The databases listed below are excellent tools for identifying programs to improve the health and well-being of infants, children, adolescents, pregnant women, and their families. Where appropriate, we've included tips and search examples on how to identify programs efficiently.
- ChildrensBudget.org. Annual funding information for each federally supported program that benefits children. For information about health programs, go to the box, Search Programs. Under Policy Area/Category, select Health. Click on Search Programs. First Focus.
- Community Pediatrics Grants Database. Information about currently and previously funded community-based grant projects that merge traditional clinical skills with population-based approaches to practice and advocacy. American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).
- Discretionary Grant Information System (DGIS). Information about discretionary grants issued annually by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).
- FindYouthInfo.gov: Program Directory. Information about evidence-based programs that promote effective community-based efforts to address risk and protective factors among children and adolescents. Interagency Working Group on Youth Programs.
- Health Care Innovations Exchange. Information about evidence-based innovations and tools for health professionals and researchers to improve the quality of health care and reduce health disparities. To identify innovations and tools, select Browse by Subject and make a selection based on your area of interest. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
- Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj). Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Healthy Counties Database. Information about model policies, programs, and initiatives that counties nationwide have enacted to promote nutritious diets, physical activity, and healthy built and social environments. National Association of Counties.
- LINKS (Lifecourse Interventions to Nurture Kids Successfully) Database. Summaries of evaluations of out-of-school-time programs that work (or don't work) to enhance children's development. Child Trends.
- MCH Links. Information about and links to MCH-related websites by category (e.g., National
MCH Resource Centers). MCH Library.
- MCH
Organizations Database.
Information about government,
professional, and voluntary
organizations involved in MCH
activities, primarily at a national
level. Search MCH Organizations for your topic or view topical organizations lists produced from the database. MCH Library.
- MCH
Projects Database. Information about projects funded by the Maternal
and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) through
October 1, 2004.
See MCHB's Discretionary Grant Information System (DGIS) for information on projects funded after October 1, 2004. MCH Library.
- Medicaid
Benefits: Online Database. Information about
benefits covered, limits,
co-payments, and reimbursement methodologies for all
50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories.
View benefits by state, or compare a benefit across all
states. Kaiser
Family Foundation (KFF).
- National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO): Model Practice Database. Information about model and promising county and city public health program
practices.
- National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy: Interventions with Evidence of Success. Information about interventions that have some evidence of success in changing
behavior related to adolescent pregnancy. Click on elements in the
Category Search box to define your search.
- National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR): NIDRR Program Directory. Information about disability and rehabilitation research projects funded by NIDRR. National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC).
- National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD): Patient Organizations Database. Information about organizations that help people with rare disorders.
- National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP). Information about interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
- Prevention Research Centers (PRC): Research Projects. Information about research projects conducted by PRCs, which work as an interdependent
network of community, academic, and public health partners to conduct prevention
research and promote widespread use of practices proven to promote good health. Search by state, health topic, age group, research setting, and more. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
- Promising Practices Catalog. Information about programs, practices, and initiatives across the country that
aim to improve the futures of children, families, and communities and that illustrate
a variety of approaches to policy and program design, financing, and sustainability. The Finance Project.
- Promising Practices Network (PPN) on Children, Families, and Communities: Programs That Work. Information about programs and practices that research indicates are effective
in improving outcomes for children, adolescents, and families. RAND Corporation.
- Shaping America's Youth (SAY) Program Registry. Information about intervention programs throughout the United States that are working to improve nutrition and physical activity in children and adolescents.
- State Coverage Initiatives (SCI): Coverage By State. Information about state health coverage programs and coverage strategies.
Related Maternal and Child Health Library Resources
Maternal and Child Health Programs Databases: Resource Brief.
(February 2012).
Author: Susan Brune Lorenzo, M.L.S., MCH Library.
Reviewer: Olivia Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., MCH Library.
Editor: Ruth Barzel, M.A., MCH Library.