photo collage
Top Navigational image with links Home About Search
Search the Databases
Advanced Search
MCH Library Resources navigational image with links Bright Futures for Women 3rd Edition Guidelines Distance Learning MCH Group AIM Partners MCHB Final Report Healthy Start MCH History MCH Thesaurus Resource Guides MCH Alert Newsletter Oral Health Resource Center Healthy People 2010/2020 MCH Links MCHB Resources Centers Contact Us Frequently Asked Questions Site Map Bright Futures at Georgetown University MCHB-Funded Projects and Final Reports Children's Bureau Multimedia Resources State MCH-Medicaid Coordination About the Library Databases Sudden Infant Death Resources for Families Knowledge Paths Find Services Non-English Languages How to Use the Site
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASDs)
Resource Brief

Table of Contents

Web Sites
Related MCH Library Resources


Web Sites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders
Facts, diagnosis, treatment, questions and answers, data and statistics, research, screening tools, training and education resources, and free materials for consumers and health professionals. Includes materials in Spanish and Russian.

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Diagnostic & Prevention Network
Screening, diagnostic, surveillance, intervention, prevention, and training tools for health professionals, social service providers, and researchers. Includes diagnostic software, instructions on using a four-digit diagnostic code, and photographs to use in diagnosis.

Medline Plus: Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
Information for consumers including overviews, news, research tools, reference material, and links to additional information sources.

National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS)
An online information packet, electronic newsletters, public service announcements, a national and state-by-state resource directory, a list of NOFAS state affiliates, and tools for educators, including a school-based FASD education and prevention curriculum http://www.nofas.org/about/K-12Curriculum.htm> developed in partnership with CDC.

PubMed
Over 18 million citations and abstracts from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles indexed by the National Library of Medicine back to the 1950s, with links to full text articles when available.

Search tips: Enter the term “fetal alcohol syndrome” or the term “fetal alcohol spectrum” in the Search box. Click Advanced Search, and choose the box for Humans and the box for English (or other desired language). Limit the search by date to retrieve only more recent items.

SAMHSA Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for Excellence
Downloadable fact sheets and brochures, links to state resources and legislations, model programs, a publications database, and training courses.

University of Wisconsin, Madison: Pregnancy and Alcohol
Information on alcohol and pregnancy and fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, including fact sheets, self-help guides, research findings, and answers to frequently asked questions. Expert advice offered via e-mail or toll-free information line (800) 752-3157.


Related MCH Library Resources


For more information on this topic, use the MCH Library Advanced Search with keywords “Fetal alcohol syndrome” or related terms such as “Alcohol use during pregnancy” or “prenatal addiction.”

Authors: Beth DeFrancis Sun, Olivia K. Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., MCH Library
September 2009