[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Tobacco use

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 137 found.
Toggle Details

California Healthy Cities Project. n.d.. California smoke-free cities: A successful state level partnership for tobacco control. Sacramento, CA: California Healthy Cities Project, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the work of California's Healthy Cities Project, a local partnership designed to support cities in the development of regulations and programs which discourage tobacco use. It contains brief information on the project's background, the challenges met, and some practical considerations for replication elsewhere.

Contact: California Healthy Cities Project, P.O. Box 942732, MS 675, Sacramento, CA 94234-7320, Telephone: (916) 327-7017 Fax: (916) 324-7763 Price unknown.

Keywords: California, Coalitions, Health programs, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Piper D. n.d.. Project Model Health [Final report]. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Division of Health, 75 pp.

Annotation: Project Model Health (PMH) was an innovative adolescent health promotion project targeting students in grades 7-9. PMH had behavioral objectives in the areas of nutrition, marijuana use, drinking and driving, tobacco use, and sexuality. The strategies used during 32-37 hours of classroom instruction were taken from recent research on effective adolescent health promotion and substance abuse prevention programming. The strategies included: use of college-age role models as instructors; focus on analyzing media messages; practice of peer refusal skills; feedback of peer norm information; emphasis on short-term effects of behavior; use of public commitments; and health advocacy behavior. The evaluation of PMH included extensive, qualitative process evaluation examining the actual implementation of the program as well as a quasi-experimental outcome evaluation. Assuming future follow-up fails to show significant outcome differences between instructor-led and teacher-led PMH, it was recommended to use carefully selected teachers rather than college-age instructors. Based on these promising results, further implementation and evaluation of the PMH approach and curriculum was recommended. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB92-103316.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Health promotion, Impaired driving, Marijuana, Nutrition, Sexuality, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2014. The health consequences of smoking: 50 years of progress–A report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 943 pp.

Annotation: This report chronicles the consequences of 50 years of tobacco use in the United States. Topics include advances in knowledge of the health consequences of smoking from 1964 to 2014 including an understanding of the relationship between smoking and cancer, respiratory diseases, cardiovascular diseases, reproductive outcomes, and other specific outcomes; smoking-attributable morbidity, mortality, and economic costs; patterns of tobacco use among children, adolescents, and adults; current status of and future directions in tobacco control; and a vision for ending tobacco-caused death and disease. A consumer booklet, fact sheets, a video and podcast series, and partner resources are also available.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-50, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: tobaccoinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Trust for America's Health. 2013. The truth about the Prevention and Public Health Fund. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines facts about the Prevention and Public Health Fund, which provides mandatory allocations through the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) to improve health and prevent chronic illnesses by expanding preventive care and supporting proven community-based programs that reduce obesity, tobacco use, and other preventable conditions. It discusses Community Transformation Grants (CTGs) requirements to reduce death and disability due to heart disease and stroke, and efforts in coordinating healthcare and providing needed support outside the doctor's office and in communities.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Obesity, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Prevention services, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2013. Primary care interventions to prevent tobacco use in children and adolescents. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 5 files.

Annotation: This web site provides recommendations, evidence, and related items for primary care clinicians to provide interventions, including education or brief counseling, to prevent initiation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents. It updates the 2003 recommendations and reviews the evidence on the effectiveness of primary care interventions on the rates of initiation or cessation of tobacco use in school-aged children and adolescents and on health outcomes, such as respiratory health, oral health, and adult smoking. It also provides new recommendations for interventions and identifies research needs and gaps.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 E-mail: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/contact-uspstf/ Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, School age children, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Smoking cessation strategies for women before, during, and after pregnancy: Recommendations for state and territorial health agencies. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 16 pp.

Annotation: This document explores a coordinated health systems approach to long-term cessation outcomes for women. The issue brief contains eight recommendations; key resources; and examples from states including Alabama, California, Colorado, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Utah. Topics include training and technical assistance to health professionals, quitline services, coordinated media campaigns, customized programs, points of intervention, cessation benefits in health plans, service integration, and tobacco-control policies that augment tobacco cessation for women.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Case studies, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use, Women's health

Toggle Details

National Women's Law Center, American Cancer Society, Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, Save the Children, Center for Law and Social Policy, MomRising.org, American Heart Assocaition, American Academy of Pediatrics, American Lung Association. 2013. Raising smart, healthy kids in every state: Expanding early education initiatives with funding from the federal tobacco tax. Washington, DC: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, 63 pp.

Annotation: This report provides estimates of the public health, educational, social, and financial benefits of a proposal by President Obama in his fiscal year 2014 budget to expand federal funding for early childhood education programs over 10 years and to pay for this with an increase in federal excise tax rates of cigarette and other tobacco products. The report outlines the proposal and discusses the importance of early education, the importance of reducing tobacco use, synergies between education and health, and how the proposal addresses these issues. Benefits of the proposal for the nation and for states are presented.

Contact: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, National Center for Tobacco-Free Kids, 1400 Eye Street, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-5469 Fax: (202) 296-5427 Web Site: http://www.tobaccofreekids.org Available from the web site.

Keywords: Costs, Early childhood education, Early childhood programs, Financing, Health, Public health, Taxes, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Pearsall CC. 2013. Equity for all: Entry points to elevate LGBT health. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 2 pp. (Issue focus)

Annotation: This report focuses on ways that health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people can be improved. The report introduces the issue and discusses how the Affordable Care Act may help improve access to health care for LGBT people, supporting cultural competence initiatives and policy, and reducing tobacco use (which is more common among LGBT people than among non-LGBT people).

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 E-mail: http://www.gih.org/feedback2666/feedback.htm Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cigarette smoking, Cultural competence, Health care reform, Homosexuality, Initiatives, Legislation, Sexuality, Smoking cessation programs, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013. Winnable battles progress report, 2010-2015. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about critical health areas for which evidence-based strategies exist to address them. These areas include tobacco; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; food safety, health care-associated infections, motor vehicle safety, adolescent pregnancy, and HIV.The report discusses the approach for addressing these areas, as well as key actions, targets, and key accomplishments for each area.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Food safety, HIV, Health, Infections, Motor vehicle safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Tobacco use, Treatments

Toggle Details

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research and National Cancer Institute. 2012. Smokeless tobacco: A guide for quitting (rev.). Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research and National Cancer Institute, 22 pp.

Annotation: This booklet is designed for young men who have decided to quit using smokeless tobacco or who are thinking about quitting. It includes reasons to quit, addresses myths about smokeless tobacco, and helps the reader develop a plan for quitting.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Oral Health Information Clearinghouse, One NOHIC Way, Bethesda, MD 20892-3500, Telephone: (301) 402-7364 Secondary Telephone: (866) 232-4528 Fax: (301) 480-4098 E-mail: nidcrinfo@mail.nih.gov Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov/OrderPublications/default.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the web site. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-3270.

Keywords: Cancer, Oral health, Risk factors, Smokeless tobacco, Substance dependence, Tobacco use

   |   

 

Page 1 of 14

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search