development, toxic stress, adverse childhood experiences, supporting parents and cultivating community relationships, and advocacy. Each module includes a PowerPoint presentation with presenter notes and a guide with tips for presenting the content. Each module also contains activities, video clips, prompting questions, and case studies to encourage active participation.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Mental health, Parent support services, Primary care, Psychological development, Relationships, Stress, Training, Vulnerability

Toggle Details

Thompson RA, Haskins R. 2014. Early stress gets under the skin: Promising initiatives to help children facing chronic adversity. Princeton, NJ: Future of Children, 7 pp. (Policy brief; Spring 2014.)

Contact: Future of Children, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, Robertson Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544-1013, Telephone: (609) 258-2493 E-mail: http://www.futureofchildren.org/feedback2822/feedback.htm Web Site: http://www.futureofchildren.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Anxiety, Child mental health, High risk children, Initiatives, Intervention, Risk factors, Stress

Toggle Details

Adams G, Dubay L. 2014. Exploring instability and children's well-being: Insights from a dialogue among practitioners, policymakers and researchers. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report presents insights from a meeting held on November 14, 2013, to explore the implications of stability and instability for children's development and to discuss what is known and what is needed across research, policy, and practice. Topics include the characteristics of instability that seem likely to affect children's well-being, where it occurs in children's lives, pathways by which it affects children's well-being, and contextual factors that seem likely to play a role in affecting its impact. Additional topics include research needs, implications for policy and practice, and immediate next steps such as developing a common framework and language to support shared understanding of the issues and challenges that need to be addressed.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Coping, Life change events, Policy development, Research, Stress management

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB, Pickett OK. 2013-. Maternal distress in the perinatal period and child outcomes: Knowledge path. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about sources of stress that pregnant women and new mothers experience and the impact of maternal distress on the developing fetus and young child. Topics include policies, programs, and practices that enhance a woman's ability to cope with stress, provide social and emotional support for pregnant women and new mothers, and build protective factors in new families. The knowledge path is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and researchers. A separate brief lists resources for families. The knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the O'Neill Foundation]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Electronic publications, Families, Knowledge paths, Mental health, Parenting, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Social support, Stress, Stress management: Infant health, Young children

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2013. Stress during and after pregnancy: Resources for families. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University, multiple items.

Annotation: This brief provides information to help families find care, services, and support and websites about stress and how to manage it during and after pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Families, Pregnant women, Stress, Women's health

Toggle Details

Mulrooney K, Williams DS. 2012. Increasing understanding of infants and young children in military families through focused research. Los Angeles, CA: University of Southern California School of Social Work, Center for Innovation and Research on Veterans and Military Families, 7 pp. (CIR policy brief)

Annotation: This brief describes what is understood about the effects of multiple or prolonged combat deployments on military families, particularly the experiences and outcomes of school-aged children's health and well-being. Contents include sections on the exceptional nature of the very young child, understanding potential risks for child maltreatment, a review of the Research and Resilience Initiative, and recommendations for conducting future research on young children in military families.

Contact: University of Southern California School of Social Work, Center for Innovation and Research on Veterans and Military Families, 1149 South Hill Street, Suite H-1114, Los Angeles, CA 90015, Telephone: (213) 821-3600 Fax: (213) 821-3601 E-mail: cir@usc.edu Web Site: http://cir.usc.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child abuse, Families, Maltreated children, Military, Research, School age children, Stress, Young children

Toggle Details

National Center on Family Homelessness. 2012. Developing a trauma-informed approach to serving young homeless families. Needham, MA: National Center on Family Homelessness, 11 pp.

Annotation: This brief outlines the core principles of trauma-informed care and outlines steps that organizations can take to adopt a trauma-informed approach to improve services to families that are experiencing homelessness. The brief discusses the core principles of trauma-informed care and provides five detailed steps to becoming trauma informed.

Contact: National Center on Family Homelessness, 200 Reservior Street, Suite 200, Needham, MA 02494, Telephone: (617) 964-3834 Fax: (617) 244-1758 E-mail: info@familyhomelessness.org Web Site: http://www.familyhomelessness.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Emotional trauma, Families, High risk groups, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Low income groups, Mothers, Parents, Programs, Single parents, Social services, Stress, Trauma, Young children, Young children

   |   

 

Page 1 of 13

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search