[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Women's health

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 928 found.
Toggle Details

Johnston S. n.d.. Moving mountains: A curriculum guide for spiritual and physical health for women of color. Boston, MA: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, ca. 125 pp.

Annotation: This teaching guide prepared for the Boston Healthy Start program focuses on minority women's health. It includes lessons on these topics: self esteem and body language; getting fit and keeping fit; pregnancy and childbirth; and the postpartum experience. Each section contains narrative content, activities, handouts, suggested reading lists, and resource lists (in English and in Spanish). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 1010 Massachusetts Avenue, Second Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 534-5395 Secondary Telephone: (617) 534-9799 Fax: (617) 534-5358 E-mail: healthystart@bphc.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Childbirth, Curricula, Exercise, Minority groups, Minority health, Nutrition, Postpartum, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Puerperium, Self esteem, Spanish language materials, Spirituality, Women's health

Toggle Details

Florida Hospital Community Health Services. n.d.. Florida Hospital's for women only: How to stop smoking now program. Orlando, FL: Florida Hospital Community Health Services, ca.100 pp.

Annotation: This manual was produced for participants in the Florida Hospital's For Women Only: How to Stop Smoking Now Program. It has 8 numbered sections on topics such as potential benefits of breaking the habit of smoking, stress management, physiological changes the body goes through when one stops smoking, guidelines for weight control, and grief suffered from loss of cigarettes and smoking, and also includes a daily smoking record.

Contact: Florida Hospital Community Health Services, 601 East Rollins Street, Orlando, FL 32803, Telephone: (407) 897-1929 Price unknown.

Keywords: Hospitals, Programs, Smoking cessation, Women's health, Women's health promotion

Toggle Details

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. n.d.. ACOG patient education set. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 99 pamphlets.

Annotation: This set of patient education materials consists of nearly 100 pamphlets which address a variety of women's health topics in the areas of contraception; gynecologic problems; labor, delivery, and postpartum care; physiology and sexuality; pregnancy; special procedures; and general health.

Contact: ACOG Distribution Center, P.O. Box 933104, Atlanta , GA 31193, Telephone: (800) 762-2264 Web Site: http://www.acog.org/bookstore/ $40.00 plus $7.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Patient education materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

Birthing the Future. n.d.. Five-year manifesto: Focus on childbirth—Vision, strategic goals and objectives. Bayfield, CO: Birthing the Future, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the Birthing the Future program, a program that seeks revolutionary changes in world consciousness about birth. The report describes what is termed a childbirth war between the contemporary medical system of technological birth and midwifery. The report describes the program's philosophy about childbirth and includes the vision, strategic goals, and objectives of the program. Topics touched on include natural childbirth, Caserean births, home births, midwifery, obstetricians, birth centers, newborn nurseries, and neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: Birthing the Future, P.O. Box 1040, Bayfield, CO 81122, Telephone: (970) 884-4005 Fax: (970) 884-4097 E-mail: Suzanne@BirthingTheFuture.com Web Site: http://www.birthingthefuture.org

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Birth, Birthing centers, Cesarean section, Hospital nurseries, Infant health, Midwifery, Midwives, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Obstetricians, Women’s health

Toggle Details

American Academy of Periodontology. n.d.. Gum disease and women. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Periodontology,

Annotation: This resource describes oral health issues unique to women throughout their lifespans. Topics include periodontal disease, gingivitis, and the effect of hormonal changes on oral health during puberty, menstruation, pregnancy, menopause, and post-menopause.

Contact: American Academy of Periodontology, 737 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (312) 787-5518 Fax: (312) 787-3670 Web Site: http://www.perio.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Educational materials, Gingivitis, Menopause, Menstruation, Oral health, Periodontal disease, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puberty, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. n.d.. Mi futuro será brillante: Actividad física y alimentación saludable—para mujeres adultas. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health and Society for the Advancement of Women's Health Research. n.d.. Get real: Stratight talk on women's health [video kit]. Washington, DC: U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 12 items.

Annotation: This kit, which is designed to help improve the health of young women, is meant to be used as a tool for raising awareness on campuses about a broad spectrum of women's health issues. The kit consists of a 27-minute videotape, a facilitator's guide, fact sheets, and promotional posters. Topic include alcohol abuse and dependence, cancer, depression, contraception and sexually transmitted diseases, eating disorders, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, nutrition and exercise, osteoporosis, panic disorder, sexual harassment and violence, smoking, and substance abuse and dependence.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: AIDS, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol dependence, Audiovisual materials, Cancer, Contraception, Depression, Eating disorders, HIV, Heart diseases, Nutrition, Osteoporosis, Panic disorder, Physical activity, Sexual harassment, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance dependence, Videotapes, Violence, Women's health, Young women

Toggle Details

Nebraska Perinatal Depression Project. n.d.. Reach out and discover a new day: A guide to understanding pregnancy-related depression. [Lincoln, NE]: Nebraska Health and Human Services System, 8 pp.

Annotation: This guide to understanding pregnancy-related depression includes a list of symptoms that may occur during or following pregnancy; suggestions to help pregnant women discuss signs of depression with their health provider; and positive strategies that have helped other women alleviate their symptoms of depression. The guide is available in both English and Spanish. A poster is also available for download from the Web site.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: dhhs.helpline@nebraska.gov Web Site: http://www.hhs.state.ne.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Depression, Postpartum depression, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

Postpartum Progress. n.d.. Clinical tools for postpartum depression. [no place]: Postpartum Progress, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: postpartumprogress@gmail.com Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women's health

Toggle Details

National Diabetes Education Program. 2014. Did you have gestational diabetes when you were pregnant? What you need to know [rev. ed.]. [Bethesda, MD]: National Diabetes Educational Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about gestational diabetes and about what women who had this condition while pregnant can do to reduce the chances that they or their child will get diabetes later in life. The fact sheet provides action steps for women (including getting tested for diabetes, eating healthy foods and being more active) and for the whole family.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the web site. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-6019; NDEP-88.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Women's health

   |   

 

Page 1 of 93

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search